Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2007, 10:30 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Has anyone had a circuit breaker failure in your 110 volt circuits? I have one circuit that will not "close" to allow power to the galley wall plugs. Can I replace this breaker with a standard "house" breaker or must new part come from RV supply?
__________________

__________________
Phil & Carol Belous
carolphil@hughes.net
Cocoa Loco is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-02-2007, 10:30 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Has anyone had a circuit breaker failure in your 110 volt circuits? I have one circuit that will not "close" to allow power to the galley wall plugs. Can I replace this breaker with a standard "house" breaker or must new part come from RV supply?
__________________

__________________
Phil & Carol Belous
carolphil@hughes.net
Cocoa Loco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 05:08 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,096
It's a standard 110v breaker, though there are several different designs/shapes, depending on the manufacturer of the load center (power panel). Take the old breaker to the store and find one that matches it.

But when you say it "won't close", do you mean it flips right back off again when you try to turn it on? That is usually caused by a short somewhere in the circuit rather than a defective breaker. In that case, the breaker is just doing its job and you have to fix the short rather than replacing the breaker.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 05:17 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
troth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,177
I'll go one step further and add to Gary's post: If your GFI outlet is tripped, you will not get your circuit breaker to reset. I've got three AC circuits in my Brave; each has a GFI outlet and a 120vac circuit breaker.
__________________
Last Brave 2004 34D
troth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 06:48 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Traveling in the East
Posts: 533
Also if it is tripped you usually have to trip it all the way off then trip it back on.

Joe
full-timer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 Amp to 50 Amp garrage circuit Band Buds RV Systems & Appliances 5 08-17-2008 03:41 PM
Power Line One Panel Limits One Leg 50 Amp circuit to 30 Amps SteveG Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 17 03-05-2008 05:43 PM
where is fuse panel / circuit breakers turbodogs Damon 8 09-20-2007 05:53 PM
Max amps on 50 amp circuit? eandy MH-General Discussions & Problems 12 07-25-2006 11:51 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.