Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2015, 06:18 PM   #15
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,579
RV Electric

It is critical the OP fully understands the 30 amp outlet for an RV is not 240 volts.
__________________

__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-14-2015, 07:05 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Timon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 984
First a 30A 240V circuit is only good for 24A/5,760W. A 50A is good for 40A/9,600W. Remember you can only use 80% of the rated breaker.

OK, let me be very blunt. If you are doing this with a permit the inspector would fail the install. They will not allow you to put a 50A receptacle with #10 wire.

Just put in the 3/4" conduit and the #6 wire and do the job the right way. The only real cost difference is the wire and the conduit. The breaker, receptacle, outlet box and cover cost about the same. The cost to install is basically the same. I'll bet later you'll find a reason to have the 50A circuit and will be kicking your self for not doing it right the first time.

Use this box if you only want just the 50A box.

Use this box if you want to have a 50A, 30A and 20A just like the RV parks. This would be my favorite since you have a 120V circuit for other uses shuc as heater tape or work lights.

It really bugs me when people try wiggle around the rules just to save a few bucks.
__________________

__________________
John (N6BER), Joyce, Lucas (Golden Retriever mix), Bella (Great Pyrenees) and Lance (Great Pyrenees).
Tustin, CA
Timon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 07:21 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
CJ7ole's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 968
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timon View Post

Use this box if you want to have a 50A, 30A and 20A just like the RV parks. This would be my favorite since you have a 120V circuit for other uses shuc as heater tape or work lights.
That box is a 30 amp with a 20 amp receptacle. I don't know how they get a 70 amp rating with just a 20 and a 30 amp single pole breakers.

Maybe something more like this:http://www.campingworld.com/shopping...-amp-gfi/77649 or this one: http://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-100-Am...32SS/203393689
__________________
Ole and Anne Anderson, Highland, Michigan
'02 Adventurer 32V, Ford F-53, ours since 4/08,Goodyears, Konis, SeeLevel, CHF
'84 CJ-7 , 5.3 Chevy, 3" lift, 33's, Detroit Locker, Fiberglas tub, winch, hi-lift
CJ7ole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 07:29 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,983
FWIW if all one is doing is storing the unit while keeping the batteries charged 30A 240 VAC is overkill. If one lives in the cooler parts of the country it is still ample. OTOH if one is trying to live in it...
__________________
nothermark is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 07:43 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Timon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 984
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ7ole View Post
That box is a 30 amp with a 20 amp receptacle. I don't know how they get a 70 amp rating with just a 20 and a 30 amp single pole breakers.

Maybe something more like this:30/50 Amp Power Outlet Box with 20 Amp GFI - Connecticut Electric Inc CESMPSC75GRHR - Electrical Hatches & Outlets - Camping World or this one: GE 100 Amp 3-Space 3-Circuit 240 Volt Unmetered RV Outlet Box with 50/30/20-Amp GCFI Circuit Protected Receptacles-GE1LU532SS - The Home Depot
Oops, copied the wrong like. Edited the post So here is the correct link.
__________________
John (N6BER), Joyce, Lucas (Golden Retriever mix), Bella (Great Pyrenees) and Lance (Great Pyrenees).
Tustin, CA
Timon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 09:00 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,845
Limiting a 50 amp plug to 30 amps is "Micky Mouse".
Yes, your stuff will run.
But when there is a new owner, he will probably be pretty mad if he was counting on a Standard 50 amp plug and only getting 30 amps.

As another poster said, if only for storage, 20 amps is fine.
Just do it right the first time and you won't have any regrets.

Regards,
Dan
__________________
2014 40QBH Phaeton DP Cummins 380HP ISL, Freightliner XC, 2014 Jeep Trailhawk TOAD
Blue Ox Aventa tow bar, SMI Air Force One -South Orange County Ca.
dpinvidic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 09:09 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timon View Post
Oops, copied the wrong like. Edited the post So here is the correct link.
I am curious as to what the electrical code requires for the main input wiring.
You would have to use wire BIGGER than #6 to allow BOTH receptacles to be used at the same time. But the input might have a breaker that is not the sum of the full loads. They might count on not using the full amperage of both outlets at the same time.

regards,
Dan
__________________
2014 40QBH Phaeton DP Cummins 380HP ISL, Freightliner XC, 2014 Jeep Trailhawk TOAD
Blue Ox Aventa tow bar, SMI Air Force One -South Orange County Ca.
dpinvidic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 09:33 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Rockwood27's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Freedom, NH
Posts: 949
I believe the 50-30-20 amp boxes require a cable rated for 80 amp draw. One leg is 80 amps (50 + 30) and the other is 70 amps (50 + 20). Maybe a 2 or 4 gauge copper wire?
__________________
Fran, Mary & Zoey (silver Cocker)
2006 Itasca Sunrise 35A, 2005 W-22, Allison 1000 5 speed
'13 Ford Focus ST or '10 Prius on Master Tow Dolly 80THD-SB or '00 Jeep Cherokee 4-down
Rockwood27 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 09:46 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70ChevelleSS View Post
You would never use the 12,000 watts a 50 amp 240 volt circuit would provide.
Our rig will.
2 -2000 watt elements in the AquaHot
Electric Floor heating in bath and living room
3 15,000 BTU heat pumps
240 volt dryer
Advantium micro/convection
plus all the other electronics
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 10:31 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Timon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Tustin, CA
Posts: 984
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockwood27 View Post
I believe the 50-30-20 amp boxes require a cable rated for 80 amp draw. One leg is 80 amps (50 + 30) and the other is 70 amps (50 + 20). Maybe a 2 or 4 gauge copper wire?
OK, let's go over this. The box has its own breakers so it's a sub panel. In this case you can have the ability to draw more current than the main breaker in the feeding panel can supply. Example I have a sub panel that s fed by a 70A breaker but if I loaded every breaker in that sub to the max I'd pull over 100A. If I did then the breaker in the main panel would trip.

