Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2017, 07:47 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
BeyondBoundariesRV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 103
No power to the RV from the 120 supply! Help...again

We are set up at an RV resort and all of a sudden our outlets go out after working for 5 days. The breakers aren't tripped and the connection from the park is still live. I'm not sure what to do. I checked my fuses and they look good, too.

1994 Fleetwood Flair 30'
__________________

BeyondBoundariesRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-14-2017, 08:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 32,068
Check the transfer switch. Mine went out and I had the same problem.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 08:01 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 975
Check your GFCI probably on an outlet in the bathroom. There may be more than one.
tfryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 08:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BeyondBoundariesRV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
Check the transfer switch. Mine went out and I had the same problem.
Transfer switch?
BeyondBoundariesRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 08:22 PM   #5
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6,365
Fuses do not supply the 110 volts. Circuit breakers do.

How do you switch from generator power to shoreline power? That is, do you have to toggle a manual switch, or for example plug the shoreline cord into an outlet in the power bay.

If you have to do a manual switch or move the plug then there is not a transfer switch.

Have you actually checked every outlet? If not, you may have lost a few only and they may be driven by a GFCI that is hard to find.

If you have actually lost all the outlets then your cord may have failed. Use your nose and smell the end of the cord. Follow the cord inside and use your nose.

With this cold weather were you using floor heaters? It is very easy to overload circuits.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 08:26 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
BeyondBoundariesRV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 103
There's an power converter that seems to be the culprit or the main cord. I don't smell any burnt smell.
BeyondBoundariesRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 08:57 PM   #7
Member
 
WA Larry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: NorthWet, Washington
Posts: 69
OP, do you have a generator? Does using the generator provide 120v power to your RV?

Knowing this can help with diagnosis.

Also, make sure to physically reset your 120v circuit breakers. Sometimes they look fine, but may have still tripped. Move each of them to off, then forcefully flip them back on again, one at a time.
WA Larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 09:28 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
BeyondBoundariesRV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by WA Larry View Post
OP, do you have a generator? Does using the generator provide 120v power to your RV?

Knowing this can help with diagnosis.

Also, make sure to physically reset your 120v circuit breakers. Sometimes they look fine, but may have still tripped. Move each of them to off, then forcefully flip them back on again, one at a time.
I did reset the breakers a couple of time. However, my generator hasn't worked since we bought it a month ago.
BeyondBoundariesRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 09:34 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
BeyondBoundariesRV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 103
I feel a charge along the frame of the RV.
BeyondBoundariesRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 09:53 PM   #10
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by PrinusFamily View Post
I feel a charge along the frame of the RV.
If you mean you are feeling a shock there is a big danger. Hopefully no moisture around.

If your cord neutral burned open your chassis could become hot, that is it could shock you.

If you have a voltmeter put one probe on the earth and on on the place on the rv you felt the charge.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 09:56 PM   #11
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by YC1 View Post
Fuses do not supply the 110 volts. Circuit breakers do.

How do you switch from generator power to shoreline power? That is, do you have to toggle a manual switch, or for example plug the shoreline cord into an outlet in the power bay.

If you have to do a manual switch or move the plug then there is not a transfer switch.

Have you actually checked every outlet? If not, you may have lost a few only and they may be driven by a GFCI that is hard to find.

If you have actually lost all the outlets then your cord may have failed. Use your nose and smell the end of the cord. Follow the cord inside and use your nose.

With this cold weather were you using floor heaters? It is very easy to overload circuits.
Please answer the questions if possible.

A converter only changes the AC shoreline into the 12 volts that is needed all about the rv.

If the converter is running your batteries will be staying charged. Do you have a test panel that you can check on those?
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 04:56 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
BeyondBoundariesRV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by YC1 View Post
If you mean you are feeling a shock there is a big danger. Hopefully no moisture around.

If your cord neutral burned open your chassis could become hot, that is it could shock you.

If you have a voltmeter put one probe on the earth and on on the place on the rv you felt the charge.
I will check for that. Thanks
BeyondBoundariesRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 07:27 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
FatChance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,192
Do you have a surge guard/EMS like a Progressive Industries unit that checks the 120v coming in from the park's circuit box?
__________________
'04 Newmar Mountain Aire 4016
400ISL/Freightliner
FatChance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 02:09 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
BeyondBoundariesRV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatChance View Post
Do you have a surge guard/EMS like a Progressive Industries unit that checks the 120v coming in from the park's circuit box?
No, that's on the list to get.
__________________

BeyondBoundariesRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEWB question. Should I unhook Jeep's power supply before plugging into shore power? scottandanna iRV2.com General Discussion 8 06-10-2016 10:02 PM
Norcold 662 power supply wiring please help Sargee RV Systems & Appliances 2 07-20-2013 08:12 PM
Help with Power supply time2b MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 04-17-2010 02:38 AM
No power to 120 volt outlet on slide..and the solution Chandler Damon 2 08-03-2007 01:19 PM
help with power supply dgren MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 04-08-2007 08:21 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.