Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2012, 11:31 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
SteveCal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mossy Head, Florida or somewhere else.
Posts: 303
50a availability?

Well. Theres always something I missed. The thought did not cross my mind until just now. The Southwind we're buying is 50a. We've never had a 50a unit. Is 50a service common or will it be difficult to find 50a at private, National Park/Forest, etc. camp grounds? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
SteveCal is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-02-2012, 11:57 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
toadog's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Snohomish ,WA
Posts: 419
If you get a 30 amp adapter you can have some power. In the northwest most park have 50.
__________________

__________________
Bob & Rita Bazley, the pups Tia & Kali ( shi-poohs)
97 Dolphin 36'
toadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:57 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
LVJ58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 2,148
Most all RV parks have 20-30 & 50 amp outlets on their power pedestals. Can't speak for Natl. Park campgrounds. I highly recommend carrying a 30amp to 50amp adapter in your coach just in case the park doesn't have a 50amp outlet on the power pedestal.

Good luck and safe travels,
__________________
Jim & SherrySeward

2000 Residency 3790 v10 w/tags 5 Star tune & Banks system Suzuki XL7 toad
LVJ58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 12:04 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,515
No biggie, get the adapter. You'll only have 3,600 watts rather than 12,000 but it's easy to get by on.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 12:08 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
toadog's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Snohomish ,WA
Posts: 419
I just wanted to say I have seen adapters with two 30 amp to 50, but maybe some one can answer about how parks wire up to give you two phase. I have seen two plugs wired with the same phase . That would limit having 220 volts, most would have a different phases to give you 220 volts. I hope I am not confusing you.
__________________
Bob & Rita Bazley, the pups Tia & Kali ( shi-poohs)
97 Dolphin 36'
toadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 12:10 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by toadog View Post
I just wanted to say I have seen adapters with two 30 amp to 50, but maybe some one can answer about how parks wire up to give you two phase. I have seen two plugs wired with the same phase . That would limit having 220 volts, most would have a different phases to give you 220 volts. I hope I am not confusing you.
Most RV's don't use 220/240 volts, they use two legs of 50 amp, 120 volt. Only a high end RV like a Newel or Prevost will need 220/240 for a dryer or range.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 07:48 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
50A is not so common in state and national parks, but they are slowly being upgraded. Some state park systems, e.g. Georgia, have a lot of 50A sites, while others, e.g. NY, have few. Age of the park has a lot to do with it - the older ones were designed with 30A only.

Meanwhile, use the 50/30 adapter. You are no worse off then when you had a 30A rig.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 08:48 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
jzick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,193
Quote:
50A is not so common in state and national parks
And that is one reason we do not spend much time in state/national parks. We are not camping in our motorhome and like the convenience of reliable 50A power and the ability to use all the comfort devices simultaneously that ample power allows. On the rare occasions that only 30A is available, we use an adapter and monitor our power use to prevent activating breakers. IMO, having a 50 A unit and being able to take advantage is better than having only a 30A unit and not being able to use the extra power when available.
__________________
jzick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 01:04 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3,228
So far traveling here in western Canada, I get 50A hookups about 1 in 5 parks.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 01:57 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
Most RV's don't use 220/240 volts, they use two legs of 50 amp, 120 volt. Only a high end RV like a Newel or Prevost will need 220/240 for a dryer or range.
Just because they don't need true 240v doesn't mean it's safe to use double 30amp plugs on the same phase. If you pull a lot of current from both plugs you can overload the internal neutral wiring.

joe
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 05:48 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
toadog's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Snohomish ,WA
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
Most RV's don't use 220/240 volts, they use two legs of 50 amp, 120 volt. Only a high end RV like a Newel or Prevost will need 220/240 for a dryer or range.
Thanks I am still learning, I had a feeling that was the case.
__________________
Bob & Rita Bazley, the pups Tia & Kali ( shi-poohs)
97 Dolphin 36'
toadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 05:55 PM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
RustyJC's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cypress, Texas USA
Posts: 8,854
Just because you don't USE 220/240 VAC doesn't mean that it's not important that the pedestal HAVE 220/240 VAC across L1 and L2. That indicates that the pedestal is wired correctly with L1 and L2 180 degrees out of phase. If the pedestal shows 0 VAC across L1 and L2, the two hot legs are in phase, and the neutral conductor in your power cord can be severely overloaded!

Rusty
__________________
2016 Ram Longhorn 3500 Dually 4x4 CCLB, 385/900 Cummins, Aisin AS69RC, 4.10
2014.5 DRV Mobile Suites 38RSSA #6972
Come join us on a TEXAS BOOMERS rally!
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 06:03 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,821
Quote:
Originally Posted by toadog View Post
I just wanted to say I have seen adapters with two 30 amp to 50, but maybe some one can answer about how parks wire up to give you two phase. I have seen two plugs wired with the same phase . That would limit having 220 volts, most would have a different phases to give you 220 volts. I hope I am not confusing you.
Most parks if you are on a 30 amp site there is also a 20 amp outlet, that dual 30 to 50 adapter comes with a 30 to 15 adapter, HOWEVER IT DOES NOT WORK.

Here is why.. The 20 amp outlet is a GFCI, (Required by code) unless the park is old enough to be "Grandfathered" (The site I'm on is grandfathered, the site I wanted is not, same park, being as the site I wanted was updated last month, I know, I helped) (Ok I shoveled some dirt and held the box while others shoveled, not a whole lot of help)

And the dual 30 to 50 thing will trip a properly working GFCI, if it does not the GFCI is defective.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 06:04 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,821
Second reply.. There used to be a company: Power Solutions RV, it appears they are now out of business..

They sold an adapter that did let you use the 20 amp outlet, no GFCI issues, What it did was "Split off" the rear air conditioner on a 2-A/C unit (or any other single circuit if you wished) and let the 20 amp outlet handle it, and only it.

I built my own, easy to do ask if you need instrucitons.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone make their own 50A extension cord? RV 4 2 RV Systems & Appliances 37 12-06-2011 05:54 PM
THOR-ACE availability of adjustable driver seat ToledoCharli Thor Industries Owner's Forum 0 10-26-2011 05:29 PM
Connecting a 50A plug allegro5 Monaco Owner's Forum 6 09-10-2011 02:32 PM
Continental Tire availability ToledoCharli iRV2.com General Discussion 3 07-21-2011 08:16 PM
INFO: I am looking for 50A power -which used Winnebagos/Itasca's have it? lemosley01 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 27 07-02-2011 10:03 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.