Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2015, 08:34 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
mojoracing's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: northern IL
Posts: 2,557
Now here is the inverter witch has a circuit breaker on the side of it and the cutoff switch which you can see how they label it
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1442928797569.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	68.0 KB
ID:	107612   Click image for larger version

Name:	1442928837715.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	83.0 KB
ID:	107613  

__________________

__________________
2014 Fleetwood Bounder 35k
mojoracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-22-2015, 10:25 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
426smartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Campbellsville Ky
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Okiedoke View Post
I added a 20A circuit in the bedroom that connects directly to the 20A shore outlet. A dedicated surface mount recepticle is installed in the bedroom wired to a heavy duty outdoor extension cord that stays coiled in the electric bay. I plug it in to shore power when using an electric heater.
That is what i have in mine---just make sure you use a 20 amp recepticle and # 10 outdoor extension cord as above.
__________________

__________________
2004 Newmar Dutch Star 4010
2003 sunflyer Itasca w22 8.1 (Sold)
426smartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 02:00 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: S. FL
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by mojoracing View Post
Ok. I don't mean to hijack the thread but for complete newbies to ac electrical, an explanation of this pic of my breaker box might help all of us.
You don't have another sub panel with the loads fed by the inverter?
__________________
1984-2014, 1984 21' Hi-Lo Fun Chaser, 1972 C-20
2001-2013, 1995 34' Airstream Excella, 2001 F250
2013- Now, 2006 Itasca Meridian 36G, Jeep GC
ronnie_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 02:12 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: S. FL
Posts: 91
Photos of my main & 30 A sub, 30 A sub is the output of my inverter
Attached Images
   
__________________
1984-2014, 1984 21' Hi-Lo Fun Chaser, 1972 C-20
2001-2013, 1995 34' Airstream Excella, 2001 F250
2013- Now, 2006 Itasca Meridian 36G, Jeep GC
ronnie_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 02:15 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Keeseville ny
Posts: 361
why can't you shut off the inverter and just use the 50 amp service?aM I confused or didn't you show a disconnect switch.
__________________
cwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 02:38 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: S. FL
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwit View Post
why can't you shut off the inverter and just use the 50 amp service?aM I confused or didn't you show a disconnect switch.
Who are you asking?
For me (I started the thread) the restriction to 30 A is caused by 3 30 A breakers.
My main CB panel has a 30 A breaker that feeds my inverter.
The output of the inverter runs through another 30 A breaker on the inverter.
Then the output of the inverter feeds my sub panel.
The input to the sub panel has yet another 30 A breaker.

The sub panel has all my AC outlets on it plus the microwave.
it has five 15 A breakers. BUT the total load available for the sub panel is limited to 30 A. The 30 A limit is caused by any one of 2 breakers in the feed to the sub panel plus the 30 A breaker in the sub.
__________________
1984-2014, 1984 21' Hi-Lo Fun Chaser, 1972 C-20
2001-2013, 1995 34' Airstream Excella, 2001 F250
2013- Now, 2006 Itasca Meridian 36G, Jeep GC
ronnie_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 02:56 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Statgeek's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,578
I think this is one of those situations where if all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.

What you need is heat, not electricity.

I'd buy one of these http://www.amazon.com/Marshall-Gas-C.../dp/B002UC4T6C and pick up a spare 20# or 30# LP cylinder and run your gas furnace more.

Many camp grounds sell LP on site, so it could be very easy to fill up a portable LP tank. I've even stayed at one campground a few Thanksgivings ago where the local LP guy had a truck with a mobile filling station and he filled my RV up (along with a whole bunch of others) on Thanksgiving day. He earned a big tip from me that day.
__________________
2013 Fleetwood Discovery 40G, Cummins ISL,Freightliner Chassis, Allison 3000.
2009 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Toad w/ Blue Ox Aventa tow bar and M&G Braking System
Statgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 05:15 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Keeseville ny
Posts: 361
Didn't you say you had 50 amp coming in from the pole? If so and you cannot shut it off I would unhook it from the sub panel and feed the sub panel from the main with a 30 amp breaker. Am I wrong in my way of thinking? It looks easy with both panels side by side.
__________________
cwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 08:03 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: S. FL
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Statgeek View Post
What you need is heat, not electricity.

I'd buy one of these Amazon.com: Marshall Gas Controls 536-00 Extend-A-Stay Standard Tap Kit: Automotive and pick up a spare 20# or 30# LP cylinder and run your gas furnace more.

Many camp grounds sell LP on site, so it could be very easy to fill up a portable LP tank. I've even stayed at one campground a few Thanksgivings ago where the local LP guy had a truck with a mobile filling station and he filled my RV up (along with a whole bunch of others) on Thanksgiving day. He earned a big tip from me that day.
We were NNE of Denver, LP not sold on site, no company would fill a RV on site. I did buy a adapter kit (think I paid a lot less?) and a 30# bottle with a 20# as a backup. Have to use LP heat to supplement the electric to keep air moving in all the places that might freeze. Used electricity to reduce the LP demand. Traveling with birds so needed to keep the place warm.

