Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2015, 09:13 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
H. Miller's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,523
50 amp "box" placement..

How high off the GROUND must a 50 amp outlet box be placed? We're talking about non-metallic waterproof box with wire in "matching" conduit mounted to side of house (not free standing).
__________________

__________________
Hal & Ginny Miller '04 Beaver Santiam PRT40
'04 Saturn Vue - US Gear Brake - Blue Ox tow
4"girls" (3 Irish Setters - 1 Retriever) - RIP Annie
H. Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-31-2015, 09:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Crystal Beach, Texas
Posts: 190
I think its 5 ft
__________________

__________________
2001 Itasca Suncruiser 37'
Texbeachbum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 09:35 AM   #3
Community Moderator
 
bdickson's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wherever the rig is parked
Posts: 7,410
Sounds like a building code question for your county permits office. I imagine the regulation could differ around the country.
__________________
Bruce Dickson 2013 Thor Challenger 37GT, 5 Star Tune, Safe-T-Plus Steering Control with Air Trim, Roadmaster front and rear Sway Bars, SuperSteer rear Track Bar, Crossfires, 2012 Honda CRV on Blue Ox Aventa LX tow bar. Full timers since Jan 2012.
bdickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 09:38 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,816
Well I see them in parks (Metallic) as close as a few inches ground to bottom,, I'd like the box at around 3-5 feet, well above the high water line should go into flood status.

True story,, music director at my old parish had a flood, about six inches of water in his back yard,, GFCI outlets (like 3 of them) in back yard are all like half an inch above the ground, naturally they tripped.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 10:48 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Grey Ghost I's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Georgia
Posts: 587
High enough to prevent damage from mowers, toys, dogs etc.
__________________
Jerry and Barbara,
2005 Nat Sea Breeze 1321
2010 Honda CR-V toad
Grey Ghost I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 11:02 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
mwwade's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Jayco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Elk City, Ok.
Posts: 326
High enough you don't have to stoop over to plug it in!
__________________
mwwade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 11:30 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,799
If you are wanting to ensure code compliance, then best to ask your building department. However they may not specify a height.

Mine is at about 4'.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 11:36 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Newport, WA
Posts: 298
We just had a shop built in Pend Oreille County, WA. 50 amp service for the RV is about 42" off the floor, but that is on the inside wall.
__________________
'04 National TropiCal T350
Behind the coach:
'84 Royale RP-37 Sports 2000 or ~285 hp turbo Miata
mbrandt1402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 03:53 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 472
There is no code stating how high a 50Amp plug MUST be mounted. For a indoor range it's inches off the floor. If it has a disconnect or circuit breaker panel it must be "readily accessible" that means no ladder needed or dis-assembly required to access it.

So put it where most convenient. I have mine at 50" to the top.

I recommend not contacting the building department as they will assume your doing work without a license or hiring a licensed contractor who will know there is no code stating height.
__________________
Fl_Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 05:58 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
H. Miller's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,523
Thanks Folks
__________________
Hal & Ginny Miller '04 Beaver Santiam PRT40
'04 Saturn Vue - US Gear Brake - Blue Ox tow
4"girls" (3 Irish Setters - 1 Retriever) - RIP Annie
H. Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 07:16 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Keeseville ny
Posts: 361
I put it high enough so snow shouldn't cover it in winter time.
__________________
cwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 08:10 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdickson View Post
Sounds like a building code question for your county permits office. I imagine the regulation could differ around the country.
Exactly! I just replaced a 100A trailer drop, our county code said 4' min>4.5' max., and mounted below the meter-base.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 08:43 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
OLYLEN's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Olympia, Wa
Posts: 2,338
Mine installed four years ago when house was built, part of the contract, is about 18" above walk. I assume it is to code and in Washington State.

LEN
__________________
2004 Clss C 31' Winnebgo
OLYLEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 09:30 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 150
More important is that the box is wired for RV use, and that confuses many. Then the way the female receiver is put into the box, so the cord end can hang down correctly. Have seen both done wrong, by a licensed electrician. We arrived to find him working to get a 30 and 50 amp plug set up for the weekend visit.
__________________

__________________
Dave and Dolly
1998, 36' Foretravel, U295, rare mid door
2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee
sailwing2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using 50 amp service for 30 amp MH 2014-319DSF Class C Motorhome Discussions 5 01-03-2015 09:05 AM
50 amp coach to 30 amp extension to 50 amp house? abarkl RV Systems & Appliances 10 01-02-2015 09:55 PM
30 amp configuration on 50 amp circuit panel TexasTwoStep RV Systems & Appliances 9 12-24-2014 09:03 AM
30 Amp But No 50 Amp Shore Power fixn2gocamp RV Systems & Appliances 27 10-03-2014 05:48 AM
50 amp to 30 amp on surge protector ? TinCanTee iRV2.com General Discussion 6 06-29-2014 05:38 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.