Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2012, 06:18 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingDiver View Post
Just because they don't need true 240v doesn't mean it's safe to use double 30amp plugs on the same phase. If you pull a lot of current from both plugs you can overload the internal neutral wiring.

joe
I never said anything about doing that, please read my post again.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-03-2012, 07:37 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
SteveCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mossy Head, Florida or somewhere else.
Posts: 303
I didn't mean to get a scuffle going. Thanks for the relies.

Went down the road to a neighbor who has the almost identical Southwind and has been on-the-road for many years.

He told me then showed me how to do what I need to do. He has the same 30a and 50a power box on the pole in his shelter that is found at a campground.
1.Plug 50a cord into the 50a socket and everything is just fine.
2.Plug a 30a to 50a adapter plug into the socket then plug the 50a cord to the adapter plug and everything is just fine. BUT. Don't use the second A/C.

He plugged his Southwind into the 30a and turned on the TV, A/C and some lights. No problem.

I think I found my answer.
__________________

__________________
SteveCal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 08:14 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
I never said anything about doing that, please read my post again.
You didn't suggest it, someone else did. But you did say that most RVs don't really need 240v, even though that's how they're wired. Which is also misleading, since you can't safely hook up a 50amp rig to two separate 120v feeds.

And no, it's not just Newell and Prevost that actually use 240v. The top of the line coaches from Newmar, Tiffen, American, Entegra (Cornerstone), and others could also have 240v appliances in them.

joe
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 09:43 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
webslave's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Clearville, PA
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveCal View Post
I didn't mean to get a scuffle going. Thanks for the relies.

Went down the road to a neighbor who has the almost identical Southwind and has been on-the-road for many years.

He told me then showed me how to do what I need to do. He has the same 30a and 50a power box on the pole in his shelter that is found at a campground.
1.Plug 50a cord into the 50a socket and everything is just fine.
2.Plug a 30a to 50a adapter plug into the socket then plug the 50a cord to the adapter plug and everything is just fine. BUT. Don't use the second A/C.

He plugged his Southwind into the 30a and turned on the TV, A/C and some lights. No problem.

I think I found my answer.
Yep, that's the answer...

Unless you need or intend to run both A/C units at the same time, your rig will do quite nicely on 30 amps alone. I routinely carry a 50 to 30 amp adapter and use it when necessary. Look at all those fully functional 30 amp rigs running around. 30 amps is quite adequate for most 50 amp RVs unless you try to run both A/C units at the same time or you have a washer/drier unit you intend to use. Pull up, put your 50 to 30 converter on the end of your power cord and plug into a 30 amp plug. At my sticks and bricks, I have a 30 amp plug that I installed for our old pull trailer...works just fine for my 50 amp 5ver; I just don't turn the second A/C unit on.
__________________

__________________

Don & Bronwyn + 1 Cat; J-Lo
2014 Thor Tuscany 40RX (AKA, "The Cat House")
2015 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk Towed
webslave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone make their own 50A extension cord? RV 4 2 RV Systems & Appliances 37 12-06-2011 05:54 PM
THOR-ACE availability of adjustable driver seat ToledoCharli Thor Industries Owner's Forum 0 10-26-2011 05:29 PM
Connecting a 50A plug allegro5 Monaco Owner's Forum 6 09-10-2011 02:32 PM
Continental Tire availability ToledoCharli iRV2.com General Discussion 3 07-21-2011 08:16 PM
INFO: I am looking for 50A power -which used Winnebagos/Itasca's have it? lemosley01 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 27 07-02-2011 10:03 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.