RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > RV Systems & Appliances
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2013, 05:46 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Angry yamaha ef 3000ise

Hi just a heads up regarding the 3000ise inverter generator.Though mine was almost nine years old it but very low hours on it spiked ,killed my digital coffee pot and also the microwave in our fifth wheel, the spike or malfuction was so minor that the fuse on the micro wave did not blow.I am now sadled with a 1200 dollar repair bill if i want it to be usable. The power unit went and it also shorted out the stator which will have to be rewound. This is what happened to mine , now i am not saying they are all like that but if i repair this generator i will be installing a surge protector in my trailer. I also know there were more incidents like this with the same year and model whether that problem carried on to later years i do not know,my generator only had about 450 hours on it.
__________________

crewcab42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-09-2013, 05:14 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
94-Newmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,043
Well, I'm not sure how you've connected the genset to the house power, I don't know if your 5th wheel has 50 or 30 amp service, but I'll assume you've reduced it from either 50 or 30 from your shore line down to a standard 120vac 15amp connector and then plugged that into your Yamaha generator. Keep in mind that portable inverter type generators do not supply a proper Neutral to Ground bond (floating neutral) since they expect that to happen elsewhere downstream. If you're plugged into shore power this N-G bond happens at the service panel. Fuses will never protect against over-voltage, only amperage. It's entirely possible that in your scenario a voltage/surge surpressor may not have helped either.
__________________

__________________
94-Newmar Kountry Star 40-KSDP
Spartan/Cummins 8.3C-300HP/Allison 3060 WTEC-II/25yr RV Tech RVIA Certified/Onan-Cummins Certified
94-Newmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 07:02 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
yamaha generator

I am sorry that you misunderstood me,the generator was plugged into my fifth wheel trailer,went and started up generator to make my coffee and that when the problem occurred,i know of one other instance it happened and it blew the electronics on his kerosene heater which was digital. Now i am not saying this will happen with every yamaha generator,just a heads up to maybe install a surge protector in your rv, will research further.
crewcab42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 07:04 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
94-Newmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,043
...dont think I misunderstood you... did you use your shore cord to plug into the yamaha generator?
__________________
94-Newmar Kountry Star 40-KSDP
Spartan/Cummins 8.3C-300HP/Allison 3060 WTEC-II/25yr RV Tech RVIA Certified/Onan-Cummins Certified
94-Newmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 05:11 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
yamaha generator

Yes that is the only way to get power from generator to trailer,same as all rv'ers do i believe
crewcab42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 08:42 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by crewcab42 View Post
Yes that is the only way to get power from generator to trailer,same as all rv'ers do i believe
No, some can be hardwired in.
How were you hooked up to it? Directly to the 50A outlet, 30A outlet, or reduced down using the 15A outlet?
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 06:40 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
30 amp shore cord from generator using the 28 amp outlet plug on generator.After to more research it is recommended to use a surge protector as these inverter generator have what they call a floating ground same with Honda inverter generators.I am lucky that my digital tv was not plugged in.
__________________

crewcab42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×