RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc.
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2019, 12:38 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 171
Winegard Trav'ler searching and searching

We have a trav'ler with DirecTV. We have been in Alaska all summer and are now heading back to the lower 48. Since entering Alaska, when we deploy the dish in just searches and searches and never peaks or ids anything. After awhile I then stow it. We are much farther south now in British Columbia and it continues to just search and search. Anyone had this experience?

Thanks
__________________

ianschneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-09-2019, 01:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 2,369
one sure way to diagnose whether you're still too far north or there's a problem with the Trav'ler. download the DISH FOR MY RV app ($). it uses your phone's camera to show you where the dish sats are in the sky relative to where you're standing. if you can "see" the sats with the app your Trav'ler can see the sats; if you can't, the Trav'ler can't.
__________________

__________________
Rich, Retired 9-1-1 Call Center Administrator
2016 Itasca Suncruiser 38Q/2010 Jeep Liberty
Ham Radio, Sport Pilot
rk911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 04:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 171
Seems like the satellites are visible

My phone app found them. So it seems as though the dish should be able to.
ianschneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 05:21 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 3,731
I had the same problem in Santa Fe earlier this Summer. The Trav'ler searched and searched in a totally open sky area and never found any satellites. I removed the LNB with two screws underneath the arm, unscrewed the coax connections and burnished them in and out a couple of times to clean off any oxidation. I put them back on tight and did the same thing with the three connections on the turret. After that it locked onto all three satellites like normal. The coax connectors are susceptible to corroding and losing contact.
__________________
Dan & Ro with two Rescued Boston "Terrorists" Jade & Jewel
2017 Phaeton 40IH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS (05/17)
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'12 Jeep JK Wrangler Sport or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 09:49 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 171
Lt Dan - Thanks. Yikes! I am not a roof or DIY guy. So I’ll have to see if I can find a mobile tech willing to get up there when I’m back in the lower 48 UNLESS there is something(s) simpler to try before hitting the roof!!
ianschneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 08:52 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: payson, az
Posts: 389
are you in a rv park? does anybody else there have a traveller and direct TV? are they finding the satellites?
bigchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 07:58 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Victory Blue's Avatar




 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigchick View Post
are you in a rv park? does anybody else there have a traveller and direct TV? are they finding the satellites?
Good suggestion. If others near you have a signal call Winegard and have them walk you through the menus to do a manual search for one satellite; it's not difficult and it will help pinpoint the problem. I'm not at my coach or I'd list the steps for you.
__________________
Bill & Lynne
Memphis, TN
2017 Entegra Anthem 44B - Victory Blue
2016 Ford Edge Titanium
Victory Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 08:02 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Florida panhandle
Posts: 455
when mine did that, I set it to only find 119. once it did, I reset it to find all 3 and it did. don’t know why or if I was just lucky
gatorb8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 11:04 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 171
Thanks for the suggestions

We are still in British Columbia, but there is a coach with a working Winegard Directv dish. We are back in the states next week, if it still isnít working, I will try to have Winegard walk me through it. Hopefully, it isnít a big deal. Though Iím not great at this stuff. I couldnít figure out how to use the menus once before. Maybe Iíll do better this time!

We have been in Canada and Alaska since late May and havenít had a signal since then.

Iíll let you know what happens.
ianschneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 06:46 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Ron Postma's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: On the open road
Posts: 611
Is your Traveler DirecTV or Dish. If it is DirecTV is it a SWM3 or the older 5 LNB. Mine is a SWM3 DirecTV and it exhibits the same problem. In my coach the Receiver Control Box and Power Inserter are always powered up via the inverter when we are to connected to shore power. I found that all three devices need to be unplugged prior to satellite re-acquisition at a new location. Then the Control Box and Power Inserter need to be powered up and turn on the Control Box. Once the satellites are acquired the Receiver can be powered up. I believe the SWM system channel assignment system get fouled up and needs to be reset.
__________________

__________________
2014 Winnebago Tour 42QD
2014 Honda CRV Toad W7REP
WiFiRanger Elite AC Pack
Ron Postma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trav'ler for Dish v. Trav'ler for Direct modified for Dish TXBart Entegra Owner's Forum 15 06-16-2017 07:20 AM
Winegard Trav'ler and PVRreceiver bill2011 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 7 03-23-2013 11:04 AM
SK-3005...Searching, searching, searching 777 Driver Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 44 04-03-2012 10:53 AM
NEW WINEGARD TRAV'LER!!! - and what XM antenna??? Born2RV Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 09-03-2010 06:01 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×