Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-30-2019, 09:39 PM   #1

Exclamation HELP! Grey Water Tank Not Draining!

Hi everybody! I am brand new to the RV life, as I have just started renting out a 1989 Jamboree Rallye, which has been parked and (semi)converted into a studio apartment. I have so far had very few issues with my new home, except that my grey water tank is not draining. I opened the slide valve after attaching the hose and.... nothing. No smell, no drip, as if nothing was opened. So i removed my hose and used a flexible probe about 2 feet long and put it up the pipe, hoping to dislodge any plastic piece or anything like that which might be blocking the drain. I did notice that the valve DOES open, because i removed the probe and closed it, and again tried to insert the probe and it would only go about an inch into the pipe. I am assuming this means the tanks outlet itself is clogged and nothing can even get to the drain pipe. My meter is now reading the tank as full, and I am worried to do dishes and end up with a water backup problem.

Does anybody have ANY suggestions on how I might clear the drain, maybe a chemical of some type I can put in there, though my tank is now full, or some other method of clearing the pipe.