Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2018, 04:27 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 152
AC Not working on generator

Hello
My rig has two roof AC units. I've found that the main one does not work when running the generator, but it does work fine on shore powere. Even if I try only the main unit it won't work when getting power from the generator. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Steve & Dora
2005 Fleetwood Terra 32s
Steve&Dora is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-17-2018, 04:31 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 4,106
is your generator breaker tripped?

try resetting it anyway, as it probably also has another breaker hidden behind the generator cover, and may be the 'side' of the power that your Main ac unit operates with.
__________________

MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 06:01 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 152
The generator is producing power. I can run the 2nd AC while on the generator no problem, just the first unit
__________________
Steve & Dora
2005 Fleetwood Terra 32s
Steve&Dora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 06:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1,011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve&Dora View Post
The generator is producing power. I can run the 2nd AC while on the generator no problem, just the first unit
It's producing some power on 1 leg, probably not the other leg.
tfryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 07:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
winniman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Muskoka Ontario Canada
Posts: 907
If it is an Onan generator, there are two breaker switches on the side of the genny. If one is tripped, you would probably lose one air unit. Shut both off, and reset them. You didnt state what kind of genny you have.
__________________
2000 coachmen santara 370 5.9 cummins isb
winniman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 07:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 152
Ok let me check the breakers, it is I believe an on an generator
Steve&Dora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 07:56 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
kgchampagne's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 238
In some cases Fleetwood used a selector switch in cases when the generator was not big enough to power both units. Inside of a cabinet, usually forward and driver's side there is a two or three position switch that says "A" or "B", I think I had an "off" option in the middle. So when plugged in, no problem, they both worked, when on generator I had to choose the front or rear AC unit. I have since sold my Fleetwood or I would take a picture. As others have said, it could be one of your two breakers is tripped.
__________________
2002 Monaco Executive
Cummins 500ISM (11L)
Castle Rock, CO
kgchampagne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 08:49 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 152
This one handles it by cycling the power automatically when needed. But the fans keep running
Steve&Dora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 01:17 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 152
I played with again today. It is a onan marques generator. Has two circuit breaker on it a 20amp and a 30 amp. I reset both of them and still didn't work. I did find that if I have the fan turned on when starting the generator it runs for about 15-30 seconds, then stops.
__________________
Steve & Dora
2005 Fleetwood Terra 32s
Steve&Dora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 11:03 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 152
Fixed

Well found out what was wrong. Turns out that the 20 amp breaker needs to be off. I ended up taking it to Camping World. With only the 30amp breaker on, everything works fine. When both are on is when I can't run the 1st AC unit. The 20amp breaker on the generator was for if they had wired the 2 ac units differently. More then likely it had always been off, but when we blew teh circuit on the generator and I flipped them both on is when the problem started.
Doesn't make sense to me honestly, but with only one breaker on it works, so that will work for me
__________________
Steve & Dora
2005 Fleetwood Terra 32s
Steve&Dora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 05:21 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
spdracr39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Cabot, Arkansas
Posts: 858
So basically then when the generator thinks you are using the 20 amp side it only delivers power to one leg. 30 amp only, it delivers it to both legs. It automatically defaults to the lower setting when both are on.
__________________
2014 Chaparral 327RLKS 5'er
2017 GMC 2500HD SLE 6.0L Z71 4x4 Standard Bed
Reese Pro Power slider hitch
spdracr39 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 12:26 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,022
Sounds to me like the 20 amp breaker is installed the wrong way.. I mean I've never heard of it but in theory it can happen.

EIther that or another major screw up in the wiring. CW is not the best electrical dotor.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Norcold fridge working, but not working EdNope RV Systems & Appliances 15 08-30-2017 10:16 AM
Remote generator start not working, please help ShapeShifter Monaco Owner's Forum 20 08-24-2016 11:05 AM
Slide not working / motor is working chrisc8869 5th Wheel Discussion 5 08-15-2015 06:24 PM
Generator hour meter not working RetiredBob Newmar Owner's Forum 6 07-28-2011 07:01 AM
HWH Jacks working, not working and working again? Bob&Pat Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 06-08-2006 04:22 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.