Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2014, 10:10 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
mwwade's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Elk City, Ok.
Posts: 326
30amp-50amp?

My coach has a 30amp system. We used the microwave/convection oven for the first time, the unit would shut down then start up after a short time. We were running the air conditioner, and all the regular stuff. I don't know why it did this,but could I have used my 50amp adapter and plugged into the 50amp. Would this have helped with the problem?:
__________________

__________________
mwwade is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-11-2014, 10:36 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Your still feeding the RV through, the 30 amp breaker in inside your breaker box, extra power outside doesn't increase power to the internal systems of the RV. But can increase the risk of fire if your overloading the cord and rest of the circuits.
Your Convection/Microwave may have internal power control that shuts down and resets when the power supply is low. Best thing would be to test operation of the C/M, with the A/C off.
__________________

__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 10:43 PM   #3
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Or you may have an EMS (Energy Management System) that shuts power to certain appliances when incoming amps reach maximum. When useage drops it will restore power to that particular applaince
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 11:04 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 5,887
No.
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS
Arch Hoagland is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 11:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Rockbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Summer - WA, Winter - AZ
Posts: 160
Nope. 30 amp is 30 amp. 50 amp adapter to 30 amp is still 30 amp.
__________________
Rocky, Anniey, and Joy (Our Toy Poodle)
2006 Bounder Diesel 38L
Rockbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 11:27 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Jupiter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockbit View Post
Nope. 30 amp is 30 amp. 50 amp adapter to 30 amp is still 30 amp.
He's right

( okay... I must admit that I posted this response just to get my third campfire
__________________
Jupiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 11:39 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Cypressloser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Alberta - East of the Rockies, West of the Rest
Posts: 625
The AC draws ~20Amp on startup and ~17Amp when running,
the microwave oven draws ~10Amp,
the battery charger/converter draws ~5Amp
TV draws ~2-5Amp
Electric Water Heater ~15Amp

So the AC and microwave alone put you over the limit, best way to deal with this is to turn the AC off every time before you turn another appliance on.
If you do have a EMS it will do it for you but I doubt it.
__________________
2013 RAM 3500 Longhorn Dually, Andersen Ultimate 5th Wheel Hitch, 2017 Riverstone Legacy 38RE, 960 Watt Solar
Cypressloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 05:51 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Tyler6357's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rockbit View Post
Nope. 30 amp is 30 amp. 50 amp adapter to 30 amp is still 30 amp.
This is true, however, sometimes the 30 amp outlets in some campgrounds are old and fail to produce 30 amps but instead something less. Using the 50 amp outlet with an adapter to 30 will sometimes give you a true 30 amp current.
__________________
Tyler6357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 06:01 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,790
That is one wasteful A/C.. Both my A/Cs (2005 era 13,500 BTU and 2012 ear 15000 BTU draw 13.5 amps running, both by the ID plate and by actual measurements,, Once batteries are charged I can run both A/C's on 30 amps... Provided it is a solid 30 amps and I have NOTHING else on. And have done so.. Twice).

But that said, Most parks, 30 amp service not that good, and I have to turn off A/C to use Microwave. .. On the site I'm on now.. I sometimes have to switch the FRIDGE to gas or it trips the breaker with the A/C on.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 06:57 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
hondavalk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 210
If you had your WH on electric try switching it to propane.
__________________
hondavalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 01:18 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
mwwade's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Elk City, Ok.
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip426 View Post
Your still feeding the RV through, the 30 amp breaker in inside your breaker box, extra power outside doesn't increase power to the internal systems of the RV. But can increase the risk of fire if your overloading the cord and rest of the circuits.
Your Convection/Microwave may have internal power control that shuts down and resets when the power supply is low. Best thing would be to test operation of the C/M, with the A/C off.
That makes since to me.
__________________

__________________
mwwade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30amp works, 50 amp doesn't jrgreen Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 10 04-01-2014 11:39 AM
Magnum 3000w inverter in 50amp system unyalli RV Systems & Appliances 21 03-19-2014 08:06 AM
Progressive Industries 30amp Hardwired EMS with Remote Display StripesRef iRV2.com General Discussion 25 02-12-2014 06:29 PM
Lost 50 amp service in coach. jcaab RV Systems & Appliances 21 01-12-2014 02:53 PM
50amp shore connection Justinmartin Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 1 09-02-2013 09:16 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.