Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2008, 11:16 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
RedGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Waterford, Michigan
Posts: 119
I posted abit of this in a previous thread. But today I took my furnace out since I haven't been able to get it to light since this spring. The fan runs, I can smell gas at the proper time, and hear the ignitior going, but get no ignition and it shuts the ignition sequence down.

So I was trying to take this thing apart so I could give it a thourough cleaning, BUT I can't figure out how to take it apart! I though there'd be some access panels screwed on or something, but it appears as though the whole housing is riveted together. I can't even get the ignitor out! Looked like there was only 3 screwes holding the assembly in, but it still won't come out so there must be more.

The furnace is an Atwood Hydroflame 8520. Any help would be greatly apriciated. Essecially something like a manual on how to dissassemble the thing!
__________________

__________________
We live and we die by time. And we must not commit the sin of losing our track on time.

RedGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-01-2008, 11:16 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
RedGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Waterford, Michigan
Posts: 119
I posted abit of this in a previous thread. But today I took my furnace out since I haven't been able to get it to light since this spring. The fan runs, I can smell gas at the proper time, and hear the ignitior going, but get no ignition and it shuts the ignition sequence down.

So I was trying to take this thing apart so I could give it a thourough cleaning, BUT I can't figure out how to take it apart! I though there'd be some access panels screwed on or something, but it appears as though the whole housing is riveted together. I can't even get the ignitor out! Looked like there was only 3 screwes holding the assembly in, but it still won't come out so there must be more.

The furnace is an Atwood Hydroflame 8520. Any help would be greatly apriciated. Essecially something like a manual on how to dissassemble the thing!
__________________

__________________
We live and we die by time. And we must not commit the sin of losing our track on time.

RedGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 12:39 AM   #3
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 10,285
I don't know that I have seen a manual on how to assemble and dimantle a unit but here is a link that might help you. You may have to drill out the rivits and replace when you put it back together. Good luck and keeep us posted.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 350 ISC w/ Banks = 450Hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue & 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 toads
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 07:30 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
RedGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Waterford, Michigan
Posts: 119
Thanks that's actually what I was thinking too. I've been calling a couple RV dealers to see what it would cost to have them fix it, but it's pretty much $100 just to look at it. Considering I can buy this same unit from JCwhittney for %480 I don't want to get into a spot where I have almost as much into a 20 year old funace as I would if I bought a new one. I think I want to replace my heat exchanger too, It seems to be very rusty on the inside.

Thanks for that link BTW!
__________________
We live and we die by time. And we must not commit the sin of losing our track on time.

RedGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 12:02 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
RedGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Waterford, Michigan
Posts: 119
Ok, I got the burner assembly, gas valve, and ignitor out today. It was a real PITA though since I could not get the exhaust stack to come off. It looks like it should just pull strait out once you undo the wing nut on the front, but no matter how hard I pull it won't come out. Anyone knwo how to remove this part? I did manage to squeeze the other assembly by the exhaust stack. My Burner is toast, rusted up pretty bad, my ignitor looks good, my gas valve had crud in the end blocking the hole. So I'm going to replace the burner, ignitor (since I got it out), and the end of the gas valve (it's like a little bolt with a hole in the end).

Also I was wondering if at this point how hard would it be to bump up to the next BTU range? Mines a 20,000BTU unit right now, can it be bumped up to a 30-34,000 unit just by changing the end of the gas valve and burner?
__________________
We live and we die by time. And we must not commit the sin of losing our track on time.

RedGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 01:19 AM   #6
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 10,285
RedGuy, You may want to consider replacing the unit with a larger furnace. You cannot just put a larger burner orfice as the heat exchanger is also larger in the larger btu furnaces. By changing the unit out you have a good warranty, all new parts, more btu's and a reliable unit for another 20 years. Otherwise, the old one could nickel and dime you to death.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 350 ISC w/ Banks = 450Hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue & 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 toads
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 07:31 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
RedGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Waterford, Michigan
Posts: 119
I considered that, but I'm not quite ready to drop $5-600 on a new furnace for a 20 years old TT. Right now I'm looking at about $60 in parts, and no labor since I'm doing it myself. At worse I'll have to buy a new board, which is another $120. But I don't think my board is bad, pretty sure my burner being rusted out was the main problem. Also now that I can see into the combustion chamber better it doesn't look hardly rusted at all. I think most of the rust I got out of the unit had come from the burner assebly.
__________________
We live and we die by time. And we must not commit the sin of losing our track on time.

RedGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 09:53 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
RedGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Waterford, Michigan
Posts: 119
OK! I finally got my new burner and ignitor and put them it. As expected reassembly was just as hard as dissasembly as I still could not remove the exhaust cover. Next time I am going to drill out the rivets so I can make this thing more accessable. Total cost so far is $45 for the burner, $15 for the ignitor, and $3 for a new ignitor gasket. I'm about to go install this thing in my TT hope it works.
__________________
We live and we die by time. And we must not commit the sin of losing our track on time.

RedGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 09:14 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
RedGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Waterford, Michigan
Posts: 119
All installed and works great! Glad I didn;t go out an buy a new furnace. It lights off within a second or two.
__________________
We live and we die by time. And we must not commit the sin of losing our track on time.

RedGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 09:38 PM   #10
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 10,285
RedGuy, glad to hear that you have got the furnace going again. I trust you have a CO2 detector, and it is working properly. If not you should get one in case the heat exchanger ever goes out. Good luck and keep us posted.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 350 ISC w/ Banks = 450Hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue & 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 toads
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 04:31 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
RedGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Waterford, Michigan
Posts: 119
Yep, CO detector actually. That was one of my first purchases when I bought this trailer. I went up north this weekend, and it got chilly. Turned on the furnace, and nothing! The blower turned on, the gas valve opened, but the ignitor never turned on. It did rain ALOT this weekend and I drove up there in the rain. The furnace worked great right before I left, but when I got where I was going after driving in the rain it wouldn't light. Luckily my A/C unit also has heat, and that saved my butt. I tried the furnace a few times with the same results and figured I probably got the board wet and fried something. It was wet inside the furnace door. Well today when I'm putting my camper away at the storage facility taking care of all the odds and ends I figured just for grins I'd try the furnace. Sure enough it fired right up! Only thing I can figure is it dried out today. Hopefully next trip I take it'll work and I can test it out all weekend. But at least I know I can stay warm with my A/C if I have to.
__________________
We live and we die by time. And we must not commit the sin of losing our track on time.

RedGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 06:34 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
RedGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Waterford, Michigan
Posts: 119
Ok, so my funace works fine when it's dry out, but the ignitor doesn't work when it rains. The door doesn't shut real tight and there would be some water on the inside of the inner door when it would rain. There was a lousy 20 year old foam strip around the top to keep water out, that wasn't doing it's job anymore. So I got some good 1/2 inch foam rubber seal and ran it around the whole inside of the inner door, which had no seal at all. Then I also ran the foam rubber seal around the outer door in the same place as the old seal. Then I added a couple screws to the top of the outer door to pull it closed tighter. It looks alittle redneck, but I don;t want to freeze. LOL Anyways it rained the day after I did this so I went out and tried it, and it fired right up, so hopefully I've got it nailed now.
__________________

__________________
We live and we die by time. And we must not commit the sin of losing our track on time.

RedGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hydroflame Furnace Parts Tom Norman MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 01-20-2005 12:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.