RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2019, 10:59 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Sunny FLA
Posts: 104
Atwood Furnace Help!!!

My propane gas furnace Quit working this week. It worked fine last week.
It's an AFLD40121
Gas is full and Gas Hot water is working along with stove and oven.
I took the basement panels off, found the furnace. Reset the reset switch, which I got from reading other posts. I also turned the gas off disconnected the lines and then reconnected them. and turned gas back on in case it was a gas flow, check valve issue. Still no luck.
I did however find a blue wire comming out of the furnace that is not connected to anything. It has a label that says +Thermostat on it. There is another blue wire that just says Thermostat on it and it is connected to the blue wire in the RV that goes to the thermostat. So I basically have two blue wires that say thermostat. The one that is not connected to anything has the + sign on it. the other 3 wires from the unit are connected +12 dc. -12 dc and Thermostat, red black and blue.
I'm attaching pics so you can see what I'm talking about. I searched and cant not find any wire that the +Thermostat may have been connected to. It doesn't look like it was connected to anything.
I have looked in the service manual and it doesn't show what it supposed to be connected to.
And of course both Jayco and Atwood aren't open on the weekends or after I get off work.
So does anyone know If this +Thermostat wire is supposed to be connected to. I've also attached the pics of wiring diag from the manual.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190118_212610.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	374.7 KB
ID:	232412   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190118_212704.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	152.5 KB
ID:	232413  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20190118_220204.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	189.5 KB
ID:	232414   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190118_220218.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	153.5 KB
ID:	232415  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20190118_220234.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	122.4 KB
ID:	232416  
__________________

__________________
Take Care And Have Fun!
2017 Jayco Seismic 4212
2015 Chevy High Country 3500 DRW
82ndCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-18-2019, 11:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Sunny FLA
Posts: 104
I also Found the red blinking light inside the housing. It flashes once ever 3 secs.
And according to the fault codes, it means Limit switch / air flow problems.
It's listed as a soft lockout and is supposed to reset. But it hasn't even after leaving the system off for a few days.
The thermostat clicks when you set it to Gas Heat on the thermostat, but nothing happens the blower doesn't come on no clicking or anything from the furnace at all. I've even pulled the fuse in the fuse panel for the furnace and nothing happens.
It's supposed to get down to freezing low 30's here Monday mourning. So any help would be greatly appreciated.
Please help this Florida boy from freezing to death.
__________________

__________________
Take Care And Have Fun!
2017 Jayco Seismic 4212
2015 Chevy High Country 3500 DRW
82ndCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 12:00 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8,028
OK

12V DC+ RED....comes from FUSED DC power source...goes the on/off switch

Output side of on/off switch...12V DC+ RED goes to circuit bd 'blower circuit' then to fan motor.

The 12V DC+ BLUE goes to the T-stat ----then when T-stat Closes the 12V DC+ BLUE comes back and goes to Sail Switch (Input side) and to Circuit Bd (delay circuit)

Output side of Sail Switch goes to Limit switch then to circuit bd (again BLUE wires)



So.....
BLUE wire connections are:
1) at on/off switch to t-stat for power
2) at inlet side of Sail Switch
3) at 6 pin connector on circuit bd (from connection at Sail Switch)
4) at output side of Sail Switch to Limit Switch
5) at output side of Limit Switch to circuit bd
6) at 6 pin connector on circuit bd (from limit switch)




6 pin connector on circuit bd
2...Blue wire
1...Red wire
1...Black wire
2...empty slots


2 DC Sources that have to be connected
Red/Blue on output of on/off switch
Blue at Sail Switch and connector on circuit




Limit Switch/Airflow Fault....no fan/no DC voltage and can't reset cause no DC Power
__________________
Is it time for YOUR medication or MINE
2007 Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 12:09 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Sunny FLA
Posts: 104
Here's what I'm having a problem understanding.
If it's a limit switch problem / air flow problem? Why is'nt the blower coming on and the furnace just not igniting? If that the issue is with the limit switch or sail switch.

