RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2018, 06:17 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 54
A/C on 20 amp circuit

Just got back into rv life and have a lot of brain cells to wake up that havenít been used in several years.

Can I run one 13,500 high efficiency air conditioner if I am plugged into a 20 amp circuit in the garage?

Itís on a 2006 Fleetwood Bounder.

Thanks

Bob
__________________

BobnMelba is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-22-2018, 06:27 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobnMelba View Post
Just got back into rv life and have a lot of brain cells to wake up that havenít been used in several years.

Can I run one 13,500 high efficiency air conditioner if I am plugged into a 20 amp circuit in the garage?

Itís on a 2006 Fleetwood Bounder.

Thanks

Bob
Yes, Bob, you should be able to do that if you don't have other appliances on the circuit that might take a spiked start-up surge. Give it a try and let the circuit breaker tell the tale...
__________________

__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 59K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 06:28 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7,572
Probably. It depends on how much power you are drawing for other things. If your batteries are charged the A/C will probably be OK. Run the fridge on propane.
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 06:37 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 4,106
20amps can handle a lot more than u might at first think...
ac unit... 8amps while running
fridge... 6amps while running
tv/sat receiver... 3amps

etc
and youre not even to 20yet

...some coaches are even only 30amps for everything(!)


but, yes, the breaker is the Referee... plug in and enjoy : )
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 08:13 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
mjeffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 526
20 amp circuit, but 30->15 adapter.

See the issue.

Your adapter will get warm/ maybe even melt, if you are putting more than 15 amps thru it.

Also 15 amp outlets look like this ( | | ), 20 amp outlets look like ( --| | ).
__________________
-- Jeffrey and Maren
2011 Winnebago Journey 40U
Ford Escape Hybrid with Blue OX, Air Force One and TST
mjeffrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 08:21 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
mjeffrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterT View Post
20amps can handle a lot more than u might at first think...
ac unit... 8amps while running
fridge... 6amps while running
tv/sat receiver... 3amps

etc
and youre not even to 20yet

...some coaches are even only 30amps for everything(!)


but, yes, the breaker is the Referee... plug in and enjoy : )
Double check what your 13500 BTU system draws. My generation ACs draw much more than 8 amps.
__________________
-- Jeffrey and Maren
2011 Winnebago Journey 40U
Ford Escape Hybrid with Blue OX, Air Force One and TST
mjeffrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 08:36 AM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 4,106
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjeffrey View Post
Double check what your 13500 BTU system draws. My generation ACs draw much more than 8 amps.
Also 15 amp outlets look like this
( | | ), 20 amp outlets look like ( --| | ).
AC units draw the most the immediate moment that the compressor kicks on, but afterwards the amps drop back significantly. To your point, starting the AC unit before other items is best. You'll find out if you trip the breaker how many things you can 'run' simultaneously. The fridge also doesn't 'run' 24/7.

All 20amp outlets also don't have a different plug than any other outlet, they are just wired heavier and to a 20amp breaker. I rented a cabin that had only 20amp breakers for all outlet runs, and the plugs were no different. But, the plug style you are referring to is for specific Appliances that REQUIRE 20amp circuits, and therefore can't be plugged into normal 15a outlets, such as some larger draw home window air conditioners.


enjoy!
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 08:44 AM   #8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 4,106
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjeffrey View Post
20 amp circuit, but 30->15 adapter.
Your adapter will get warm/ maybe even melt, if you are putting more than 15 amps thru it.
I think that if you look at the wiring size for these 'dogbone' and similar adapter that allow a 30amp shore cord to plug into a 15a outlet, you'll see that they are well sized, wiring wise, to handle well more than just 15amps, probably even 30, just in case... but you could always run a 'breakered' extension cord in between, if you're concerned.
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Woods-Ext...&wl13=&veh=sem
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 08:47 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
lonfu's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Kingman Az
Posts: 896
it will run fine, just don't run any other high amp appliances like your frig or electric water heater, microwave and such.
__________________
May your black water hose never break!
lonfu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 08:57 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 33,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterT View Post

All 20amp outlets also don't have a different plug than any other outlet, they are just wired heavier and to a 20amp breaker.
They are different if wired to code. A quick check with Google will show you the difference.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 07:18 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 54
Thanks for replies

We are going to be visiting friends in the ST Louis area and would just like to be able to run one of the air conditioners during the times we are gone so we can leave our dog in the coach. I'll have my friend check the wire size and plug style. The house is only four years old so it should be up to modern code.
BobnMelba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 07:25 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobnMelba View Post
We are going to be visiting friends in the ST Louis area and would just like to be able to run one of the air conditioners during the times we are gone so we can leave our dog in the coach. I'll have my friend check the wire size and plug style. The house is only four years old so it should be up to modern code.
Use the washing machine, kitchen or dinning room outlet. In NY, and other states, they are wired for 20 amps.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 07:52 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Isaac-1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: SW Louisiana
Posts: 2,210
Condition of the outlet also matters. An old outlet with corrosion in it may heat up and melt he plug even if under the allowed amp load. I ran into that this winter with an outside outlet that was likely 30+ years old, even though the cord plugged into it was only drawing 9 or 10 amps the plug still overheated and was charred.
__________________
2002 Safari Trek 2830 on P32 Chassis with 8.1L
Isaac-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 09:26 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,022
Can I run a 13,500 BTU high A/C on 20 amps.

Let me put it this way.. Been there, Done that. YES.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
15 amp outlet on 20 amp circuit Robert05TS Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 15 02-25-2016 05:53 AM
30 amp configuration on 50 amp circuit panel TexasTwoStep RV Systems & Appliances 9 12-24-2014 08:03 AM
50 amp on a 30 amp circuit LDP243 RV Systems & Appliances 15 01-29-2013 09:15 PM
open circuit in colman pop-up 12V circuit 04Sundancer Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics 6 09-20-2011 07:26 AM
30 Amp to 50 Amp garrage circuit Band Buds RV Systems & Appliances 5 08-17-2008 02:41 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.