 |
|
VIRUS on a different forum. NOT iRV2
03-06-2010, 07:00 PM
|
#1
|
|
Senior Member
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,169
|
Be careful if you go to this other RV forum. NOT this one at all. I went to this forum and I wanted to watch the video on the home page. It attempted to add a virus to my PC. I was lucky to have my McAfee Security catch it. everything-about-rving.com
__________________
2008 Itasca Latitude 39W. Cummins ISB 6.7 Turbo 340HP. Allison 6 Speed. Freightliner XCS. Michelin XRV 255/80R 22.5 LRG. SuperSteer MCU. Safe-T-Plus.
|
|
|
|
| |
|
 |
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!
iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!
You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!
|
03-06-2010, 07:48 PM
|
#2
|
|
Senior Member
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pacific Northwest or SoCal
Posts: 1,293
|
Anyone who uses the internet without a good antivirus is just asking for trouble.
__________________
Fred and Bonnie
2005 Dolphin LX 6375
Abby, Ruffles & Scarlett, "The Cats"
|
|
|
|
| |
|
03-06-2010, 08:51 PM
|
#3
|
|
Member
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 74
|
What other RV forum are you referring to?
__________________
Lou & Mary Jo + Scooter & Sophie
2008 Allegro Bay 35TSB W-25.5
2005 Jeep Liberty Toad
|
|
|
|
| |
|
03-06-2010, 09:18 PM
|
#4
|
|
Senior Member
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,169
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred and Bonnie
Anyone who uses the Internet without a good antivirus is just asking for trouble.
|
The moderator changed it from a link to a name in my original post so that no one will get a virus. I wrote the forum and they thanked me for telling them about it. I just won't go there again. Joe
__________________
2008 Itasca Latitude 39W. Cummins ISB 6.7 Turbo 340HP. Allison 6 Speed. Freightliner XCS. Michelin XRV 255/80R 22.5 LRG. SuperSteer MCU. Safe-T-Plus.
|
|
|
|
| |
|
03-06-2010, 09:34 PM
|
#5
|
|
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 256
|
I am at that site right now watching their video, there is no virus here. Don't know what McAfee jumped on, but it was a false alarm. Maybe it was trying to add a cookie, and McAfee picked up a particular piece of code that it watches for and alerted.
Just for info, I used to do Internet Security, so virus warnings just peak my curiosity. Some of them can be very challenging to get rid of.
__________________
|
|
|
|
| |
|
03-07-2010, 02:10 AM
|
#6
|
|
Senior Member
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,169
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mandys Man
I am at that site right now watching their video, there is no virus here. Don't know what McAfee jumped on, but it was a false alarm. Maybe it was trying to add a cookie, and McAfee picked up a particular piece of code that it watches for and alerted.
Just for info, I used to do Internet Security, so virus warnings just peak my curiosity. Some of them can be very challenging to get rid of.
|
When I clicked on the video all kinds of stuff filled the screen telling me that I was now infected. Within two seconds McAfee popped up and offered to remove it. I notified them. Joe
__________________
2008 Itasca Latitude 39W. Cummins ISB 6.7 Turbo 340HP. Allison 6 Speed. Freightliner XCS. Michelin XRV 255/80R 22.5 LRG. SuperSteer MCU. Safe-T-Plus.
|
|
|
|
| |
|
03-07-2010, 06:12 AM
|
#7
|
|
Senior Member
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dixie !! (north Georgia) USA
Posts: 1,731
|
Well dang, is it a secret or what? What site?
__________________
|
|
|
|
| |
|
03-07-2010, 06:37 AM
|
#8
|
|
Senior Member
Texas Boomers Club Fleetwood Owners Club Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Don't mess with Texas
Posts: 2,999
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by azloafer
everything-about-rving.com
|
This was in his first post. I guess its the site.
|
|
|
|
| |
|
03-07-2010, 10:27 AM
|
#9
|
|
Senior Member
Winnebago Owners Club Texas Boomers Club Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,560
|
I find no virus on that site. Video was nice to watch. Full screen is definitely a different view using their built in player.
I'm with Mandy's Man. I retired from NASA as an Information Security Specialist. I also cannot resist checking out these sites that are reported as having a virus.
