Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-24-2018, 06:38 AM   #1

Need help deciding 24V or 12V battery bank

So, I'm running into an issue. I always overanalyze things...

The issue? 24V or 12V (or both?) battery bank.

I have an AM General M934 which is an Army 6x6 (Think deuce and a half, but WAYYYY bigger)

I have extensive experience with electrical and electronics in general.

My issue is.. I've always added additional battery capacity at the voltage of the host vehicle, as the host vehicle was set up to handle the equipment already installed (Mostly 12V systems).

I was originally planning a 12V battery bank, isolated from the vehicle electric system (24V), and recharged via solar... and very limited, if any, 120VAC devices.. 12V LED lighting, DC->DC for laptop instead of inefficient DC->AC->DC, etc.

I intend on eventually running close to 1kw in solar, as I live in an area with little sunlight in winter and want to maximize collection. I want the rig to be completely off grid, essentially. No backup generator, no gas (vehicle is diesel fueled), no shore power. I also know about energy conservation, ie doesn't make sense to run everything off 120VAC when so many devices use transformers and power regulators to bring them down to 12, 15, 19 or whatever lower DC voltage they operate at.