RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2018, 06:16 AM   #1
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5,194
Coleman mach basement 40,000btu air con on 30amp: Urgent & time sensitive question

Hi,

I have a deposit down on a Itasca Latitude with basement air. Coach is a 50amp unit but old one is 30amp, some of the state parks we have booked this year are 30amp only.

I know that 1 air con will normally run on 30amp
How will the basement air handle 30amp? I do not mind running the fridge on propane.

I will call Winnebago also. If the air con can not run on 30amp I will need to cancel the deal.

Thanks,
__________________

__________________
2008 Itasca Latitude 37g UFO.
Former 2005 Damon Daybreak 3270F.
No Toad.
Unicorn Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-01-2018, 06:34 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 31
Basement Air

Hello, I had a 2005 National Dolphin that had a Coleman basement air unit, and loved it. So much quieter than the roof units, back to running on 30amp, there should be a switch , that when connected to 30 amp u flip this switch and it shuts off one of the compressors on the cooling unit , unless it is extremely hot we had no problems with this. The switch on our unit was a manual one in the electric bay. Maybe someone with a Itasca will join in and let you know where your switch is located. If it gets too hot you can always run the genny with the switch in 50 amp position !
__________________

Gpsmith620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 06:45 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: http://binged.it/1KdDqKO
Posts: 2,428
Blog Entries: 1
Mine will run on 30 amp and we love it. When on 30 am you will have to restrain from using more than one high amp item at a time. Such as no micro wave and air at same time. Mine also has a heat pump! We love it.
Ps: Mine also has a breaker box in the eclectic bay that has two switch's where you can turn off one pump or the other. I have never had to turn off either to use on 30 amp.
homeless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 07:29 AM   #4
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5,194
Phew, thats a relief. I sure like this coach but having air con on 30 amp is a must :-)

Thanks both so much :-)
__________________
2008 Itasca Latitude 37g UFO.
Former 2005 Damon Daybreak 3270F.
No Toad.
Unicorn Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 08:32 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 2,812
Our '06 Itasca came wired for 30amp and it ran the basement air just fine. It could run both compressors on 30amp shore power if not much else was on. Depending on the year, the coach should have one of the Intellitec Energy Management Systems and it will automatically shed items as needed. The first things to shed are the water heater and the second compressor in the AC unit. I converted the coach to 50amp so we could use the full AC and other items at the same time and the EMS continued to work the same way when on 30amp supply.

Below is a generic panel for the EMS. The one in the coach you are looking at will be labeled differently.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PowerLineEMS-1.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	37.4 KB
ID:	201128  
__________________
Dan & Ro with two Rescued Boston "Terrorists" Jade & Jewel
2017 Phaeton 40IH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS (05/17)
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'12 Jeep JK Wrangler Sport or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 09:17 AM   #6
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5,194
Thanks Lt. Dan,


The coach does have a control panel like that.




I called Winnebago and they confirmed it will run on 30amp with 1 compressor.
__________________
2008 Itasca Latitude 37g UFO.
Former 2005 Damon Daybreak 3270F.
No Toad.
Unicorn Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 09:28 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
lakewoodpaul's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1stMH View Post
Thanks Lt. Dan,


The coach does have a control panel like that.




I called Winnebago and they confirmed it will run on 30amp with 1 compressor.
Ive had 2 basement air motorhomes and a 30 amp hookup in my yard. I can run the AC with both compressors with no problem. They will draw around 22 amps.Just don't try an electric fry pan or the micro wave at the same time.
__________________
WIT# 34347
lakewoodpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 09:31 AM   #8
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5,194
That's great to know Paul,
__________________
2008 Itasca Latitude 37g UFO.
Former 2005 Damon Daybreak 3270F.
No Toad.
Unicorn Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 12:44 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Honwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Woodland, Washington
Posts: 531
Also have basement air and have had no problems running both compressors at the same time. Kind of fun to watch the digital display to see what you can get away with. Wonít take long to learn what you can and canít do at the same time.
__________________
2004 Itasca Horizon 40AD. 400hp Cummins
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid Titanium
Honwing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2018, 07:58 AM   #10
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5,194
Thanks Honwing,

Whats the warmest you have used it in?
__________________

__________________
2008 Itasca Latitude 37g UFO.
Former 2005 Damon Daybreak 3270F.
No Toad.
Unicorn Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air, coleman



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R&R Coleman Mach basement air unit ELeeFL Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 03-20-2018 08:57 PM
Coleman mach 3 air questions coleman air questions Thehsdguy RV Systems & Appliances 1 07-31-2016 05:44 AM
Coleman Mach basement air conditioner tbomn Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 11 12-16-2015 10:24 AM
Generac 40g 3,600w and 15,000btu upgraded a/c ToledoCharli Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 06-06-2011 06:29 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.