The sail switch has to be be closed before volts get to the limit switch, and if the blower isn't running then How can that circuit get closed in the first place?
__________________
Take Care And Have Fun!
2017 Jayco Seismic 4212
2015 Chevy High Country 3500 DRW
82ndCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 12:24 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Sunny FLA
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post
OK

12V DC+ RED....comes from FUSED DC power source...goes the on/off switch

Output side of on/off switch...12V DC+ RED goes to circuit bd 'blower circuit' then to fan motor.

The 12V DC+ BLUE goes to the T-stat ----then when T-stat Closes the 12V DC+ BLUE comes back and goes to Sail Switch (Input side) and to Circuit Bd (delay circuit)

Output side of Sail Switch goes to Limit switch then to circuit bd (again BLUE wires)



So.....
BLUE wire connections are:
1) at on/off switch to t-stat for power
2) at inlet side of Sail Switch
3) at 6 pin connector on circuit bd (from connection at Sail Switch)
4) at output side of Sail Switch to Limit Switch
5) at output side of Limit Switch to circuit bd
6) at 6 pin connector on circuit bd (from limit switch)




6 pin connector on circuit bd
2...Blue wire
1...Red wire
1...Black wire
2...empty slots


2 DC Sources that have to be connected
Red/Blue on output of on/off switch
Blue at Sail Switch and connector on circuit




Limit Switch/Airflow Fault....no fan/no DC voltage and can't reset cause no DC Power





UUUM I think I follow what your saying, But I still can't figure out IF and Where the blue "+Thermostat" wire goes to? There is no other unconnected wire around that it went to.
__________________
Take Care And Have Fun!
2017 Jayco Seismic 4212
2015 Chevy High Country 3500 DRW
82ndCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 12:37 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8,028
Find each one of the 6 places I identified that should have a blue wire on it
Verify that all 6 places are connected


***Start with
2 DC Sources that have to be connected
Red/Blue on output of on/off switch
Blue at Sail Switch and connector on circuit
(Items 1,2 & 3)


Fan has to Start before Sail Switch can Close (paddle in airflow moves closing the micro switch)
BUT Fan has to be energized via the RED/BLUE outlet side of ON/OFF switch and DC coming from T-stat when it Closes (which goes to Circuit Board)
__________________
Is it time for YOUR medication or MINE
2007 Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 12:39 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Sunny FLA
Posts: 104
Are the 2 blue wires from the furnace supposed to be connected to the same wire coming from the Thermostat ???

One says "Thermostat" , the other says "+Thermostat"

Tomorrow I'll open the splice connector they used and see if the +Thermostat wire may have been in there with the Thermostat wire and it just broke off.
__________________
Take Care And Have Fun!
2017 Jayco Seismic 4212
2015 Chevy High Country 3500 DRW
82ndCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 12:43 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Sunny FLA
Posts: 104
"2 DC Sources that have to be connected
Red/Blue on output of on/off switch"


This is where I'm a little confused?
Where did the blue connected to the output of the switch go to?

And wouldn't connecting +12DC to the back side of the switch Just Negate the switch?
__________________
Take Care And Have Fun!
2017 Jayco Seismic 4212
2015 Chevy High Country 3500 DRW
82ndCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 12:59 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by 82ndCowboy View Post
"2 DC Sources that have to be connected
Red/Blue on output of on/off switch"


This is where I'm a little confused?
Where did the blue connected to the output of the switch go to?

And wouldn't connecting +12DC to the back side of the switch Just Negate the switch?

