Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2007, 04:24 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Maxie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
We are planning to visit a campground which only has 30 amp connections. It is in the mountains, and we'll probably not need air conditioning. Will the 30 amp connection be adaquate to run all other electrical features, including washer/dryer, two fantastic vent fans, as well as a convection oven? Thanks for any feedback. Maxie
__________________

__________________
Maxie is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-22-2007, 04:24 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Maxie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 14
We are planning to visit a campground which only has 30 amp connections. It is in the mountains, and we'll probably not need air conditioning. Will the 30 amp connection be adaquate to run all other electrical features, including washer/dryer, two fantastic vent fans, as well as a convection oven? Thanks for any feedback. Maxie
__________________

__________________
Maxie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 04:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Every Miles A Memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 143
I'm not sure what size coach you have, but a 30amp connection will run everything in our 25' camper including the Microwave and the A/C at the same time.

If you have one of those monstrous coaches, than maybe just shut off a few of the bigger things.

Your largest power users are the A/C, the Microwave, and the Coffee Pot, or Blow Dryer. As long as you're not running any two of those at the same time, you should be fine

Pat
__________________
www.everymilesamemory.com

Every Miles A Memory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 05:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pollock Pines, CA
Posts: 45
I have a 37ft Adventurer and as long as I am not running the basement air I haven't had any problems at all running all the other appliances.
__________________
2006 Adventurer 37B

Workhorse W-24
Rock-Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 05:48 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Rocky Larson's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 604
IMHO, I would consider switching the refer and hot water to gas only. Their electric heater elements will come on as they are needed and perhaps at inconvienent times with other things running. As the Fantastic fans and furnace fans run off of the 12 volt system you could also be sure your converter/charger is off during high 120 volt usage. Just be sure to turn it back on to keep the batteries charged. In anycase these precautions are only if you are pushing the 30amp limit and need to take something offline. Don't forget your 50female/30male adapter, and to check the voltage and polarity of the campground before plugging in.
Have fun and good luck
__________________
04 Allegro 30DA, WH 8.1, Banks, 03 Honda CRV/2012 Jeep Liberty Jet, Brake Buddy Adv Select, 300watts Solar, 7 Group 31 Optima AGMs, 2000watt PSW inverter
"Philippians 4:11-13 KJV"
Rocky Larson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 06:50 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Workshop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,334
Maxie, welcome to iRV2 and the Excel Owners forum. You should be fine on 30 amps this time of year. Most of the parks we have been staying at have 30amps and haven't had any problems with A/C and major items on 120v. Of course, I still do my laundry the old fashion way. As stated, if you find yourself short on amps, switch the frig and WH to gas. Your converter should be a Progressive and will be just fine left connected. Your furnace, lights and fans are 12v. Enjoy your trip.
__________________
2000 Alpenlite, 29 ft Valhalla - 2014 F350
Workshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 08:20 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
Maxie...
I would like to first congratulate you on your new 2008 - 36' Excel! I am sure it is more than comfortable!

Second of all.. welcome to the best darned RV forum on the web! You will find almost everyone here at iRV2 (and the Excel forum) quite knowledgable and friendly...plus very willing to help when they can!

You should do fine if you take the advice of the first 4 posts. The item mentioned in the 5th post doesn't always work in all campgrounds - and if I recall, a member from the forum I belong to had some real issues with that item...

Again...congratulations on your new rig..and welcome to iRV2 and the Excel forum!

Please feel free to post as many questions or tips that you may have..and visit here often!
__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 08:33 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 240
Keep in mind that the '50 amp' connection is really 100 amps (2 50 amp circuits of opposite phase). Since the cord shares the return line, the one phase cancels out the opposite phase, which keeps the max current in the return wire to 50 amps (when 100 amps is flowing through the 2 'hot' wires, the current in the return cancels out to 0). This way, the return wire does not have to be bigger than the hot wires.

Thus, if you only hook up to 30 amps, you need to ensure that you never draw more than 30 amps. Generally, this means that you can run the stuff you find in a 30 amp trailer. 1 A/C and the converter which provides 12v and some lights and the entertainment center. And except when the A/C is just starting up, generally 1 other 'high draw' load, like the microwave, or a toaster, or hair dryer, or electric water heater or washer/dryer etc.

If you are not running any A/C, you can probably replace it with another high draw load. So, it does not sound like you will have a problem as long as you pay attention to what you are trying to run at the same time.

That conversion box mentioned is a way to exceed 30 amps (max possible would be 60, with the most common being 50). However, there is a very important caveat. The 2 circuits used MUST be out of phase, or you will overload the return line. Get a 220v test light and before hooking up to the conversion box, measure to ensure you have 220v between the 2 hot pins.
__________________
John (40' 2004 Country Coach Inspire DP)
John66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2007, 09:11 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">That conversion box mentioned is a way to exceed 30 amps (max possible would be 60, with the most common being 50). However, there is a very important caveat. The 2 circuits used MUST be out of phase, or you will overload the return line. Get a 220v test light and before hooking up to the conversion box, measure to ensure you have 220v between the 2 hot pins. </div></BLOCKQUOTE> LOL...I was told by my DH not to sound like an electrician as he explained it to me... so I dummied it down to basics...I just know that others posted that it did not usually work well - and how many of us will test both plugs to make sure it would be "out of phase"? (not me )!

OK.. this is the another time of many I will let DH determine about stuff ...but to me - it is easier not to worry - and just know I have to turn something off before the blow dryer gets turned on!
__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 02:34 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,190
Most modern coaches should have a power management system that kicks in when you are running on 30 or 20 amps. My 2001 Adventurer does and I really do not have to worry much about it. I just leave everything as it is and if the draw gets too great power managment starts shutting down the electric element on the water heater, the fridge and secondary AC. Of course if you try to run a coffee maker, hair dryer, toaster, washer/dryer and microwave at the same time then you will trip a breaker.

Try not to run any two of the items listed above at the same time for more than a minute, such as nuking a cup of coffee while the washer is running and you should be fine.
__________________
Neil V
2001 Winnebago Adventurer WFG35U
NeilV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 02:47 AM   #11
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Maxie, welcome to iRV2.com. We are glad to have you join us and congratulations on your new Excel. You will find we are a group of fun loving RVers that like to help each other where we can, so if you have any questions just ask. Good luck and enjoy the forum!
__________________

__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will a 50 amp surge protector work with a 30 amp system CWIL 5th Wheel Discussion 5 08-21-2008 03:34 PM
30-amp dog-bone with 50-amp shore power jeeprubi RV Systems & Appliances 11 02-14-2008 04:10 AM
30 amp connection Cookieman Excel Owner's Forum 10 06-04-2007 03:37 PM
Vector 2-10-30 Amp, 80 Amp Start Battery Charger Logthumper Gear and Product Discussions 2 03-23-2007 04:24 AM
Replacing 20 amp electrical land line plug with 30 amp????? Ragman MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 07-21-2006 11:28 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.