RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2019, 09:58 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: On the road Andrews, TX
Posts: 26
No post power, Gen is fine

Two days ago we had post power. Suddenly 120 V. just stopped in the coach. Coach power load was low (TV & fan). Generator works fine and powers the coach well. We are feeding 15 amp from the post to a power strip through extension cords. I would like to be able to post power. IOTA power controller shows good voltage, but no amp draw from the coach, no error codes. Any ideas why?
__________________

__________________
Peg, Tom and our dog Gus
2008 Tiffin 35 TSB
Boomers, Full time till she stops me.
MuonWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-27-2019, 10:27 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Jim_HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Full time RV'er
Posts: 2,426
You probably need to invest in a heavy duty extension cord from the power source to the RV. Eliminate the power strip...it's probably bad now.

When you use under sized power cords your voltage drops because of the losses caused by the too small wire. This lower voltage causes an increase in amperage of many devices like your A/C. It can also damage things like your power controller if it's unstable of drops too low.

Using a too small extension cord is BAD, very bad. Don't do it. And get an appropriate length cord too. Don't use a power strip to extend the length.
__________________

__________________
'02 Winnebago Journey DL, DSDP, 36' of fun.

Visit my RV Travel & Repair Blog at : http://chaos.goblinbox.com
Jim_HiTek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 10:50 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 18,610
Its true that lower voltage can cause an electric motor to draw higher amperage but not in the case of undersized wires.

The undersized wires add resistance, in series, to the circuit, dropping the voltage. That causes the amperage to be used up as heat. It never gets to the motor.

Still not good for motors to run at low voltage or low amps.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 11:01 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Foley AL
Posts: 7,124
Can the OP start over with the explanation? What I thought I read was that the RV was plugged into the pedestal (I assumed 30 amp) and power was lost and could not be restored. He than substituted an extension cord and power strip plugged into a 15 amp receptacle. Correct???


So ... I think the question is:
How do I restore 30 amp pedestal power?
__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 11:01 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,389
Do you have a transfer switch? If so and if there is pedestal power and nothing in the coach, you have a problem from the IOTA to the breaker panel.

Not familiar with an Iota, hopefully someone else will chime in.

Better extension cords aren't the solution!
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 11:13 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 4
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by MuonWho View Post
Two days ago we had post power. Suddenly 120 V. just stopped in the coach. Coach power load was low (TV & fan). Generator works fine and powers the coach well. We are feeding 15 amp from the post to a power strip through extension cords. I would like to be able to post power. IOTA power controller shows good voltage, but no amp draw from the coach, no error codes. Any ideas why?
My first guess would be you have a faulty transfer switch. This is an automatic switch that usually has a PC board in it . . . . enough said there. Power surge from shore power can blow that circuit board. If it turns out that the transfer switch is the issue, look into having a surge protector installed with the new switch.
MonacoFam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 11:37 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonacoFam View Post
My first guess would be you have a faulty transfer switch. This is an automatic switch that usually has a PC board in it . . . . enough said there. Power surge from shore power can blow that circuit board. If it turns out that the transfer switch is the issue, look into having a surge protector installed with the new switch.
I doubt the board is bad...if there is one. It is well enough to switch over to generator power and that is not the default position.
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 12:21 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: On the road Andrews, TX
Posts: 26
OP ?

Yes to the question of just wanting to restore shore power. 20 Amp extension, through window, only being used for phone, computer, and AC fan. No physical connection to RV system. I have cycled the main circuit breaker in unit several times. It seems fine. My unfounded guess was a transfer switch. My hope was that switching to gen power would wake it up.
__________________
Peg, Tom and our dog Gus
2008 Tiffin 35 TSB
Boomers, Full time till she stops me.
MuonWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 06:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: payson, az
Posts: 348
it's been two days!

what have you done to diagnose the problem? have you tripped and reset the pedestal circuit breaker? have you checked the voltage at the pedestal? have you checked the incoming voltage at the transfer switch? have you checked for loose / burnt / corroded connections at the transfer switch? several people have reported a loose / corroded / burnt connection at either end of the shore power cord or a complete failure of the cord. easy to verify with a meter. others have reported a loose / broken connection on the coach side of the incoming power connection.

we can throw out guesses and ideas but you have to do the legwork! it should be pretty easy to trace the power from the pedestal to the transfer switch and find where it stops. once you know that then more specific remedies can be offered.
bigchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 06:41 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceisla View Post
Can the OP start over with the explanation? What I thought I read was that the RV was plugged into the pedestal (I assumed 30 amp) and power was lost and could not be restored. He than substituted an extension cord and power strip plugged into a 15 amp receptacle. Correct???