Take this case you have 3 breakers in the sub at 50-30-20 but the main is only rated at 50. BTW, the breaker protects the wire not what's plugged in. If you connected all three and you pulled the max each breaker handles you would trip the 50A in the main panel. This is how it's designed to work.

Here is a link to a wire run calculator. If you fill in the numbers it will give you the required wire gauge for a given run. Make sure you use 240 if your feeding both legs. Also, the ground wire can be smaller than the feed wires. A #8 ground can handle upto #4 feeds. Also the ground can be bare which saves room in the conduit.
__________________
John (N6BER), Joyce, Lucas (Golden Retriever mix), Bella (Great Pyrenees) and Lance (Great Pyrenees).
Tustin, CA
Timon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2015, 03:45 AM   #25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Beaufort, SC.
Posts: 19
10 gauge is only good for about 25 ft. @ 30 amps. I would run #8 wire
__________________
hvac45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2015, 08:01 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timon View Post
First a 30A 240V circuit is only good for 24A/5,760W. A 50A is good for 40A/9,600W. Remember you can only use 80% of the rated breaker.

OK, let me be very blunt. If you are doing this with a permit the inspector would fail the install. They will not allow you to put a 50A receptacle with #10 wire.

Just put in the 3/4" conduit and the #6 wire and do the job the right way. The only real cost difference is the wire and the conduit. The breaker, receptacle, outlet box and cover cost about the same. The cost to install is basically the same. I'll bet later you'll find a reason to have the 50A circuit and will be kicking your self for not doing it right the first time.

Use this box if you only want just the 50A box.

Use this box if you want to have a 50A, 30A and 20A just like the RV parks. This would be my favorite since you have a 120V circuit for other uses shuc as heater tape or work lights.

It really bugs me when people try wiggle around the rules just to save a few bucks.
Who said you can only use 80% of a breakers capacity? NEMA standards say a 20 amp breaker with a constant 27 amp load must trip in less than 1 hour. At 40 amps it must trip in less than 2 minutes. For a 30 amp breaker and a 60 amp load it must trip in under 4 minutes. At 100% load a breaker can run indefinitely. Where do the standards say you can only use 80% of the capacity?
__________________
70ChevelleSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2015, 08:26 AM   #27
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiggs68 View Post
I'm curious why you say this is a no-no? The OP is talking a standard 50 amp ganged breaker RV circuit except using a ganged 30 amp breaker and smaller wire as it would be easier to work with. The OP is not talking this setup for a 30 amp RV.
That type installation would be exactly like what is installed for a residential clothes dryer except possibly the outlet.
TravellingRVDoctor, LLC
shiggs68
You are correct
Apparently the OP intends to wire a 240V 50A receptacle protected by a 2 pole 30A breaker so he can connect a 50A RV shore power cord which is perfectly safe and acceptable.



240V 50A receptacle



2 pole 30A breaker



50A RV cord plug

I misunderstood his intent.
Sorry
Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2015, 08:38 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,938
Cant believe how much "attention" this issues gets on IRV2.....I am not a certified electrician but think several of the replies on this thread are--and they have done a good job of sorting out the pro/cons. Think the "red flag" here is the misunderstanding that the OP is going to use a std dryer configuration, and that some how, a 120v leg is going to get on the neutral leg of the RV and create a true 240v condition and thus "burn everything up." Notwithstanding local and national wiring codes for proper wire size, amps and length of run; if you apply std wiring protocols and use std residential and RV plugs and receptacles, its pretty unlikely you will "burn anything down."

Here are the key issues in my simple mind:

1] An RV wired for 50 amps [eg, 2-120v legs, 1-neutral, 1-ground] can accept either 50 amps or 30 amps as long as:
a. use all four conductors as defined in 1] above, or
b. 30 amp only, use a std three conductor config [eg, 1- 120v leg, 1-neutral, 1-ground]

2] The important phrase here is: "if you wire 'it' correctly!" This past summer, my sister had a "friend of a friend" rewire an RV plug in her gararge to accommodate a new dryer. He rewired another RV plug for me [30 amp, 1-120v leg] but managed to reverse polarity of the plug-in. My surge protector caught it and refused the connection. If you dont wire the plug "correctly" --this conversation about 30/50 amp, or 120 vs 240 wont matter much.

3] Most new Class A rigs are 50 amp, and if surge protector equipped, they want a neutral and a ground. Dont even think about trying to use a GFI plug if rig is S/P equipped.

4] Given the modest difference in cost, or if you never think you will use more than 20 amp service, the idea of going 30 Vs 50 [what, to save money?]doesnt seem to make a lot of sense to me.
__________________

__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50A or 30A?? TheMatrix 5th Wheel Discussion 17 02-17-2015 05:25 PM
Using 30A and 50A service simultaneously: a terrible idea? markaeric RV Systems & Appliances 42 12-21-2014 02:11 PM
30A or 50A to garage mothgrey Class A Motorhome Discussions 31 11-21-2013 05:14 PM
30A to 50A Adapter Causes MH Fire Pusherman Class A Motorhome Discussions 173 09-02-2013 05:33 PM
Bounder: 30A to 50A converting Sonnydale Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 20 06-11-2013 10:08 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.