RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2019, 05:33 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Add Third A/C

Has anyone added a third A/C to fifth wheel
__________________

mule is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-19-2019, 06:07 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
akpd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: NC
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by mule View Post
Has anyone added a third A/C to fifth wheel
Do ya have more than a 50 amp service, if not I don't believe you can run more than 2 units.
__________________

__________________
2004 Monaco Lapalma PDT W-22, 8.1

FSE Industrial Ceramic Kilns.
akpd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2019, 06:29 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 18,526
Sure you can, lots of MHs have 3 A/Cs.

Two on one leg isn't going to overload it, if the circuits are balanced.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 08:04 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 1,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by akpd View Post
Do ya have more than a 50 amp service, if not I don't believe you can run more than 2 units.
Your mistaken.
50amp service is 100amps @ 110v. Your average 13.5k AC pulls something like 14amps. You could do 4 pretty easily if you balenced out...
mrgrayaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 06:13 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
akpd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: NC
Posts: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgrayaz View Post
Your mistaken.
50amp service is 100amps @ 110v. Your average 13.5k AC pulls something like 14amps. You could do 4 pretty easily if you balenced out...
Well if you had a 100A 220V service on your rig then you could have two 50A circuits, opposite of what you stated... just saying.
__________________
2004 Monaco Lapalma PDT W-22, 8.1

FSE Industrial Ceramic Kilns.
akpd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 06:28 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 2,286
The subject is the Holy Grail of DIY RVers, fersure

Cutting through the roof and ceiling is easy (if you watch out for wiring), but running new power leads is the hard part without removing a lot of the interior ceiling and wall panels.

If you want the unit to be placed between the other ones, could jumping off existing wiring be done? Knowing that there will be a lot of negative thoughts about this, the thought remains whether existing wiring could support the additional amps.

The downsides might be loss of voltage, and those two units would operate as one with the thermostat controller. Otherwise, why not?
__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 59K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 08:11 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,963
How big is your 5th wheel? And what size are the existing units? If they're 13.500 btu units, then you might try replacing one of them with a 15.000 btu unit.

The 14,800 btu rooftop we have on our 28 foot, single slide motorhome works fine in outside temperatures below 95. I'd have to believe that if I had 12 more feet of motorhome, 40 feet total, that an additional 13,500 unit would keep the thing nice and cool in most situations.
__________________
03 Itasca Sunova, Workhorse P32 with the 8.1 and 4L85-E
Mudfrog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 09:20 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 1,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by akpd View Post
Well if you had a 100A 220V service on your rig then you could have two 50A circuits, opposite of what you stated... just saying.
*sigh* the 50amp circuit you plug your RV into every time.....is really 2x50amp@110v circuits - or in other words is 50a@220v.

This is a pretty major misconception out there that its just 50a@110v....but its not.
__________________
2017 F-350 6.7 Diesel, CCSB SRW, FX4. Curt Q16/R16 - 11.5K GVWR
2005 Alfa SeeYa! SYF30RLIK - 16.2K GVWR, 4xGC2, 600W Solar MPPT
--Full time July 2016 to January 2019--
mrgrayaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 09:48 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 18,526
http://www.myrv.us/electric/Pg/50amp_Service.htm

https://www.rvtechmag.com/electrical/chapter3.php

Its all here.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 10:08 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
RustyTools's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,823
__________________
2008 Camelot 40 PDQ
RustyTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 03:52 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 2,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgrayaz View Post
*sigh* the 50amp circuit you plug your RV into every time.....is really 2x50amp@110v circuits - or in other words is 50a@220v.

This is a pretty major misconception out there that its just 50a@110v....but its not.
...and the question is (for you electrical experts), is it possible to tie a second A/C unit into existing wiring that's feeding another one?

What are the down-sides?
__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 59K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 04:37 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgrayaz View Post
Your mistaken.
50amp service is 100amps @ 110v. Your average 13.5k AC pulls something like 14amps. You could do 4 pretty easily if you balenced out...
No, you are. A 50 amp service in your rig is a 50 amp 240 volt service. Just like your 200 amp 240 service at home!

30 amp service is 120 volt.

Forget you ever hard the phrase "100 amps available" You will never in your lifetime use 100 amps in your RV so why talk about it. To do so it would need to be a very balanced load. Go over 50 amp on any one leg and the 50 amp breaker is gonna trip. Both legs will be dead.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 04:42 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 18,526
The downside is an overloaded wire and hopefully a tripped circuit breaker before it melts.

The circuit is wired to handle either 15 or 20 amps. Read the breaker.
Two air conditioners,running together, will draw 25 to 35 amps.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaboy473 View Post
...and the question is (for you electrical experts), is it possible to tie a second A/C unit into existing wiring that's feeding another one?

What are the down-sides?
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 04:43 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaboy473 View Post
...and the question is (for you electrical experts), is it possible to tie a second A/C unit into existing wiring that's feeding another one?

What are the down-sides?
Yes it is possible. BUT you can't run them both at the same time. It's only a 20 amp 120 volt circuit.
__________________

__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add Wi-Fi cable to roof of Dutch Star that's on order, add Bat Wing moun MrBigFish Newmar Owner's Forum 6 11-30-2016 04:41 PM
Add or not add diesel additives Baldtbird.06 Damon 13 03-20-2015 11:05 AM
To add or not to add slide toppers edrayman MH-General Discussions & Problems 8 08-14-2014 11:22 AM
Add Add'l Brake & Signal Lights BikerGirl Monaco Owner's Forum 6 01-16-2013 07:06 AM
Add third A/C to Ventana hawgguy Newmar Owner's Forum 6 07-10-2011 06:57 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.