Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2016, 09:15 PM   #1
Jerry Dixon
 
RV Vagabond's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Fulltime Traveler
Posts: 437
30 amp plus 20 amp

If you have a 50 amp coach but an RV park has power posts with only 30 amp and 20 amp outlets, can you run a regular extension cord from the 20 amp outlet through your kitchen window and use that for appliances, so you are actually getting up to 50 amps of power
__________________

__________________

2017 Itasca Solei 36G
"The 5 Shades of Gray"
Suzuki Burgman scooter on the rack
RV Vagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-18-2016, 10:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3,914
Yes you can run an extension cord and augment your coach power. You'll still be limited to 30 amp for whatever is going through your coaches power distribution system.

The PO of my coach actually put a standard outlet that the rear AC unit is plugged into. I can take an extension cord and plug my rear AC unit in and bypass the coach system, effectively giving me the 50 amp service.
__________________

__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2016, 10:09 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 2,760
Yes, as long as you realize it's not the same as a 50A plug and you only have 1/2 as much power available.
__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2014 F150 4x4 Crew Cab Platinum 157" WB
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 07:52 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 902
One more thing, if the 20 amp breaker is wired in after the 30 amp one, you will still be limited to 30 amps. Most are not wired that way, but it is possible.
__________________
lynnmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 08:13 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
TexasTom's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: DFW
Posts: 710
Power Maximizerâ„¢ - Camco
__________________
2005 Newmar Kountry Star 3742
TexasTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 09:13 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Hooligan's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 2,018
Connecting to both breakers as you intend, could supply 50 amps total. Besides the Maximiser above, there is also a "cheater" box that does the same thing....

A true 50 amp circuit provides 2 legs, each 120 volt 50 amps for a total of 100 amps.

Good article on RV wiring here: RV Wiring
__________________
Hooligan, Pensacola, Fl -U.S. Coast Guard 1956-1985
2016 Thor Siesta Sprinter 24ST diesel
Our Pug "Lily" & "George" the Newfoundland
Hooligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2016, 03:37 PM   #7
Happy Traveler : )
 
MisterT's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Shooting Creek, NC... for now
Posts: 1,557
Arrow

yes, we do it quite often when in a situation where only a 30a shore power is available, and we might need 'more' amps, especially for air conditioners - I use the camco 30/20 adapter...

...some site boxes come with both 30a and a residential 20a outlet, which is perfect for this adapter, BUT, the 20a CANNOT be a GFCI outlet or else this adapter will not work.
In that case, though, you can still run an extension cord to ANOTHER 20a outlet that you may find, which will allow you to still use this adapter, giving your coach a total of 50a of maximum power.
As someone else said, this is not exactly the 'same' 50a that you might normally think of since it is limited to 50a, not 100a as normal '50a' shore power is.

(don't tell anyone, but I've even used another duel30a adapter, along with this 30/20a adapter, to pull from two different 30a sites for a total of 80 amps! shhhhh!)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	30+20=50.png
Views:	119
Size:	685.6 KB
ID:	139368  
__________________
The Turners 2014 Thor Palazzo DP 33.3 35' Bunkhouse
BlueOx, '14 Ford Fiesta, DishHD, KingTailgater2, WifiRanger
50k+miles, 200+ parks, 47 states&Canada provinces, since Aug'14
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2016, 11:50 PM   #8
Jerry Dixon
 
RV Vagabond's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Fulltime Traveler
Posts: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterT View Post
yes, we do it quite often when in a situation where only a 30a shore power is available, and we might need 'more' amps, especially for air conditioners - I use the camco 30/20 adapter...

...some site boxes come with both 30a and a residential 20a outlet, which is perfect for this adapter, BUT, the 20a CANNOT be a GFCI outlet or else this adapter will not work.
In that case, though, you can still run an extension cord to ANOTHER 20a outlet that you may find, which will allow you to still use this adapter, giving your coach a total of 50a of maximum power.
As someone else said, this is not exactly the 'same' 50a that you might normally think of since it is limited to 50a, not 100a as normal '50a' shore power is.

(don't tell anyone, but I've even used another duel30a adapter, along with this 30/20a adapter, to pull from two different 30a sites for a total of 80 amps! shhhhh!)
That's definately the best solution - just ordered one from Amazon.
__________________

2017 Itasca Solei 36G
"The 5 Shades of Gray"
Suzuki Burgman scooter on the rack
RV Vagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 06:09 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hooligan View Post
Connecting to both breakers as you intend, could supply 50 amps total. Besides the Maximiser above, there is also a "cheater" box that does the same thing....

A true 50 amp circuit provides 2 legs, each 120 volt 50 amps for a total of 100 amps.

Good article on RV wiring here: RV Wiring
Wrong on the 100 amps. 50 amps are 30-20 total of 50.
__________________
12rvrepair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 06:21 AM   #10
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12rvrepair View Post
Wrong on the 100 amps. 50 amps are 30-20 total of 50.

No. He is right on the 100 amps. They "call it 50 amp service because that is what the breakers are labeled ....however they are actually 2 breakers in one, each switching 50 amps, for a total of 100. There are two hot leads - each 180 degrees out of phase in a "50 amp" RV pedestal.
__________________
pasdad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 06:43 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by pasdad1 View Post
No. He is right on the 100 amps. They "call it 50 amp service because that is what the breakers are labeled ....however they are actually 2 breakers in one, each switching 50 amps, for a total of 100. There are two hot leads - each 180 degrees out of phase in a "50 amp" RV pedestal.
Yes, he is right. It is 50 amps at 240 volts or 100 amps at 120 volts.

However, the adapter shown above is only 50 amps.
__________________
jchristian11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 06:45 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 262
And the adapter will not work if the 20 amp outlet is GFI.
__________________
mrboyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 06:56 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by RV Vagabond View Post
That's definately the best solution - just ordered one from Amazon.
There's an even better cheater that has a 30A plug on each end. You can always use a 30A/15A adapter on one of the lines, but if you do have two site pedestals available you can use both 30A plugs.
__________________
Sandie & Joel (RVParkReviews admin)
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
Follow us at http://www.facebook.com/WeissTravels.net
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 07:13 PM   #14
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by RV Vagabond View Post
That's definately the best solution - just ordered one from Amazon.
RV Vagabond
Be aware that those "split cord adapter gadgets" will not work if one of the receptacles used is a 20A GFCI receptacle, (which are common in campgrounds)....OR if you try to use them with 30A GFCI protected receptacle, (which are not common but can sometimes be found in camp sites).
__________________

__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 amp plus 20 amp to make 50 amp Adapter? okmunky RV Systems & Appliances 14 05-15-2016 07:58 PM
New detailed fl chassis information "007" Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 10 07-25-2013 04:15 PM
Safe T Plus Trim Kit Voids Safe T Plus Wty??? RickO Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 12-11-2010 02:08 PM
Progressive Ind. Elec Mgmt vs Surge Guard power plus 50 amp dill Class A Motorhome Discussions 36 12-08-2010 02:22 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.