RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2019, 09:11 PM   #1
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 403
Upgrading from Hopper 2 to Hopper 3

I am finally going to make an upgrade to a Hopper 3 on our motorhome. I have a Travel'r dish on the roof and have used a Hopper 2 with good success, but we upgraded the home today and I will be making a parallel change.
I have a good cabling diagram and believe I have the part numbers for the required hybrid switch and hub, but was surprised to see the technician changed the LNB's on our home dish. Does anybody know the part numbers for the new LNB's? I can climb up on the roof and get the details from our new parts, but it's not an ideal physical activity for me.
Thanks for your time!
__________________

__________________
2011 Coachmen Sportscoach 6.7 ISB, 08 Jeep
Dark Sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-26-2019, 11:07 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ford City, PA
Posts: 26
Western Arc - ES201499 or ES217837-BRKT
Eastern Arc - ES201700 or ES218791-BRKT
__________________

hdflsts2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2019, 11:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 36,050
I had a RF Mogul dish installed on the. The LNB it came with was for a Wally. I had to get a new LNB and hub to use my Hopper3.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU Dragon Edition
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2019, 11:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Sky View Post
I am finally going to make an upgrade to a Hopper 3 on our motorhome. I have a Travel'r dish on the roof and have used a Hopper 2 with good success, but we upgraded the home today and I will be making a parallel change.
I have a good cabling diagram and believe I have the part numbers for the required hybrid switch and hub, but was surprised to see the technician changed the LNB's on our home dish. Does anybody know the part numbers for the new LNB's? I can climb up on the roof and get the details from our new parts, but it's not an ideal physical activity for me.
Changing LNBFs is the easiest (and cheapest) way to install a Hopper 3 in a household . . . but not in an RV.

You just attach a DPH42 switch to your current Winegard Travler, like so . . .

__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 07:42 AM   #5
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 403
Thanks to everyone for your comments and responses! I have a dangerous amount of knowledge in this area so your input is very helpful.
Techwriter, I had assumed that I would exactly mimic what the technician installed at our home, which I thought would be just what you've provided in the diagram. He changed the LNB's, so no doubt has done something different here at the house.
To be clear, my understanding is that if I follow the diagram you've provided then a Hopper 3 (and 1 Joey) will work well without changing the original LNB's that are on my Travel'r which have worked with my Hopper 2. Correct?
__________________
2011 Coachmen Sportscoach 6.7 ISB, 08 Jeep
Dark Sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 09:21 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Sky View Post
To be clear, my understanding is that if I follow the diagram you've provided then a Hopper 3 (and 1 Joey) will work well without changing the original LNB's that are on my Travel'r which have worked with my Hopper 2. Correct?
Yep.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Sky View Post
I had assumed that I would exactly mimic what the technician installed at our home, which I thought would be just what you've provided in the diagram. He changed the LNB's, so no doubt has done something different here at the house.
What's good for your house is not necessarily good for your RV.

However, if you carry a portable tripod (like me) for when you're parked under trees, then you set up your RV tripod like your house system (like below):

__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 10:24 AM   #7
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 403
Thanks again for your time and help!
__________________
2011 Coachmen Sportscoach 6.7 ISB, 08 Jeep
Dark Sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 01:22 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
chuckbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Crystal River, Florida
Posts: 896
In the process of converting the Travlr, I see the LNB has 3 cables instead of one like the DirecTV. They are green, red and black. They connect to A,B, and C in the bottom of the turret. I thought I read somewhere that they need to be connected correctly to make everything work right. Can someone help with the connection sequence? Thanks. Chuck
__________________
Chuck and Susan
1999 Fleetwood Bounder 34J
Triton V10 Gas
chuckbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 08:58 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckbear View Post
In the process of converting the Travlr, I see the LNB has 3 cables instead of one like the DirecTV. They are green, red and black. They connect to A,B, and C in the bottom of the turret. I thought I read somewhere that they need to be connected correctly to make everything work right. Can someone help with the connection sequence? Thanks. Chuck
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 04:58 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
chuckbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Crystal River, Florida
Posts: 896
Techwriter, Everyone keeps showing me these connections. That is NOT what I need. The LNB has 3 coax that are color-coded black, green, and red. They connect to A, B, and C vertical ports on the turret. I need to know which port the black coax connects to. Which port the green connect to. Which port the red connects to. The coax I'm asking about is hidden in your photo on the right side of the turret. Chuck
__________________
Chuck and Susan
1999 Fleetwood Bounder 34J
Triton V10 Gas
chuckbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 09:19 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,892
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckbear View Post
The LNB has 3 coax that are color-coded black, green, and red. They connect to A, B, and C vertical ports on the turret. I need to know which port the black coax connects to. Which port the green connect to. Which port the red connects to. The coax I'm asking about is hidden in your photo on the right side of the turret.
If you're installing the default DISH Pro Plus (DPP) LNBF, then it doesn't matter.

If you're installing a DISH Pro Hybrid LNBF (not recommended), then it does matter:

__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
TechWriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 09:48 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
chuckbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Crystal River, Florida
Posts: 896
Sorry, I guess I am installing the Dish Pro Plus since that is what Winegard sent me and I have an older dish. Chuck
__________________

__________________
Chuck and Susan
1999 Fleetwood Bounder 34J
Triton V10 Gas
chuckbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone using Hopper 3 and Hopper Duo on same account? TexasTom Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 13 03-21-2019 11:53 AM
Orginal Hopper or Hopper 2 CWSWine Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 02-07-2019 02:42 PM
how to replace a hopper 2 and 1 joey with a hopper 3 and 1 joey bigdgr Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 11 03-03-2018 12:15 PM
Hopper + Hopper or Hopper + Joey??? Rockysvet Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 05-16-2014 01:32 PM
Info on Hopper Bros. rvgrandma Workkamping & Volunteering 2 10-19-2008 05:23 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.