Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2016, 09:21 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Kxbronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 264
50 Amp Service Install

I'm planning on wiring up a 50 amp service in my existing garage and am looking for input and/or confirmation of my plans. First off, my electrician buddy says I have sufficient power to the garage and my MH is a 2005 Allegro Bay 34XB.

My breaker box is located next to my 18' garage door. My plan is to mount the plug just below my breaker box using #6 wire. Then I will use basically a 4 or 5' extension cord made of #6 flatwire to run under the garage door so it will seal properly with the gasket on the bottom of the door. I will then plug the MH into the extension. Does this sound like a proper, safe way to do this? I will make sure the connection is water tight.

I would mount the plug to the outside of the garage, but I would have to put a hole though concrete block and brick to do so. This will not be my primary storage location for the MH. It will be used for loading and unloading before and after trips. I also have water and sewer access here as well.

Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
2005 Allegro Bay 34XB, W22 Chassis / 8.1L
2013 Honda Fit toad, Demco Dominator & base plate
RVi2 Brake System
Kxbronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-01-2016, 09:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Western WA
Posts: 1,051
FWIW, my thoughts are to have your electrician buddy do it properly and do it to code with a 50 amp receptacle inside your garage. Running the wire, to code, through the wall should not present an insurmountable problem.
__________________

__________________
'07 Winnebago Journey 34H, ISB-02, MH2500
Toad - '08 Ford Taurus X
Blue Ox, Aventa
US Gear UBS
FleetMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 09:47 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
tmw188's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St. Charles MO
Posts: 2,420
Send a message via AIM to tmw188
50 Amp Service Install

I just put one on the outside of my garage ran it up from basement into the garage then out the wall to a 50a RV receptacle hid it behind a small bush. Not sure what you mean by a 5' flat wire? Is this something you are making up yourself? Your lucky your panel is in the garage that makes it easy. If you do drill the hole, drill it from the outside in, as not to blow the brick out going from the inside out.


iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
Dolphin 6376LX, 3 slide, W-24, Toyo tires, Blue OX Aventa LX, Patriot brake assist, 09' Saturn Vue
tmw188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 09:48 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,983
Have you tried closing the garage door on your standard cord? That might work.

Just something to consider - Four #6 will go in a 3/4 conduit. That should be a size that is commonly used thus a drill & bit should not be hard to come by.
__________________
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 09:51 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
tmw188's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: St. Charles MO
Posts: 2,420
Send a message via AIM to tmw188
That door will not seal over any round chord of that size.


iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
Dolphin 6376LX, 3 slide, W-24, Toyo tires, Blue OX Aventa LX, Patriot brake assist, 09' Saturn Vue
tmw188 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 09:56 PM   #6
Community Administrator
 
JohnRR's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Marquette, Michigan "Da UP"
Posts: 16,943
In my opinion no garage door is going to close and seal at the bottom with a standard 50 amp round pcable, I'm not familiar with any 5 flat cable.

I'd opt for an exterior power point.
__________________
John & Cathy R.
06 Pace Arrow 38L W24
08 14 Lincoln MKX AWD
See My RV Upgrades
JohnRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 10:02 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,802
Making that hole is not a big deal or hard to do. It will take less time and less material to make the hole than making up the flat cable. Make the hole and do it right, IMHO.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 10:14 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
UFO Pilot's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 4,612
I started with my receptacle inside the garage and finally drilled thru the wall and mounted it outside. If you know what you are doing, you can adjust the door travel to leave clearance at the bottom for the cord. The problem is leaving a gap for "critters" (mice?) to enter the garage.
__________________
Wayne & Roberta and Maggie the Miracle Dog
08 Winnebago Destination 39W Gas UFO Workhorse Chassis
Making the Journey in our Destination

UFO Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 08:41 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Kxbronco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 264
Thanks for all the replies. I guess the consensus is to drill through the wall and do it the "right" way which I agree is the "right" way to do it. As for what I meant by "flat wire", the link below shows an example of it

Shop 6-3 UF Wire (By-the-Foot) at Lowes.com

Thanks again for all the input.
__________________
2005 Allegro Bay 34XB, W22 Chassis / 8.1L
2013 Honda Fit toad, Demco Dominator & base plate
RVi2 Brake System
Kxbronco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 09:09 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Loudon Couny, TN
Posts: 466
I ran the #6 wire thru the wall to an outlet mounted on the outside. Then I made an extension cord from 95' of #6, 3-wire with ground (available at building supply stores) with a Camco plug and receptacle from Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Camco-55353-Fe...ilpage_o01_s00). It's working great for us.
__________________
Larry, Beverly & Pat
Pups - Romeo, Teddy Bear, Frankie
2013 Thor Tuscany, 45', Freightliner chassis, Cummins ISL10, towing a Buick Enclave
Big Dude is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 09:21 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
MRUSA14's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kxbronco View Post
Thanks for all the replies. I guess the consensus is to drill through the wall and do it the "right" way which I agree is the "right" way to do it.
I agree with the consensus. Drilling a hole this size is not a big deal. If you don't have the tools to drill the hole you can rent them or hire someone to do it for not much money. You will be glad you did it when the receptacle is mounted on your exterior wall with no cords to take in and out or have lying on the ground.
__________________
Marc and Jill, Wellington FL
2013 Entegra Anthem 44SL
MRUSA14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 09:22 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 3,369
The 6-3 UF would work, but I agree with everyone else. Drill and mount on the outside. It's a simple procedure for any electrician.
__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2014 F150 4x4 Crew Cab Platinum 157" WB
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 09:32 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Pigman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,940
Your UF cable will work just fine. The cover on the UF cable is a lot thicker and tougher than the typical indoor cable, so it should stand up well to the occasional scuffing it takes on the concrete. I definitely would not use indoor rated cable.

If I were doing it I'd go for the indoor plug. It's only going to be used for occasional use. If you go for an outdoor installation you're also going to have to put it into some sort of weather tight box to protect it from the elements and sun.
__________________
Pigman
2013 Tiffin Allegro Bus 43QGP
2011 Chevy Silverado 1500 Toad
Pigman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 09:41 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
MRUSA14's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,530
I used this box on the outside of my garage. It works great.
__________________

__________________
Marc and Jill, Wellington FL
2013 Entegra Anthem 44SL
MRUSA14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, service



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"NORCOLD & DOMETIC RECALLS" & Service Manuals Norcold & Dometic "007" RV Systems & Appliances 75 08-11-2017 12:17 AM
50 Amp service install on side of house questions kiethco Class A Motorhome Discussions 40 05-13-2015 07:32 AM
Want to install built in vac in Itasca Horizon 40AD, like to know how factory install kbdavidson Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 06-30-2011 10:13 PM
Install 50' antenna install for Tire Sentry NEED HELP TOJOS Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 4 09-23-2008 10:18 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.