Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2011, 11:39 AM   #1
Member
 
Pwmcx95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 36
Heat and thermostat question

I just purchased a 2000 Tiffin Alegro Zephyr.
I am still trying find out how everything works. My question now concerns the heating and cooling system. I set the thermostat to "heat pump" and the gas furnaces come on. I switched to a/c and the a/c will not come on.
Also the thermostat shows zone 1 and I don't see how to change to different zones or is it automatic?
Doesn't make any difference is it is on generator power or shore power.
Any ideas or help.

Paul
__________________

__________________
Pwmcx95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-05-2011, 12:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bug512's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Warren County, NJ
Posts: 1,334
Just a shot here but what is the outside temperature?
I know on our Winnebago that if the (inside) temperature is more then 4 degrees away from the heating setpoint it will use the furnace first.

As far as the AC, maybe there is a ambient temperature lockout like on commercial systems ?
__________________

__________________
Gene & Ginger
No RV at this time.
04 Winnebago Adventurer 33V, 05 Jayco 23B, 02 Coleman Cheyenne
Bug512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 12:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Pwmcx95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 36
Acutally outside temp is 37 deg. You may be on to something.

wish I ahd a manual to explain all this.

Paul
__________________
Pwmcx95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 12:48 PM   #4
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,726
Maybe this link will explain things for you.
Welcome to irv2.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 01:11 PM   #5
Member
 
Pwmcx95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 36
Before I look at the link you supplied, I just tried somethinh else.
I set the thermostat to fan only mode, the furnace kicked on.
Maybe I have a defective thermostat?

I will check out the link you sent.

Paul
__________________
Pwmcx95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 11:53 AM   #6
Member
 
Pwmcx95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 36
I have an update, I found the info about adjusting the contacts in the thermostat switches. Did that and no change.
Next went to control boarod on front unit, checked fuse, not blown, unplugged power to board and reconnected. Could not see anything wrong.
went over to thermostat and tried to change modes, now I can change to mode 1, 2 or 3. Now my a/c units run in all three modes. I can control the furnaces in any mode now.
I have heatpump in mode 1 and mode 2. When I set thermostat to mode 3 and heatpump I never get any heat.
Is it possible rear unit (mode 3) is just a/c or do I have bad unit?
I have never owned a unit with 3 roof a/c's and 2 furnaces.
Anyone know how all this is supposed to work?
__________________
Pwmcx95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 01:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Luckiest Dreamer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,188
I believe mine has mode 1,2, 3 for the roof air and you just scroll thru and set each to the wanted temp setting when there. But with only 2 furnaces when you scroll thru one of the settings is blank and you get no results when there. My furnaces are on 1 and 3.
__________________
Larry B, Luckiest Dreamer
Luckiest Dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 07:37 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 150
Just a guess but seems you have a Dometic comfort control system?
The older one seem to have problems with the thermostats. I know there's a couple of people who will fix them for about the coast of a new 5 button unit.
How ever the newer 5 button will not replace the older 4 button.
You can upgrade the whole system by buying two new control boxes for the AC unit and a new 5 button control thermostat. Should be able to find all for around $300.00 if you search and ask.
Oh yes heat pumps don't work below around 40 degrees so the turn the propane heater on instead.
__________________
Traveler52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 06:29 AM   #9
Member
 
Pwmcx95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 36
Larry B,
My system is like yours. I only have furnace on xone 1 and 3.
The weather has been so cold I test to see which heat pumps acutally work. I know one day I did get heat from zone 1 and 2 heat pump, never could get heat from zone 3.
I have had to saat here at the shop last 2 nights, outside temp in low teens and the gas furnaces run good. I put a small ceramic heater in the bed room . That cause zone 3 temp to be up and furnace for zone 3 won't kick on.
Need some warmer weather to get all checked out good.

Paul
__________________
Pwmcx95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 06:35 AM   #10
Member
 
Pwmcx95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 36
Diveman52,
If I change to the 5 btton system, don't I have more wires to run from circuit boards to and from circuit boards.
My 3 units have circuit boards in each.
I did clean contacts and reform contacts on 4 button switch to get control of each unit.
I think I am supposed to have heat pump in all 3 units but have never got heat from zone 3 in heat pump mode. So cold out side can't tell if a/c is even working.
How difficult a job is it to change to 5 button system with 3 units?

Paul
__________________
Pwmcx95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 07:19 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 150
No you don't have to change any wires. the Comfort control system uses telephone type wire (4 wires cable) with telephone style RJ11 jacks it's prety much plug and play. Just unplug existing cable install new contol boxes and thermostat, plug into new boxes and thermostat read instructions on set and go.
__________________

__________________
Traveler52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacement thermostat for basement Heat Pump jspande RV Systems & Appliances 4 05-14-2012 05:10 PM
No furnace, thermostat, air or heat pumps lnwilson Newmar Owner's Forum 4 01-03-2010 12:55 PM
A heat pump question? RCtime Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 05-17-2008 03:29 PM
Hurricane (Hydronic) Heat Question craigt MH-General Discussions & Problems 4 08-21-2007 05:40 AM
Horizon/Vectra Heat pump operational question Keith Anderson Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 10-30-2006 12:45 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.