RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2016, 07:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
WiFi Ranger and jetpack wifi

I have a Go2 and Mobile Wifi Ranger system. I had to have the Mobile portion serviced about 2 months ago. I had to replace the battery in our jetpack because we left it plugged into the Go2 for an extended period. Before all of this occurred we were able to see the jetpack as a wifi signal on the ranger interface. I cannot see it now. I know it is putting out a signal because I can see it on the wifi interface on my computer. Any ideas why the wifi ranger cannot see the signal?
__________________

somerka is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-21-2016, 07:39 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
unw1red's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by somerka View Post
I have a Go2 and Mobile Wifi Ranger system. I had to have the Mobile portion serviced about 2 months ago. I had to replace the battery in our jetpack because we left it plugged into the Go2 for an extended period. Before all of this occurred we were able to see the jetpack as a wifi signal on the ranger interface. I cannot see it now. I know it is putting out a signal because I can see it on the wifi interface on my computer. Any ideas why the wifi ranger cannot see the signal?
Have you checked the antenna connection on the WiFiRanger to see if it has water in the connector? That is what I would check first.
__________________

__________________
---
2016 Newmar Ventana LE 4002
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited - Blue Ox Aladdin
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
unw1red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2016, 06:28 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
I don't believe that is the problem. The Mobile seems to be working properly as does the jetpack. If the jetpack is putting out a wifi signal and I can see and connect to that signal on my computer, why is it not available as a signal on the ranger? I am confused, because I have seen it before on the main tab. I would like to connect without having to have the jetpack plugged in. I don't want to replace the battery two months after replacing the battery again.
somerka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 05:19 PM   #4
WiFiRanger Ambassador
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,342
Does the WiFiRanger see all the other wifi signals that your computer sees? Does the Go2 see the Jetpack even if the Mobile doesn't?
__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2016, 10:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 157
What JetPack do you have ? Was it recently updated with new firmware (automatically) ?

Alan
str8six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 05:10 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
I am having issues with redirection. I try to go to the thread and I end up: http://www.irv2.com/ I don't know why. In answer to str8six, I don't know about any autoupdates to the Jetpack. Anytime I manually try and do it the jetpack is up to date. it is a verizon 291lvw.
somerka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 05:18 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
reply to docj

yes the WiFiRanger Mobile and Go2 see all the signals that the computer sees, or more. I must have a setting wrong. I can sit with the jetpack next to the computer, see it on the computer, but not on the ranger. I am still learning about how it all works together.
somerka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 05:30 AM   #8
Senior Member


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4,345
somerka-

I bought the same JetPack used, off eBay. While it worked correctly as a JetPack, it would not work connected ("tethered") via USB to either a WiFi Ranger or a PepWave SOHO. I had to load software on my laptop, and attempt to use the JetPack via USB, to determine for sure that something was busted in the USB side- either software or hardware, didn't matter to me.

As it was still under warranty, Verizon exchanged the JetPack for a refurbished one, and that one worked when tethered.

If you are using yours untethered (that is, as a wireless hop), then clearly the USB shouldn't figure in. You could try the JetPack tethered, and see if the Ranger can see it.

But my point is that sometimes these things fail, and need to be replaced.

If memory serves, Verizon had a window on the exchange so I could have both for side-by-side testing for a couple of days, before dinging my credit card if I didn't return the old JetPack. That was a big help.
__________________
Mark
2008 Holiday Rambler Admiral 30PDD (Ford F-53 chassis)
2009 Honda Fit Sport
l1v3fr33ord1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 03:31 PM   #9
WiFiRanger Ambassador
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by somerka View Post
yes the WiFiRanger Mobile and Go2 see all the signals that the computer sees, or more. I must have a setting wrong. I can sit with the jetpack next to the computer, see it on the computer, but not on the ranger. I am still learning about how it all works together.
I work for WiFiRanger as an ambassador at large to the RV community. I've just been working with my Ranger to see if I can find any setting that would result in what you are reporting. I cannot. I know of no way to "reject" signals from a specific wifi source so that they aren't visible. I suggest you open a trouble ticket with the WiFiRanger Help Desk to see if they can assist you. You can open a ticket through the WiFiRanger website under the Support tab.
__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 05:53 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
thank you : l1v3fr33ord1 and docj. My issue is the opposite of yours. I think keeping it tethered continuously affected the battery and I would like the newest one to last longer, so am trying to figure out how to use it in wifi mode instead of tethered.
We bought the jetpack through Millenicom, not Verizon. I am sure any warranty has long since expired, if Verizon would have even honored it.
I think I may have to put in a ticket. I was hoping not to, spent most of December without my mobile, because it was being serviced. I have put in a couple of tickets before and they have been great in resolving my issues. Many of which were because I didn't understand how everything worked.
thanks for the help.
somerka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 06:27 AM   #11
WiFiRanger Ambassador
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,342
I was experimenting with whether or not it was possible for the Ranger to be set to see only 802.11n access points while ignoring others using the "g" or "b" standards. That seemed as if it would have been one possible explanation for what you are experiencing. However, although the Ranger can be restricted to "ranging" on only 802.11n AP's I don't see any obvious way to prevent it from seeing those. Furthermore, I have no idea whether or not your Jetpack is using the "n" standard or another. Other than that idea I can't explain why you're not seeing your own Jetpack.
__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 06:35 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
unw1red's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally Posted by docj View Post
I was experimenting with whether or not it was possible for the Ranger to be set to see only 802.11n access points while ignoring others using the "g" or "b" standards. That seemed as if it would have been one possible explanation for what you are experiencing. However, although the Ranger can be restricted to "ranging" on only 802.11n AP's I don't see any obvious way to prevent it from seeing those. Furthermore, I have no idea whether or not your Jetpack is using the "n" standard or another. Other than that idea I can't explain why you're not seeing your own Jetpack.
It can. If you go to the advanced menu and limit the basic or MCS rates, you can eliminate the ability to connect to .11b or .11g. It is a basic element of the 802.11 standard.

I am speaking from the ability on the Mikrotik product that WiFiRanger uses for the external radio.
__________________
---
2016 Newmar Ventana LE 4002
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited - Blue Ox Aladdin
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
unw1red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2016, 08:52 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Golferdave78's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Greensboro, Ga.
Posts: 405
Mounting my iPad in RV

Has anyone found a good way to mount an iPad in their RV.
It is my do all tech device.
Find CG's
Navigate
Find Flyin J's
But no place to mount it???
__________________
Dave H
Golferdave78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 05:42 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Golferdave78 View Post
Has anyone found a good way to mount an iPad in their RV.
It is my do all tech device.
Find CG's
Navigate
Find Flyin J's
But no place to mount it???
Look into Ram mounts. They have mounting stuff for most everything. I use one on the motorcycle for my gps. Another ram X mount in my car to hold my cellphone. 2 in my wife's truck one for the radar detector and one for the cell phone.
__________________

tdiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WIFI Ranger 96kpmjmm Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 12-28-2015 07:06 PM
2015 Newmar coach deliveries thread newmarpusher Newmar Owner's Forum 578 09-26-2015 10:23 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.