Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2009, 09:04 AM   #1
Member
 
CarlaT's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 43
Problem with Intellitec Smart EMS

All,

I have a problem where my monitor for the SMART EMS sometimes works and sometimes does not. It will show that I am only using 5 AMPS when I have everything powered up including 2 A/C. I have tried pulling the fuse and it resets and may work initially but the AMPS displayed never changes. The breaker box says it is a model 900. Can anyone help?
__________________

__________________
Carla, hubby, 2 kids (1 College Bound) and the two doggies

2005 Fleetwood Southwind 32VS (W-22)
CarlaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-12-2009, 05:10 PM   #2
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 9,812
It sounds like you will need a new EMS board.
__________________

__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 350 ISC w/ Banks = 450Hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue & 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 toads
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 05:25 PM   #3
Member
 
CarlaT's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 43
RV Wizard,

Any checks I can do to isolate it?


Carla
__________________
Carla, hubby, 2 kids (1 College Bound) and the two doggies

2005 Fleetwood Southwind 32VS (W-22)
CarlaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 06:36 PM   #4
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 9,812
The only thing that you might try would be to replace the current transformer that the main feeder runs through but I have never seen one go bad.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 350 ISC w/ Banks = 450Hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue & 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 toads
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 09:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Capt Joe's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 204
I too have an Intellitec Energy Mgt System that does a strange thing. Only noticed it a couple of days ago when running (exercising) my generator and AC units.

The Amp draw meter would show 11 or 12 amps when running the front air but would not show above that when I started the rear air. I didn't have anything else running except the converter/charger. When I turned both of the AC's off, it was indicating 3A and when I then turned just the rear air on, it would still indicate only 3A, with no surge amp readind indicated, but if the front air is then turned on, it went up to 11-12 amps (after the higher surge for startup). The rear air does appear to be operating normally as I was getting about a 18 to 20 degree temp drop out of the registers in a 74 degree ambiant temp in the motorhome.

Any thoughts on this strange behavior?
__________________
Capt Joe

2004 Winnebago Brave 32v on W20 w/8.1L and Allison
Capt Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 08:15 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Florida Cooters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 12,377
Here's a link to the Tech Ref manual for the Model 900. Hope it helps.
http://www.flemingsalesoem.com/intel...0684.200-2.pdf
__________________
Gary Brinck
2004 American Tradition; 2007 GMC Acadia
Homebase in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 06:44 PM   #7
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 9,812
Your generator is not going through the EMS for the rear air cond.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 350 ISC w/ Banks = 450Hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue & 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 toads
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 09:53 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Capt Joe's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 204
Sounds logical Mike. I didn't try it on shore power as I was exercising the gennerator and ACs. I'll try it on shore power tomorrow and see if I don't get a reading.
Any reason why the rear air wouldn't be run through the EMS?
Thanks for the imput....
__________________
Capt Joe

2004 Winnebago Brave 32v on W20 w/8.1L and Allison
Capt Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 03:30 AM   #9
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 9,812
The generator is large enough and with two outputs, one can feed the rear air conditioner without the need for the EMS to shed power.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 350 ISC w/ Banks = 450Hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue & 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 toads
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 09:35 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
CoCoDave's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 707
My Intellitec (w/Trace Legend Series I inverter-charger) is also behaving strange. Being new to this, I am thinking that perhaps there is a sequence of events that should be followed when going from battery power to shore power to generator, etc. At the moment we are in an RV park and plugged into 50 amp service. The panel is all lit up except that the demand amps display shows nothing - not even "0".

The charger is functioning correctly in that it went from "Bulk" to "Absorption" to "Float" and has stayed there indicating 13 volts. The point being that it does not appear that we are using inverted power from the batteries while charging the batteries.

We have run the microwave, toaster oven, and hair dryer, none of which have caused the amp meter to display anything.

It has done similar things while plugged into 20 amp service at home. That said, when I turned the inverter on and off and the battery disconnect on and off, eventually it the Intellitec would straighten up and fly right.

Does it make a difference to the Intellitec if the inverter is on or off?

Thanks,
__________________
Dave & Cathy, 2002 Country Coach Affinity #6103, CAT C12, 2003 Cherokee Overland
CoCoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 03:58 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
tquarles's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 126
The EMS doesn't display current when in 50 amp mode. (as documented in the manual)
On my rig (2002 HR Endeavor) it does display current when on the generator
because that is only 220v 35amps, while at 220v 50 amps, a 50 amp service
can supply as much as the breakers can feed out to the individual circuits.
Mostly, I find it incredibly useful when on 110v 20amp circuits since I no longer blow breakers.
__________________
2002 HR Endeavor
tquarles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 07:16 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Florida Cooters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 12,377
It will never display amps while on 50A shore power. There is a technical reason for that - it's because it measures the current on the neutral rather than the hots and the neutral in a 50A/220v hook-up does not provide an accurate representation of the combined current.

It does display amps with most Onan Quiet Diesel generators because they do not produce 220v and so the data captured on the neutral is correct.
__________________
Gary Brinck
2004 American Tradition; 2007 GMC Acadia
Homebase in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 07:41 PM   #13
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 2,977
One of your questions is why no inverter when hooked to shore power......right?
If that is the questoin the reason is that most modern inverters have an auto transfer switch internal and bypasses the inverter when on shore power. So, if your inverter is on and then you hook to shore power it will stop inverting and those loads will now be feeding off shore power directly. It does not hurt anything to leave the inverter turned on as long as you understand that a shore power loss will automatically start the inverter feeding the loads until the batteries are depleted. That's the way mine works and I believe yours works the same.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 09:12 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
CoCoDave's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 707
Thanks, guys. Honest, I did read the manual early on but this was the first time I've been hooked up to 50 amp shore power. I was used to seeing the load amps displayed when hooked up to 20 amps at home. I did re-read the "How It Works" section and saw the part where the energy management services were disabled when connected to a 50 amp service but did not infer that the load display would be off. It clearly says so in the following section "Operation In Vehicles..." Sorry for crying wolf.

KIX - I would rather have the inverter off when connected to shore power if it does not matter.

Thanks again to all. Now if I can figure out why the refer works on propane but trips the GFI on AC power, I will have essentially all of the electrics up to speed.

Best,
__________________

__________________
Dave & Cathy, 2002 Country Coach Affinity #6103, CAT C12, 2003 Cherokee Overland
CoCoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EMS problem bandmbrown Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 7 10-07-2008 12:39 PM
EMS Acting strangely: Fakrwee Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 10-03-2008 08:23 AM
EMS Problem 07 Journey Old Snipe Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 06-21-2008 08:45 PM
A Rather Odd A/C Problem ( a bit long) gasbag MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 10-16-2007 10:10 AM
Brake problem caused by Florida atmosphere Stockwill Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 13 09-17-2006 06:07 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.