RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2019, 07:17 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
HUGHP's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 262
Using home Genie in RV

Anyone take their Genie from the home to RV and back? Direct informed me that once my account has migrated to ATT,I will no longer bee able to activate and deactivate the HD receivers we use now in the RV. We have done this for years not paying for the HD receiver service when not in use.
__________________

__________________
Hugh & Roberta
George & Gracie(Boston Terrors)
04 Sightseer 30B & 04 Honda CRV
HUGHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-19-2019, 07:44 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: payson, az
Posts: 191
we move the genie, video bridge, and mini genies back and forth with no problem.
__________________

bigchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 08:07 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
450Donn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas,OR
Posts: 3,142
Moved them all the time. No biggie except having the correct antenna. Look at how your home setup is configured and duplicate in your RV. You will for sure need a power inserter and SWM splitter.
__________________
Don and Lorri
2007 Dodge 3500 dually
Resident Dummy.
450Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 08:15 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: payson, az
Posts: 191
yes you also need the power inserter, several power bricks, splitter, remotes, and cables. i got tired of disconnecting all that stuff and moving it along with the boxes. so i went to ebay and bought all these items for the trailer and installed them their. now all i have to do is move the boxes and plug them into the power and coax cables in the trailer. genie gets a power cord, coax cable, and hdmi cable, video bridge gets power and coax. mini genies get power and hdmi. much easier!
bigchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 08:16 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Bigbird65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Arlington Texas
Posts: 1,413
Yup, take my HR-44 every time we go camping.


__________________
Ken and Joyce
2017 RAM 1500 Lone Star Quad Cab 5.7 Hemi, 8 speed, 3.21, Tekonsha P3
2018 Winnebago Minnie 2250DS Platinum, GY Endurance tires
Bigbird65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 04:28 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
HUGHP's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 262
Thanks for the replies. Still figuring the simpliest method for us. We do have a Trav'ler Slimeline SWM3 for Direct sat dish.
__________________
Hugh & Roberta
George & Gracie(Boston Terrors)
04 Sightseer 30B & 04 Honda CRV
HUGHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 05:23 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 65
Using home Genie in RV

I hope some explains in more detail or gives a link. I am not sure which
Model of traveler I have but it was made in 2012
iowaone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 07:31 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Wellington Nevada
Posts: 106
Can you move it and just watch programs on the dvr without having a dish on the MH?
__________________
2004 Magna 42' 3 slide Chalet CC#6315M
C-15, 515HP 1650tq.
caryt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 07:39 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
450Donn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas,OR
Posts: 3,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by iowaone View Post
I hope some explains in more detail or gives a link. I am not sure which
Model of traveler I have but it was made in 2012
Likely you have the old 4 wire travler. It should have two coax cables coming down. You use a B Band converter between it and the receiver right? You will need to upgrade the Travler to a SWM3 version, ditch all but one coax, ditch the B Band converters. From there on you add the power inserter, SWM splitter behind the TV someplace. Not hard to do, just duplicate what you have at home. Or pay someone to come and do the work for you.
450Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 10:45 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 65
I do have the two coax cables coming down. Looks like I should keep the box I have with a separate DirectTV account.
iowaone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 12:13 PM   #11
WiFiRanger Ambassador
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by 450Donn View Post
You will need to upgrade the Travler to a SWM3 version, ditch all but one coax, ditch the B Band converters. From there on you add the power inserter, SWM splitter behind the TV someplace. Not hard to do, just duplicate what you have at home. Or pay someone to come and do the work for you.
With all due respect this advice isn't quite correct. It is relatively easy to convert the older Trav'ler to SWM but you don't do it by "ditch[ing] all but one coax". In fact, what needs to be done is that all four of the cox outputs of the Trav'ler need to be connected to a SWM8 switch and from the SWM8 one coax is brought inside the RV to connect to the receiver and the power inserter. A SWM splitter is not required if the power inserter is put "in-line" with the coax going to the receiver.

There are diagrams of precisely how to do this on page 5 of this document:
https://docplayer.net/23804085-Guide...-antennas.html

Joel (AKA docj)
__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 03:49 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 65
Using home Genie in RV

Thanks Joel this is very helpful. Will a HR54 genie receiver work with this setup?
iowaone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 04:30 PM   #13
WiFiRanger Ambassador
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by iowaone View Post
Thanks Joel this is very helpful. Will a HR54 genie receiver work with this setup?
The HR54 has a built-in power inserter so all you will need to do is connect the coax coming from the SWM8 switch and disregard the diagrams about wiring in a separate power inserter.
__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 04:40 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 65
So I think I have the sk-3003, Will the addition of swm8 and HR54 still support HD
__________________

iowaone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone tried moving their home Genie 2 to their RV? PanoNut Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 22 11-05-2018 05:08 PM
DirecTV Genie - How to transfer from "Home" to new RV krnlueck Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 08-21-2016 08:39 PM
DTV Wired Mini Genie or Wireless Mini Genie MoHoGo Entegra Owner's Forum 12 06-25-2016 04:33 PM
Using DTV Genie with Winegard Carryout Dome wagonmaster2 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 34 02-23-2015 09:37 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.