Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Going Green
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-20-2016, 03:22 PM   #1

800 watt 48v solar w/225ah 48v bank question

Hello forum, My name is Phil. I've been an electrician for 36 years, and an IBEW member for 15. I'm not an expert on all things electrical, but I know my way around most of the math. I will be wiring the money for my 2014 37MD outlaw next Wednesday and picking it up on Thursday if all goes well. Then my wife, my eldest son and I will be hitting the road around December 15th or so. So that means I will have 4 months to get the RV ready for us to go. My first project with the RV is to convert the storage bay between the generator and the wet bay into my solar system. I have drawn up a rough schematic of how I would like to put it together, but since solar is a relatively new thing to me I would like to have you take a look at my design and see if you spot any design flaws that I may have overlooked. Plus I have a couple gray areas I would like to discuss if I may. I've done my due diligence on the net to research these items I have misgivings about, but I haven't found any definitive answers as yet. Okay first off if you notice my solar charger is of necessity also feeding into the input of my inverter and I was wondering if this setup would constantly keep the charger in a bulk charge state and if so how can I prevent that?