Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2012, 05:12 PM   #1
Member
 
cordwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hurricane Utah
Posts: 51
50 amp missing.

HELP. I AM NOT GETTING 50 AMP IN TO THE COACH. BEEN AT FIVE CAMPGROUNDS AND ITS THE SAME. USING 30 AMP,ONE AC AT A TIME.
TURN IT OFF TO USE MICROWAVE OR ANY THING ELSE THAT REQUIRES POWER. CHECKED WITH SURROUNDING CAMPERS,NO PROBLEM ANY WHERES BUT ME. THANKS IN ADVANCE.

C. WOOD 2007HR ENDEAVOR
__________________

__________________
cordwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-20-2012, 05:29 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
nightriderrv's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NC
Posts: 1,682
you need to look in your power panel in the coach to see if one of the legs has come off or is loose also your plug could bad is it burned or look like it's got hot, if you have a transfer switch might lost a leg on it also
__________________

__________________
Mark Anderson - Nebo NC - western NC - RV Restoration tech - 9 Doggies - Outdoors person
1990 33ft Wilderness Cimarron 33X
nightriderrv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wardy's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Winter Park, Fl
Posts: 473
Do all of your appliances work? In other words is half the coach out when plugged into the 50 amp service. What do you mean by "using 30 amp"?
__________________
2007 Allegro Bus 42 QRP, 400 ISL now 2017 LTV Serenity on a 2016 Sprinter chassis
wardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Rodneykrantz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Columbia SC
Posts: 808
Crank up the generator and see if you have 50 amp power
__________________
Rodneykrantz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 06:06 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Franka548's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: N E Ohio
Posts: 3,459
some have a switch for when you are hooked to 30 amp, it looks like a light switch and should be somewhere close to where the power cord goes into the coach.
Frank
__________________
05 Alfa Gold 40' Motor Home "Goldie" 03 Malibu Toad towing 4 down
03 Silverado cclb 3500 drw, D/A, Reese 22k hitch
07 Alfa SeeYa Gold 30RL,2 slides,power everything Above for sale PM me for details
Franka548 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 06:07 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Melmoses's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 1,196
Sounds like a transfer switch is not letting one leg of the two legs of 50 amp power come into the MH. One leg working will allow 30 amp to work. The first place to look is where power enters your MH- transfer switch will likely be in the power bay where your power cord is. Open the box and look inside AFTER you have turned off all power. You will most likely see one of two things- a burned up connection or a loose connection. If you see nothing evident then tighten all connections carefully.
__________________
Mel (Melanie) and Harry
2009 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH
2014 Jeep Wrangler Sport
Melmoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 06:15 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
BobGed's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 1,942
^^^ I agree.
__________________
Bob, Sherron & Kinsey (Goldendoodle)
2017 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2014 Jeep Cherokee Limited
BobGed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 06:44 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,229
Even if you are only on 30 amps, the A/C only uses about 12-16 amps. You should still be able to use microwave. I agree with others' advice, check transfer switch for both legs working. Also check wiring in power panel, they can work loose. Circuit breakers should be shut off and reset on. Do you have a multimeter? Start tracing where you don't have power. It could be a faulty plug or shore cord.
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.