Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV SYSTEMS AND TECHNOLOGIES FORUMS > Going Green
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-01-2014, 07:22 AM   #1

Monaco Owners Club
TriStar MPPT and other questions?

First off let me say that I am a newbie to solar. Just finished installing my system, a TriStar MPPT 45 and three 160 watt panels from AM Solar.

1. Has anyone installed these panels securing them only by the 3M tape that comes on the AM Solar mounting brackets? We have a smooth fiberglass roof and cleaned each contact area with OPPS before applying the brackets. They seem secure even when I pull up on the panels. Can't help but worry a little if they will hold up over time. Looking for feed back from anyone who has secured the panels using only the 3M tape. I can always added the screws but hate to drill unnecessary holes in the roof.

2. The TriStar MPPT charge controller always seems to stay in MPPT mode and does not raise the battery voltage high enough to charge the batteries. I have seen the display as high as 200 watts but all the power seems to be going to the motorhome load and the voltage on the battery stays well below 13 volts. I just looked and the voltage was 12.4 volts. Yesterday I let the coach get down to 65 % SOC (we have the Magnum BMK) and the voltage from the TriStar never went high enough to charge the batteries. The solar panels are reading 17 volts. Do I need to connect them in series to increase the voltage to the TriStar so the batteries will charge?

Thanks,

Bob