So ... I think the question is:
How do I restore 30 amp pedestal power?
That's the way I got it.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 06:43 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigchick View Post
it's been two days!

what have you done to diagnose the problem? have you tripped and reset the pedestal circuit breaker? have you checked the voltage at the pedestal? have you checked the incoming voltage at the transfer switch? have you checked for loose / burnt / corroded connections at the transfer switch? several people have reported a loose / corroded / burnt connection at either end of the shore power cord or a complete failure of the cord. easy to verify with a meter. others have reported a loose / broken connection on the coach side of the incoming power connection.

we can throw out guesses and ideas but you have to do the legwork! it should be pretty easy to trace the power from the pedestal to the transfer switch and find where it stops. once you know that then more specific remedies can be offered.
Click image for larger version

Name:	What he said in that comment up there (1).jpg
Views:	7
Size:	17.1 KB
ID:	254924
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 06:46 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,389
Love that image....
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2019, 10:35 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: On the road Andrews, TX
Posts: 26
OP ?2

Power post always seems to be on regardless of the position of the breaker. My 30amp adapter has an indicator light and my IOTA power center is also showing good voltage on both L1 & L2. We are FT and traveling again today. Since we can live from the generator, we'll keep rolling. It will probably be Thursday till I can dig into it further. Not sure how soon I'll have internet next, so please add any other suggestions. Thanks
__________________
Peg, Tom and our dog Gus
2008 Tiffin 35 TSB
Boomers, Full time till she stops me.
MuonWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 03:45 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,389
Quote:
Originally Posted by MuonWho View Post
Power post always seems to be on regardless of the position of the breaker. My 30amp adapter has an indicator light and my IOTA power center is also showing good voltage on both L1 & L2. We are FT and traveling again today. Since we can live from the generator, we'll keep rolling. It will probably be Thursday till I can dig into it further. Not sure how soon I'll have internet next, so please add any other suggestions. Thanks
Love to help. Am having trouble with your description. Came in pretty much thinking it was the transfer switch...but

"Power post always seems to be on regardless of the position of the breaker"
You mean the power post breaker? How do you mean that it is on? Voltage measurement or light in the 30 amp adapter, which I assume you are using. If it is the 30 amp adapter and it stays on regardless of the breaker position on the pedestal...there is a problem there. Add a 20 amp adapter and plug into the 20 amp pedestal receptacle and see what happens.

"my IOTA power center is also showing good voltage on both L1 & L2." Is that measured to neutral or measured to ground, they are on different bus connections in your panel.

Since your generator works, your transfer switch is alive but there could be a problem with the shore power side, which gets the most use and is more prone to contact wear and coil issues since usually it is energized for days, in your case, maybe years!

When you get to your next destination if the problem persists, it is probably the switch. You can temporarily use the generator side of the switch for shore power while you wait to replace it. Since you probed the panel, you can probe the switch but I am concerned that you still are measuring L1 and L2 in your panel and nothing is functioning. You could have lost the neutral in the transfer switch (or the pedestal) and be making the measurements to ground and not neutral.

Good luck.
__________________

__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No AC getting to coach from 50 amp connection, but Gen works fine AU Monaco Owner's Forum 5 09-03-2015 08:57 PM
No coach power. All chassis items working fine. 2013 Discovery 42A eddiehop Fleetwood Owner's Forum 4 08-08-2015 05:30 AM
Generator runs fine, but no power inside dpumphrey RV Systems & Appliances 5 06-23-2015 01:19 PM
No power at Fridge outlet, breaker seems fine chefdc1 MH-General Discussions & Problems 17 02-22-2015 09:09 AM
Cummins 275 lost power, turned off then ran fine Gedwards1149 Cummins Engines 23 08-01-2014 09:32 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.