Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2015, 08:59 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 12
Blog Entries: 1
30 to 20 amp

need to connect my 30 amp RV to an electrical outlet outside the house....this outside outlet is a 20 amp....however, I can't seem to find a 30 amp female to 20 amp male adaptor on any RV sales sites...is this not a viable option?
__________________

__________________
sunset444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-31-2015, 09:07 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Rockwood27's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Freedom, NH
Posts: 949
Try Walmart. They usually have them in stock. BTW, an outside outlet may be on a GFCI circuit, which could be tripped when an RV is plugged into it.
__________________

__________________
Fran, Mary & Zoey (silver Cocker)
2006 Itasca Sunrise 35A, 2005 W-22, Allison 1000 5 speed
'13 Ford Focus ST or '10 Prius on Master Tow Dolly 80THD-SB or '00 Jeep Cherokee 4-down
Rockwood27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 09:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Bumps's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: FTer Class of 2015 Origin: Evergreen, Colorado
Posts: 1,536
Here ya go. \ken

http://www.amazon.com/Camco-55165-Po...C0R6PYWR0B00RS
__________________
Ken & Deb (WIT Club, FMCA, SKP, Harvest Hosts, and grateful volunteers with SOWERs)
2005 Winnebago Vectra 40FD w/400ISL and Allison 3000MH on Freightliner's Evolution chassis, Onan QD7500, 1000w Renogy solar, BlueOx tow gear, and 2015 Cherokee TrailHawk toad.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Bumps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 09:10 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Trek5's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockwood27 View Post
Try Walmart. They usually have them in stock.
X2!! Got mine at the local Walmart
__________________
2013 Thor ACE 29.2 2016 Thor Outlaw 37LS/Blue Ox Tru Center, Baseplate, Alpha towbar, Patriot brake, 2016 Jeep Wrangler following along!!
Trek5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 09:10 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 12
Blog Entries: 1
but I'm just seeing 30/15 adapters ...no 30/20
__________________
sunset444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 09:13 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 12
Blog Entries: 1
yes the outside does have a GFCI circuit...it trips every time I use my 30/15 adapter...I assumed a 30/20 would be better?
__________________
sunset444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 09:17 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
davendeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 700
Like this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1438395434816.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	60.3 KB
ID:	101717  
__________________
2008 Tundra DC, 5.7L, Airlift 5000 Airbags
2013 Rockwood 8282WS
Signature Untralight Diamond Package
davendeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 09:18 PM   #8
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunset444 View Post
yes the outside does have a GFCI circuit...it trips every time I use my 30/15 adapter...I assumed a 30/20 would be better?
It's tripping because it's a GFCI. If you're near your garage the ceiling plug where the door opener is plugged in is usually not a GFCI.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 09:22 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,925
Nope--only 30 to 15 amp not the 20 amp plug--most motor homes wont work on a GFCI residential circuit......
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 09:22 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 12
Blog Entries: 1
we had an electrician install the 20 amp outside so we could possibly run our RV ...at least the AC...but it trips it...even the fridge running by itself trips the circuit....p.s. we have no garage
__________________
sunset444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 09:27 PM   #11
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunset444 View Post
we had an electrician install the 20 amp outside so we could possibly run our RV ...at least the AC...but it trips it...even the fridge running by itself trips the circuit....p.s. we have no garage
I am pretty sure that all outdoor receptacles require a GFCI per electrical code. Years ago we didn't have GFCIs.
You'll have to find a receptacle that's not outdoors or lose the GFCI.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 09:27 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 12
Blog Entries: 1
we have another outlet outside that is not a GFCI but is only a 15 amp....it could possibly run on that for awhile if I am understanding correctly
__________________
sunset444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 09:32 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Rockwood27's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Freedom, NH
Posts: 949
I've never seen a 30 to 20 adapter only a 30 to 15 amp. The one pictured above is a 30 to 15 amp adapter. A true 20 amp, 120 volt plug has a vertical hot and a horizontal neutral spade. 15 amp plugs have both spades vertical.
__________________
Fran, Mary & Zoey (silver Cocker)
2006 Itasca Sunrise 35A, 2005 W-22, Allison 1000 5 speed
'13 Ford Focus ST or '10 Prius on Master Tow Dolly 80THD-SB or '00 Jeep Cherokee 4-down
Rockwood27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 09:33 PM   #14
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunset444 View Post
we have another outlet outside that is not a GFCI but is only a 15 amp....it could possibly run on that for awhile if I am understanding correctly
Possibly. Kinda depends on how much your rig draws in amps. Continuous duty is typically only 80% of rating. so .80 x 15 = 12 amps continuous. That will be marginal at best to run one A/C.
__________________

__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using 50 amp service for 30 amp MH 2014-319DSF Class C Motorhome Discussions 5 01-03-2015 09:05 AM
50 amp coach to 30 amp extension to 50 amp house? abarkl RV Systems & Appliances 10 01-02-2015 09:55 PM
30 amp configuration on 50 amp circuit panel TexasTwoStep RV Systems & Appliances 9 12-24-2014 09:03 AM
30 Amp But No 50 Amp Shore Power fixn2gocamp RV Systems & Appliances 27 10-03-2014 05:48 AM
50 amp to 30 amp on surge protector ? TinCanTee iRV2.com General Discussion 6 06-29-2014 05:38 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.