RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2014, 09:42 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Atwood furnace problem

I have a Atwood furnace that when you turn it on the blower comes on and it lights and burns for about 10 to 15 seconds and then goes out for about 10 to 15 seconds and re-lights again for 10 to 15 seconds and then goes out...it does this 3 or 4 times and then the board locks it out and I have to turn off the thermostat and reset and then it does the same thing again. Can someone tell me what the problem is?
__________________

apollox1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-09-2014, 09:51 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8
Sounds like a flame sensor problem. If the control board doesn't sense the flame it will close the gas valve and re-start the ignition sequence until the board locks out as you are seeing.
__________________

Cougarblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 10:06 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
jimmyjnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Boulder CO
Posts: 738
Same problem with mine , rang Atwood help line and guy diagnosed faulty " diode " I think he Called it ! Small thing looks like a resistor .
Cheap easy fix
Good luck
jimmyjnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 08:48 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,022
Yes, that is a flame sensor problem (I speak from experience)
The flame sensor has 3 "parts"
A metal pin that is in the burner area, on some Atwood (And Surburan) furnaces it doubles as one of the DSI ignition points. (Which is why I had a problem but more on that in part 3)

Next is the wire that connects the high voltage coil on the control board (in my case) to the flame sensor/ignition point.. Or, if you have the other system the wire from the flame sensor to the control board.. Bad connections make a big difference.

The flame sensor is a common bi-metal thermocouple, it produces .480 volts (480 milivolts) or just under 1/2 volt (easier to type 1/2).

The ignition voltage is roughly 1,000 volts AC

With the single wire system I have a solid state switch converts from "SPARK" mode to "SENSE" mode. what happens if that switch over goes bad and the flame sensor chip gets hit with the Kilovolt spark voltage.. Right, it does not last long.

And that is what my problems was.

I oredered a new DINOSAUR board of the proper model from American RV in California, it arreive a few days later (Roughly 100 dollars delivered v/s 250 for the Atwood model) and when I looked at it I was seriously impressed by both the quality of constructionl, assembley and looking closer the design (They, for example, protected against just the failure I described). Very nice board. Took less than five minutes to get it up and running.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 03:30 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 89
i just experienced this exactly just 2 days ago!

they checked my control board and swapped out a new board and was back on the road in less then an hour.

it was doing the exact same thing. the exhaust was blowing hot then cold then hot then cold.
all it was is that the board had gone bad,.

so i would have the control board checked before anything else

hope you get it fixed soon

sam
illusionist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
atwood, furnace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Residential fridge over furnace in 2004 Diplomat DST (1.5 bath) tkcas01 Monaco Owner's Forum 55 08-17-2015 09:28 AM
Good Suburban furnace service. TXiceman RV Systems & Appliances 8 05-26-2014 08:02 PM
Atwood 5th Wheel Hitch Blue74 Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 2 02-13-2014 09:19 PM
Dash Gauge Problem RangerRick Newmar Owner's Forum 3 02-02-2014 11:53 AM
Atwood & Suburban water heaters & Furnace "007" RV Systems & Appliances 1 08-07-2010 09:37 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.