AZLoafer, your anti-virus program did exactly what it was supposed to do. The program noticed an abnormally in something, either on the internet, or in your cache and acted to clean it up. It could have been triggered by many things, and coincidentally triggered when you went to that web site.
As I have reported before, not any one program, whether it be McAfee, Norton's, or any other anti-virus program, or ad aware program, or spy ware program can detect every virus or other threat to a computer. An example is that you may update your "definition" file today, and later in the day a new threat is unleashed. Hopefully the heuristics portion of your security system will catch it, but then it just may get by.
Common sense dictates what you do. If your security program pops up saying there is a problem. Do what you did and believe it. Then do the research, notify your security experts, and make good judgment calls.
And do continue to notify others of any security threats you may encounter, even if they are false alarms.
Thanks
__________________
Wayne MSgt USMC (Ret)
2008 Destination 39W
|
|
|
|
| |
|
03-07-2010, 11:00 AM
|
#10
|
|
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 256
|
Quote:
|
When I clicked on the video all kinds of stuff filled the screen telling me that I was now infected. Within two seconds McAfee popped up and offered to remove it. I notified them. Joe
|
Joe,
I was not trying to insinuate that you were not telling us what happened to you. I thank people for what you did.
I also understand how the AntiVirus/AntiMalware programs operate. Thats one of the reasons I like to go to reported virus sites. I know that sometimes an AntiVirus program will alert to something that is not actually a threat. I had it happen on my old website when I was in business, and if word gets around that your site is infected, you'd be absolutely amazed how fast you lose business. I had my business drop off 25% in just a couple of days because a popular AntiVirus program reported (falsely) that my site was infected. It took me over a month to rebuild the customer base I lost.
__________________
|
|
|
|
| |
|
03-07-2010, 11:28 AM
|
#11
|
|
Senior Member
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 180
|
I may be off base here, but some of the responses seem to dismiss AZ's virus claim-- "well, I didn't find no virus there, so there must have never been one"... Did y'all miss the part where AZ said he alerted the forum and they thanked them for it? Could be there WAS a virus, and the website/webmaster took care of it before anyone else checked?
Just sayin'.
__________________
2000 40' Tiffin Allegro Bus \ 2003 Chaparral 260 SSI
1995 32 x 8 Party Cruiser pontoon FOR SALE
1988 53 x 14 Skipperliner Custom houseboat
|
|
|
|
| |
|
03-07-2010, 11:48 AM
|
#12
|
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Johnstown, PA USA
Posts: 1,966
|
I was just there and tryed it and it was fine. Playitforward, you are probably correct, if there was a virus, I'm sure they fixed quickly. John H...
__________________
John, Deb; & our dog, Benji, Forever in our hearts.
2006 Gulf Stream BT Cruiser 5231B V-10
2011 Jeep Liberty Jet
|
|
|
|
| |
|
03-07-2010, 12:21 PM
|
#13
|
|
Junior Member
Damon Owners Club Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Gillette, WY
Posts: 23
|
The site more than likely did not have a virus. It was probably an infected ad being served by the advertising distribution server.
__________________
Dan, Alice, Jackson, Alyssa, & Brendan
2008 Damon Astoria 3776
|
|
|
|
| |
|
03-07-2010, 12:46 PM
|
#14
|
|
Senior Member
Winnebago Owners Club Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 950
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlayItForwrd
I may be off base here, but some of the responses seem to dismiss AZ's virus claim-- "well, I didn't find no virus there, so there must have never been one"... Did y'all miss the part where AZ said he alerted the forum and they thanked them for it? Could be there WAS a virus, and the website/webmaster took care of it before anyone else checked?
Just sayin'. 
|
That's how I read it too  The site had *** past tense*** a problem, now does not.
As he stated, the moderator- of that site- CHANGED how the link was working. Now, no problem with the link and all is good and look how many new viewers it picked up from here.
Sheila
__________________
1990 Itasca Suncruiser 32'
1996 V8 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
7 Pomeranians, a white Chuihuhia & a 1982 Honda Express Scooter
~ Salt Creek Recreation Area Olympic Peninsula, Washington ~
|
|
|
|
| |
|
 |
|
|
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
|
|
|
| Thread Tools |
Search this Thread |
|
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|

»
Recent Discussions

»
Upcoming Rallies
No events scheduled in the next 365 days.
|
»
iRV2 on facebook
|