RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Going Green
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2019, 04:50 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Washington
Posts: 350
Inverter 120v side

I am working on getting my inverter installed. I thought I had a plan, then realized it might not make sense.

I have a Magnum MSH 3012 and I plan on putting it inline on one leg of my 50 amp service, as it has the ability to pass 60 amps. After a ton of reading and finding the attached diagram I thought I had it. Now that I am in the install process I am hung up a little.

In a normal RV there is a breaker at the pedestal, then it goes to a transfer switch then to the control panel where the next breaker is. In the attached diagram it shows a 50 amp breaker between the transfer switch and inverter. What would the purpose of this breaker be? Initially I thought it might so you can shut the power off, but if you disconnect the 12v side that will shut off the inverter. There is a 60 amp breaker built into the inverter already, so that is protected.

I am considering skipping the "extra" breaker as I have limited room to install this system.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf AMS+50A+Passthrough+SUPPORT+Panel+System.pdf (1.64 MB, 11 views)
__________________

__________________
2016 Chevy 3500 DRW, crew cab. 2016 Fuzion 325T
675ah AGM, MSH 3012 inverter, solar coming soon.
Nwcid is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-25-2019, 05:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 16,406
Disconnecting the 12 volts does not shut off the 120 volts TO the inverter.

Yes there is a breaker outside on the pedestal, but that will shut down everything. The suggested breaker only shuts down the one leg, not leaving you in the dark.

Don't know if its required, but IMHO, it will work without it.
__________________

twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 05:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 3,124
I used two 30 amp breakers in parallel to the inverter when I installed my MSH3012.
The other large breaker is used as a main.
Swapping a Trace Xantrex Inverter for a Magnum in a 2004 Monaco Signature

__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 05:56 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 16,112
I agree with twinboat. Going further, there is normally an inverter breaker panel, which would be that 2nd input breaker.(mine also has individual circuit breakers for each branch circuit that is dual-powered by the inverter)
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA IN 1SG retired;Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 09:33 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Washington
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
Disconnecting the 12 volts does not shut off the 120 volts TO the inverter.

Yes there is a breaker outside on the pedestal, but that will shut down everything. The suggested breaker only shuts down the one leg, not leaving you in the dark.

Don't know if its required, but IMHO, it will work without it.
I realize that without the breaker, 120v would still be present, but with other inviters I have had, if you disconnect the 12v the "system" shuts down. Do you know if that is true for unit?

If things were bad enough that I had to shut down one leg I would kill it at the pedestal, access the cable end and cap it.
__________________
2016 Chevy 3500 DRW, crew cab. 2016 Fuzion 325T
675ah AGM, MSH 3012 inverter, solar coming soon.
Nwcid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 09:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Washington
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by vito.a View Post
I used two 30 amp breakers in parallel to the inverter when I installed my MSH3012.
The other large breaker is used as a main.
Swapping a Trace Xantrex Inverter for a Magnum in a 2004 Monaco Signature


Nice set up, however my unit is dually 50 amp service. I am only trying to run one side of my system.
__________________
2016 Chevy 3500 DRW, crew cab. 2016 Fuzion 325T
675ah AGM, MSH 3012 inverter, solar coming soon.
Nwcid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 09:39 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Washington
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray,IN View Post
I agree with twinboat. Going further, there is normally an inverter breaker panel, which would be that 2nd input breaker.(mine also has individual circuit breakers for each branch circuit that is dual-powered by the inverter)
I am not sure what you mean by an inverter breaker panel or dual powered.

In more traditional systems from your main power box you will install a circuit that goes to your inverter. Then there is a inverter sub-panel that has circuit that you want to have powered by the inverter when there is not shore power.

In my RV everything I want to run from the inverter is already on a single leg. Instead of taking all of those circuits and putting them in a different panel, I am just leaving them in place and putting the inverter ahead of them. As you can see from the link, it is possible, you just have to isolate the neutral between L1 and L2.
__________________
2016 Chevy 3500 DRW, crew cab. 2016 Fuzion 325T
675ah AGM, MSH 3012 inverter, solar coming soon.
Nwcid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 10:16 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lake McClure, CA
Posts: 592
That breaker makes no sense to me, why would you ever want to shut off half of your shore power. I just bought the same inverter. Keep in mind when you pass thru the one shore power leg it is 50a and the inverter has 2 legs rated at 30a each. You will have to tie it to both (on the AC in and AC out) so you don't exceed the inverter transfer switch rating of 30a per leg.
__________________
2018 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan Chassis
2016 Jeep Cherokee, 1952 Willys CJ3A
10 fan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2019, 10:42 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 16,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nwcid View Post
I am not sure what you mean by an inverter breaker panel or dual powered.