The main point of the post was that as delivered my unit restricts creature comfort (plug in) appliances to 30 A. That is easily exceeded with coffee maker, microwave, and electric fry pan. We were tripping the breaker with 2 heaters on low and coffee maker then the microwave put us over the limit.
__________________
1984-2014, 1984 21' Hi-Lo Fun Chaser, 1972 C-20
2001-2013, 1995 34' Airstream Excella, 2001 F250
2013- Now, 2006 Itasca Meridian 36G, Jeep GC
ronnie_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 07:52 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
mojoracing's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: northern IL
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronnie_g View Post
You don't have another sub panel with the loads fed by the inverter?
no, no other sub panel that I know of. The inverter feeds the tv and entertainment outlets and two others. One is up by the passenger seat and the other is in the bedroom.
__________________
2014 Fleetwood Bounder 35k
mojoracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 12:02 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: S. FL
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by mojoracing View Post
no, no other sub panel that I know of. The inverter feeds the tv and entertainment outlets and two others. One is up by the passenger seat and the other is in the bedroom.
That doesn't sound correct to me?
IMO something has to protect the wiring on the output side of the inverter.
Unless your inverter can only put out 15 A AC?
Are all of your outlets on the inverter, or only some?

My inverter is suppose to be able to put out 30 A.
All of the loads on the inverter come off of 15 A breakers, and I assume are #14 wire. Should on of the loads become shorted the 15 A breaker will trip.

If you have a +- 30 A inverter output, and your loads are not on separate 15 or 20 A breakers then any short would depend on the 30 A inverter limit to protect the interior wiring. That would increase the chance that your #14 wire might over heat / melt start a fire.

UNLESS your inverter is like the one that I was sent a link to.
Has the ability to pass through +- 50/60 A loads.
That way your inverter could be installed on the source side of your AC panel? If that is the case then you can draw the max on all your breakers up to the 50 A main limit w/o any of the restrictions I have been talking about.
__________________
1984-2014, 1984 21' Hi-Lo Fun Chaser, 1972 C-20
2001-2013, 1995 34' Airstream Excella, 2001 F250
2013- Now, 2006 Itasca Meridian 36G, Jeep GC
ronnie_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 03:47 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwit View Post
why can't you shut off the inverter and just use the 50 amp service?aM I confused or didn't you show a disconnect switch.
The inverter itslf is not the problem.> here is how his rig is wired

50 amp service to: Distribution panel.. 30 amp branch breaker
TO.. Inverter.. 15 amp sub panel breakers TO outlet chains

He's plugged into those outlet chains.. Now inverters come in two types.

On mine I can indeed put the inverter in STANDBY, (Effectively turning it off) but that won't change the fact that the incoming power to the inverter is 30 amp. and if I plug in more than 30 amps it's going to trip

IF I turn my inverter OFF: then no power passes through it so the breaker does not trip, but the heaters still won't work (or the Microwave or the televisions or this computer)

He needs to install outlets that DO NOT pass through the inverter.. As I did.

Someone mentioned a dedicated 20 amp line from outside to one outlet inside....Yup, I did that too,, So I can run multiple heaters even if on a 30 amp site.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 07:24 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: S. FL
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
He needs to install outlets that DO NOT pass through the inverter.. As I did.
Thanks for simplifying it, that's exactly the problem.
Which is not a problem, if I don't need over 30 A of service on the outlets.

Do you know if the Neutral is hard wired through the inverter?
Or Isolated?

One of my thoughts was to install A/B switches to switch only the Hot load wire that way I could go back to the inverter w/o much effort.
__________________
1984-2014, 1984 21' Hi-Lo Fun Chaser, 1972 C-20
2001-2013, 1995 34' Airstream Excella, 2001 F250
2013- Now, 2006 Itasca Meridian 36G, Jeep GC
ronnie_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 11:27 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
mojoracing's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: northern IL
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronnie_g View Post
That doesn't sound correct to me?
IMO something has to protect the wiring on the output side of the inverter.
Unless your inverter can only put out 15 A AC?
Are all of your outlets on the inverter, or only some?

My inverter is suppose to be able to put out 30 A.
All of the loads on the inverter come off of 15 A breakers, and I assume are #14 wire. Should on of the loads become shorted the 15 A breaker will trip.

If you have a +- 30 A inverter output, and your loads are not on separate 15 or 20 A breakers then any short would depend on the 30 A inverter limit to protect the interior wiring. That would increase the chance that your #14 wire might over heat / melt start a fire.

UNLESS your inverter is like the one that I was sent a link to.
Has the ability to pass through +- 50/60 A loads.
That way your inverter could be installed on the source side of your AC panel? If that is the case then you can draw the max on all your breakers up to the 50 A main limit w/o any of the restrictions I have been talking about.
Only two outlets run off the inverter plus the tv's and dvd and satellite. The inverter is a magnum and has a circuit breaker built into it.
__________________

__________________
2014 Fleetwood Bounder 35k
mojoracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
service



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freightliner Oasis service center comes up dry PDXDisco Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 25 06-06-2015 11:49 AM
My own addition to service horror stories. Lobstah iRV2.com General Discussion 5 05-23-2015 11:43 AM
Good Sam Roadside Horror Service david1027 MH-General Discussions & Problems 47 09-14-2014 09:37 AM
RV Service in Texas... and more Statgeek iRV2.com General Discussion 15 08-20-2014 05:35 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.