Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2013, 03:02 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 60
Update....

Wired 12g extension cord to the main breaker panel....Couple of observations.

If the main shorepower cord is connected to my 30a outlet, the GFI trips the moment
I try to connect the neutral of the "extension cord" to the neutral buss. I can wire directly to the inverter from the panel with no problem....I can connect the ground (green) of the extension cord to the ground buss and the hot and neutral to the inverter wiring and it functions.

If I disconnect shore power, I can then connect the neutral of the "extension cord" to the panel buss, green to the ground bus and the hot directly. Yet when I try to connect the neutral of the inverter to the neutral buss in the panel, GFI trips....

Im going to need therapy if I dont figure this out soon....Still open for suggestions...Voltages everywhere look fine.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
jwcgc629 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-26-2014, 05:39 PM   #30
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
I have a similar problem. I have a Xantrex Freedom inverter. Things seem to work fine on shore power or on the genset, but when I disconnect, one of the GFCI circuits trip. The other side works fine. I'm usually connected to shore power so its not a big issue, but I will drydock once or twice a month and its really a pain. Have you had any success troubleshooting the problem?

P.S. As a note, the problem seemed to occur after we had discovered a rat in the MH. He was there a few days and chewed up the central vac hose. Could he have possibly chewed a wire?
__________________

__________________
Wayne & Roxane McClain w/ Danny the Wonder Dog
2007 Fleetwood Providence/2008 Rav4 Toad
wmcclain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 05:52 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,489
Inverters are switch mode devices and as such have high leakage currents.

Be certian it has large and clean grounds.

Grounded to ac load center safety ground buss.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 05:56 PM   #32
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1
xantrex sw 3012 gfci

Similar issue here. Dedicated gfci 30amp circuit at house. All worked fine until new inverter install. Then gfci trip every time. RV guy called xantrex and was told that gfci cannot be used with inverter. Meaning an upstream gfci cannot be used. I called and was told the same by xantrex customer service.
Something about a floating ground in the inverter.
Does this sound plausible to the experts in the forum? thanks!
~sholom
__________________
sholom770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 06:00 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,664
Quote:
Originally Posted by sholom770 View Post
Similar issue here. Dedicated gfci 30amp circuit at house. All worked fine until new inverter install. Then gfci trip every time. RV guy called xantrex and was told that gfci cannot be used with inverter. Meaning an upstream gfci cannot be used. I called and was told the same by xantrex customer service.
Something about a floating ground in the inverter.
Does this sound plausible to the experts in the forum? thanks!
~sholom
In most, the neutral and the ground are tied together........un- like a house.
Inverters/charger's will make a GFCI trip wire like this............un-balance sensed.......
__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 09:05 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 589
Same issue with my fifth wheel. Trips gfi every time. Fine anytime else. Was told it won't work with gfi
__________________

__________________
gtsum2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.