Follow the wiring diagram
12V DC+ RED goes to the ON/Off switch.
With switch ON 12V DC+ RED goes to circuit bd for fan power
*Blue is connected to the Red on outlet side of switch to be used as DC Power to the T-stat.
(Turn switch OFF and RED/Blue will not have any DC on them)


Then T-stat Closes and the DC power comes back on another Blue wire that goes to sail switch/circuit bd


When circuit bd gets DC from that Blue wire it then starts fan....fan comes up to speed which closes Sail Switch and DC Power goes to limit switch to circuit bd.
Circuit bd now energizes gas valve & spark electrode....FLAME
__________________
Is it time for YOUR medication or MINE
2007 Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 01:30 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Sunny FLA
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old-Biscuit View Post
Follow the wiring diagram
12V DC+ RED goes to the ON/Off switch.
With switch ON 12V DC+ RED goes to circuit bd for fan power
*Blue is connected to the Red on outlet side of switch to be used as DC Power to the T-stat.
(Turn switch OFF and RED/Blue will not have any DC on them)


Then T-stat Closes and the DC power comes back on another Blue wire that goes to sail switch/circuit bd


When circuit bd gets DC from that Blue wire it then starts fan....fan comes up to speed which closes Sail Switch and DC Power goes to limit switch to circuit bd.
Circuit bd now energizes gas valve & spark electrode....FLAME

Now That makes sense. That I follow and now it's making sense.

So my problem is there is another wire somewhere that the Blue +Thermostat wire broke off of and I just didn't find it.



Thanks for the assistance O B...


I'll climb back in that hole tomorrow and see if I can find it. Jayco made it so you can't get to the damn thing without dismantling the basement walls. It's like spelunking in a gopher hole.
__________________
Take Care And Have Fun!
2017 Jayco Seismic 4212
2015 Chevy High Country 3500 DRW
82ndCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 02:46 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Sunny FLA
Posts: 104
Ohh wait.... this gets even better.

Before I decided to go to bed I thought I check for 12 vlts at the thermostat to confirm the wire broke off somewhere.
So I pull the thermostat off the wall and look at the wiring diagram.
This is what I find...
The wire colors don't match the label on the thermostat.


This is a nightmare. Thanks a lot Jayco.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190119_031301.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	179.5 KB
ID:	232424  
__________________
Take Care And Have Fun!
2017 Jayco Seismic 4212
2015 Chevy High Country 3500 DRW
82ndCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 05:15 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 15,524
When I pulled my T stat, there was wire nut connections about 6" further down the line. Pull out a bit more wire and see if the colors match up at the wire nuts.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 05:48 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by 82ndCowboy View Post
My propane gas furnace Quit working this week. It worked fine last week...
Since it worked last week, I don't think the wires could have changed this week. I don't think a wire could have come loose by itself and the loose wire in the picture is not stripped to bare wire at the end indicating it was joined to another wire.
May be a control module problem?
steve11669 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2019, 09:43 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve11669 View Post
Since it worked last week, I don't think the wires could have changed this week. I don't think a wire could have come loose by itself and the loose wire in the picture is not stripped to bare wire at the end indicating it was joined to another wire.
May be a control module problem?

That Blue wire IS part of the circuit...that is why furnace doesn't operate---wire broke off


Voltmeter will verify that the Blue wire has DC Power.
More then likely when T-stat closes....so blue should be connected either at Sail Switch OR at circuit bd 8 pin connector
__________________

__________________
Is it time for YOUR medication or MINE
2007 Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
US NAVY---USS Decatur DDG-31
Old-Biscuit is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, atwood, furnace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Atwood furnace help drive805 RV Systems & Appliances 26 08-01-2017 11:50 PM
Replace old Atwood Water Heater With New Atwood Water Heater GlennLever RV Systems & Appliances 2 07-14-2015 11:41 AM
atwood 8531 furnace help jasonsmsu RV Systems & Appliances 5 05-01-2012 12:12 AM
Atwood furnace Max Hubrich RV Systems & Appliances 1 02-14-2009 01:48 AM
Atwood Furnace Blows Cold Air chasfm11 MH-General Discussions & Problems 12 12-15-2005 07:51 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.