Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Going Green
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 02-12-2018, 06:45 PM   #1
R.B

Outdoors RV Owners Club
Sanity check on solar system sizing

I'm hoping to get a sanity check on the solar system I'm looking to put in, specifically when it comes to the sizing to allow for future capacity expansion. I'd like to avoid needing to upgrade equipment by buying for the immediate capacity goals. I've never done this before, so everything I'm basing this on is my understanding of what I have read.

I'm planning on six 180W panels in series-parallel groups of two for a total of 1080W (eventually). The panels are rated at 19.25 Vmpp/9.35A Impp. I'm opting to go series-parallel for convenience: the prewiring for solar is 8AWG. If my math is correct, at this voltage and amperage I should be able to manage somewhere between 2-3% loss at the length I think the prewiring is without exceeding the ampacity of 8 AWG wiring. It would be fairly difficult to upgrade that wiring if I had to.