RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-07-2019, 06:40 PM   #1

Deep Cycle Coach Batteries - HELP !

I'm a newbie when it comes to vehicles and RV's so please bare with me.

I am trying to understand my coach battery set up. I have 2 6V deep cycle batteries paired, I can see there are 3 chambers with water in them and that's about all I know.

They power the home part of my motorhome and I am struggling with them.

Please help!

1. How do I charge them? The person I bought the motorhome from said he would charge them with a running car for a full day the day before they went out camping. Is this realistic? Is there a faster or better way? I have a 100W solar panel that can charge them but it's not making a dent. I want to be full-timing in our motorhome so charging on a car isn't realistic. Someone recommended a trickle charger - would this work?

2. They would run the internal lights, water pump, internal plugs for charging cell phones, and whatever they do with the fridge (apparently the DC is needed to start the control panel before the fridge can run off propane or source). How quickly would all of this drain these batteries? What if I had the 100W solar panel out? How long could we stay off grid?

3. Is there a better option or are my batteries duds?

I don't think they will charge when I am plugged into source. The person I purchased it from didn't say anything about that when I asked about charging them.

Thank you so much for your help!

kvg4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!