In more traditional systems from your main power box you will install a circuit that goes to your inverter. Then there is a inverter sub-panel that has circuit that you want to have powered by the inverter when there is not shore power.

In my RV everything I want to run from the inverter is already on a single leg. Instead of taking all of those circuits and putting them in a different panel, I am just leaving them in place and putting the inverter ahead of them. As you can see from the link, it is possible, you just have to isolate the neutral between L1 and L2.
Thanks for the correct explanation of what I attempted to say.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA IN 1SG retired;Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 10:08 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Washington
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10 fan View Post
That breaker makes no sense to me, why would you ever want to shut off half of your shore power. I just bought the same inverter. Keep in mind when you pass thru the one shore power leg it is 50a and the inverter has 2 legs rated at 30a each. You will have to tie it to both (on the AC in and AC out) so you don't exceed the inverter transfer switch rating of 30a per leg.
The unit I have sitting in front of me only has a single hot/neu in and a single hot/neu out.


From the manual:
The full AC continuous pass-thru capacity of the MSH-M Series inverter/charger is limited to 60 amps. The AC input to the inverter requires a 60-amp continuous duty rated breaker, which corresponds to a minimum cable size of #6 AWG or 13.3 mm2. Page 22 of the manual also shows a single 60 amp connection. There I have not seen a mention of 30 amp anywhere in the manual.
__________________
2016 Chevy 3500 DRW, crew cab. 2016 Fuzion 325T
675ah AGM, MSH 3012 inverter, solar coming soon.
Nwcid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 06:58 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lake McClure, CA
Posts: 592
I just read the same thing. When I spoke with tech support they said it had 2 30a rated relays to pass thru shore power. They even said my drawing was correct when I showed each inverter using both 30a inputs to split the 50a shore power as to not exceed the inverters transfer relays rating.
__________________
2018 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan Chassis
2016 Jeep Cherokee, 1952 Willys CJ3A
10 fan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 07:13 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Washington
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10 fan View Post
I just read the same thing. When I spoke with tech support they said it had 2 30a rated relays to pass thru shore power. They even said my drawing was correct when I showed each inverter using both 30a inputs to split the 50a shore power as to not exceed the inverters transfer relays rating.
How do you use 2 30 amp inputs when the inverter only has a single input/output? The first image is what I have.

Again, the unit I have sitting in front of me only has a single hot/neu in and a single hot/neu out. Now the 2812 has hot/neu 1 and 2 in and hot/neu 1 and 2 out. They are only rated for 30 amps each. This is the second image.

One of the many reasons I chose the MSH 3012 is that it has a single 60 amp circuit and I could wire it directly inline.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MSH4024MinsidePanel-600x600.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	46.2 KB
ID:	239578   Click image for larger version

Name:	31-0.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	19.9 KB
ID:	239579  

__________________
2016 Chevy 3500 DRW, crew cab. 2016 Fuzion 325T
675ah AGM, MSH 3012 inverter, solar coming soon.
Nwcid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 08:16 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lake McClure, CA
Posts: 592
That must be where she made the mistake and told me both units have 30a relays. That will make it easier on the 3012 but still have to parallel the 30a on the 2812. I'm using my original 2812 for L1 and the new 3012 on L2 to invert the hole panel. Just have to isolate the neutrals.
__________________
2018 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan Chassis
2016 Jeep Cherokee, 1952 Willys CJ3A
10 fan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 08:26 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lake McClure, CA
Posts: 592
I haven't seen the 3012 yet. It was shipped to my house and won't be home for another week or two. I'm taking a week off to start with the raised rack, panels, charge controllers and what ever else I can get done.
__________________

__________________
2018 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan Chassis
2016 Jeep Cherokee, 1952 Willys CJ3A
10 fan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No power on the 120v side Bobbo57 RV Systems & Appliances 7 12-30-2015 07:03 PM
Do ALL 120v outlets operate while on the inverter only? Robert L Entegra Owner's Forum 9 01-18-2013 07:22 PM
Five electrical outlets- inverter/120v shore stopped working-HELP rbguinn Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 19 12-27-2012 05:58 AM
Heart inverter issue, fluctuating 120v output any ideas? daveshan RV Systems & Appliances 15 11-21-2011 10:44 AM
120V refrigerator with a power inverter?- Can be done? Quest RV Systems & Appliances 25 04-15-2011 12:23 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.