Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2016, 09:12 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4
Two different voltage sources, one switch to switch between my 12 volt and 110 volt

I want to know how to switch between my 12 volt and 110 volt circuits in my RV so I can leave both cords on my portable refrigerator plugged in and switch between sources.
__________________

__________________
wrq1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-06-2016, 09:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,935
If your fridge doesn't have a build-in mechanism to switch from 12v to 120v; then you want to have a manual process like "plug and unplug" to keep from inadvertently mixing the two voltages--if not, what am I missing with your question?
__________________

__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 09:36 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar


 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 12,942


A DPDT (Double Pole, Double Throw) switch could be rigged to switch from 12v DC input on one side, 120v AC on the other. This depends on the refrigerator being connected by just 2 wires that handle both AC and DC.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 09:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
dons2346's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,771
What brand refer do you have? I have a 12VDC/110AC powered cooler in my basement. All I did was connect up the 12 volt side to 12 volts and then plugged in the 110.

The switching between 12VDC and 110AC is done internally by the cooler. I suspect yours does the same thing
__________________
Don
2002 Country Coach Intrigue
dons2346 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 11:34 AM   #5
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 19,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFlinn181 View Post


A DPDT (Double Pole, Double Throw) switch could be rigged to switch from 12v DC input on one side, 120v AC on the other. This depends on the refrigerator being connected by just 2 wires that handle both AC and DC.
Bob, I'm not positive, but I think combining low voltage DC and 120 VAC on the same switch is against electrical codes!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 11:35 AM   #6
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 19,778
Hi ! Welcome to IRV2! We're sure glad you joined the gang!

Keep her between the ditches!

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 11:55 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4
Thanks for the information.
__________________
wrq1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 12:00 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar


 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 12,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSHappyCampers View Post
Bob, I'm not positive, but I think combining low voltage DC and 120 VAC on the same switch is against electrical codes!
Joe, you're probably correct. The OP didn't give enough details to really give proper advice. Most every dual power refrigerators I've seen have separate connections for 120v AC and 12v DC. The fridge internally chooses power source or a switch on the control panel. The other solution would be to only use the 12v connection, install a 12v power supply wired to 120v when shore power is available. A diode could be used to prevent the 12v power supply from becoming a charger for the battery if necessary.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 12:20 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFlinn181 View Post


A DPDT (Double Pole, Double Throw) switch could be rigged to switch from 12v DC input on one side, 120v AC on the other. This depends on the refrigerator being connected by just 2 wires that handle both AC and DC.
While that will accomplish what the OP asked for I would bet it would also create a magic smoke generator.

120 VAC and 12 VDC are handled differently in the unit. That would have me expecting two different sets of power wires. I expect they system also has a preferred mode that it switches to when both sources are connected.

If the OP posts what he has and what his concern is a better answer will probably be forthcoming.
__________________
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 01:14 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 5,927
Some portable refrigerators, with dual power cords, switch automatically to 120 volts, when it is present.

If yours does that, you can just leave both cords plugged in and it will switch to 120 volts, when it's avalable.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 01:40 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2,085
HEY 'wrq1103'

What is BRAND/MODEL of this portable refrigerator??

Help us help YOU
__________________
2007 Dodge 3500 w/Tractor Motor & NUWA 5vr
FT traveling Jan 2007 - Jan 2014
Still DEBT Free
Old-Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 09:47 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4
It is a Dometic 35CFX portable refrigerator. I need to be able to switch between my 12 volt and 110 volt sources, so I can switch Dorchester so both aren't hot at the same time since I have both cords plugged in all the time. Now I plug one in and unplug the other source. I'd rather switch than pill the plugs.
__________________
wrq1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 10:31 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar


 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 12,942
Reading the manual, I see no reason you have to switch plugs. You can leave 12v and 120v plugged into the refrigerator. It will select 120v over 12v when it is detected. From the manual, pg 34:

The coolers have an integrated multi-voltage power supply with
priority circuit for connecting to an AC voltage source of 100–240 V.
The priority circuit automatically switches the cooler to mains operation,
if the device is connected to a 100–240 V AC mains, even if
the 12/24 V connection cable is still attached.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2016, 09:01 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 4
I know it selects the correct source, but I want a switch between sources so only one source is hot.
__________________

__________________
wrq1103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12 volt, switch


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two gray and two black tanks? We have only one of each! Nxkharra Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 04-16-2015 10:00 PM
Two 6-volt vs. one 12-volt battery Ohsirr MH-General Discussions & Problems 24 10-18-2010 08:53 PM
One 12 volt & two 6 volt house batteries. NIFFIT Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 26 05-04-2010 10:25 AM
Help switching between Internet sources itdave Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 01-02-2009 03:05 PM
one thousand one, one thousand two...... jodann Just Conversation 9 05-31-2005 07:17 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.