Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2016, 08:11 PM   #85
Senior Member
 
iamblum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 415
I would run bigger pipe and bigger wire because I'm a journeymen electrician. The NEC allows for the op to do as he stated. I would not because the cost difference is minimal. It is no different than putting a 15 amp receptacle on a 20 amp breaker. Your load will only pull what it can pull. As far as the 80% rule that usually just comes into play when dealing with "continuous load" ie lighting and such that is ginna run for any length of time. That's my 2 cents
__________________

__________________
iamblum is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-06-2016, 10:33 AM   #86
Senior Member
 
SpaceNorman's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,147
I'm a big proponent of principle of "buy once, cry once". If I were going thru the trouble of running (and like burying!) conduit, pulling wire and installing a power pedestal - I'd bite the bullet, spend the extra $$ and install whatever parts are necessary to provide me with a fully functional, 100% up to code, 50 amp power service. There are times when doing stuff on the cheap makes sense ... this certainly would not be one of those times for me.
__________________

__________________
SpaceNorman
2012 HR Endeavor 43' DFT, 2012 Jeep Liberty
www.penquinhead.com
SpaceNorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 12:25 PM   #87
Senior Member
 
iamblum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 415
I agree
__________________
iamblum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 07:47 AM   #88
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,105
Quote:
Running 50A of 220v is a bit of a pain - it requires 4 conductor 6 gauge wire, which is a pain to deal with, especially when you're doing runs in conduit.
The key point here is that 30A/220v service still requires 4 wires, 3 conductors and a ground. You can drop down to 10/3 instead of 6/3, though. and it requires a dual pole breaker, though its 30A instead of 50A. It's definitely less expensive and much easier to pull wire if the run is long or has bends.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with doing it that way. I use a similar set-up at home myself. It gives plenty of power, including enough to run two a/c units simultaneously.
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50A or 30A?? TheMatrix 5th Wheel Discussion 17 02-17-2015 05:25 PM
Using 30A and 50A service simultaneously: a terrible idea? markaeric RV Systems & Appliances 42 12-21-2014 02:11 PM
30A or 50A to garage mothgrey Class A Motorhome Discussions 31 11-21-2013 05:14 PM
30A to 50A Adapter Causes MH Fire Pusherman Class A Motorhome Discussions 173 09-02-2013 05:33 PM
Bounder: 30A to 50A converting Sonnydale Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 20 06-11-2013 10:08 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.