Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-04-2015, 05:54 PM   #1

Onan 7.5 HDKAJ quiet run diesel generator DEAD

Hi All,
This is my first time posting on this site. I've searched the forums to see if anyone has had the same problem with there generator, but haven't found any information.
Here's What it is doing, Nothing! It started right up a couple of weeks with everything working as it should. It charged the batteries right up, ran great, just like it should. 2 days ago I went to crank it and nothing, not even the red light on the remote switch or the gen set itself. Now I'm scratching my head trying to figure out what happened.
We had just crossed over the top of the world highway, rough, dusty bumpy, maybe a loose connection. So I checked the electrical plugs and fuses under radiator cap, all good. 12 volts going through all the fuses.
Here's what all I've checked;
Checked voltage at positive and negative cable on back side of gen set.
Cleaned cable ends and lugs out side of gen set, not the inside as I can't get to those without pulling the sound shields off.
Pulled the front cover of gen set to get to wiring and voltage controller, everything seems to be tight.
Checked the start/stop switch, it changes voltage as I think it should as it energizes the fuel pump and glow plugs when its pressed.