RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2018, 03:03 AM   #1
Member
 
Nor'easters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Parma, NY
Posts: 35
2K Inverter Immediately Shuts Down

We have a 2006 35E Bounder on a Workhorse chassis. Like many others, we wish to watch TV at night without having to fire up the generator. Our dealer ran a 12 amp extension cord from the 2K inverter to the 50 to 15 amp adapter. Everything is fine until I plug the 50 amp plug into the coach, then the inverter shuts down, apparently from overload? Iíve turned off ALL the 115 amp breakers and unplugged the power converter/charger and still get the same result. Iíve tried a second cord, with again, the same result.

Iím rather confused what could be causing the inverter to trip like it does.

Anyone have any ideas or suggestions? Thanks in advance for any assistance!
__________________

SteveZ494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-11-2018, 05:37 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13,045
Since your dealer sounds like he is clueless, doing what he did, I would try plugging the TV or anything else into the 12 gauge cord, besides the 50 shore cord, to see if the inverter powers it.

What he did should work, but now you are remembering to switch breakers on and off.

Take some pictures of the inverter, cables, batteries and his instulation.
__________________

twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 11:11 AM   #3
Member


 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 89
Is inverter grounded properly. May need Edison plug. Also some surge protectors will not work with inverter.
jfoldesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 02:38 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13,045
What inverter do you have ?

I can't imagine the dealer sent you on your way without testing it.

Is a GFCI outlet, on the inverter, tripping or is it alarming and shutting down, with a fault code ?

Are your batteries charged ?
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 04:00 PM   #5
Member
 
Nor'easters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Parma, NY
Posts: 35
I thought the dealer would test it out also, but who knows?

Plugging items such as a hammer drill into the installed extension cord finds the inverter working fine, as does (obviously) plugging items directly into the inverter.

Batteries are reading 13.5 V and are new late last season. Inverter appears to be properly grounded. Requested pictures attached, and also a video demonstrating how the inverter beeps and shuts down with a "0000" code.

Here's a link to the video: https://photos.google.com/share/AF1Q...RNTnRiWmlyc1NB
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Whistler.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	280.2 KB
ID:	206751   Click image for larger version

Name:	Power Connection.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	277.4 KB
ID:	206752  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Front of inverter.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	406.1 KB
ID:	206753   Click image for larger version

Name:	Inverter Conne connections.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	164.3 KB
ID:	206754  

SteveZ494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 04:07 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13,045
Are you using a RV store bought 50 to 15 amp adaptor ?
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 05:51 PM   #7
Member
 
Nor'easters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Parma, NY
Posts: 35
yes, it is a commercial 50 to 15 amp adapter.
SteveZ494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 06:08 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13,045
Have you used that adaptor to plug in to your house ?

When you do, listen for a spark while plugging in. That would be a clue to something still on in the RV.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 11:03 PM   #9
Member
 
Nor'easters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Parma, NY
Posts: 35
The 50 to 15 amp adapter is the same one I use all the time. It does not arc when I plug it even, even when the breakers are NOT turned off. When all the breakers are off (and the converter/charger unplugged) I can't imagine what we be drawing any amperage. Even if, I don't think it would be that significant enough to shut down the inverter.

I'm wondering if I should borrow another 50 to 15 amp adapter and see if that might make a difference.
SteveZ494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 03:50 PM   #10
Member
 
Nor'easters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Parma, NY
Posts: 35
I tried a different 50 to 15 adapter with the same result.

Any other ideas?
SteveZ494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 05:07 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13,045
Have you tried plugging into a house outlet ?
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018, 08:07 PM   #12
Member
 
Nor'easters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Parma, NY
Posts: 35
That I haven't. Not a bad idea at all!

I'll give it a try and report back.
SteveZ494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 01:26 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: TEJAS
Posts: 551
House current has a neutral, hot, and a ground. Neutral and ground should be at the same potential and somewhere connected together, at zero volts. I found out that some inverters neutral is not at zero volts but is hot compared to ground. If the inverter's neutral and ground are tied together, it will shut down the inverter.

This can make the appliance plugged into the inverter hot to ground electrically, but as long as the ground is not tied to the neutral the inverter it will work.

My guess is the main cord has ground and neutral connected together somewhere.

Try adding a ground lift plug on the output of the inverter.

spyderRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 07:43 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
spdracr39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Cabot, Arkansas
Posts: 863
I am guessing that because it does not appear to be a pure sine wave inverter your EMS is blocking the power. Do you have an EMS and is it giving a code ?
__________________

__________________
2014 Chaparral 327RLKS 5'er
2017 GMC 2500HD SLE 6.0L Z71 4x4 Standard Bed
Reese Pro Power slider hitch
spdracr39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter fault when genset shuts down Ilovenh3 Newmar Owner's Forum 3 06-23-2017 10:44 PM
Inverter power loss when generator shuts down twincessna Monaco Owner's Forum 6 10-15-2011 03:13 PM
Generator cranks, but immediately stalls Learn2Q RV Systems & Appliances 10 03-31-2011 02:03 AM
Need Immediately - please send ASAP! chasfm11 South Central Region 29 04-02-2010 05:15 PM
We Must Stop This Immediately! Don (W5IT) Just Conversation 11 09-26-2007 06:30 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.