Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2015, 09:25 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 17
Adding second a/c, electrical ??

I am going to add a smaller a/c in the bedroom of my 5th wheel. It is a Coleman Mini Mach 7100 btu. There is an ac loop of wire near the vent added at the factory for future use. I have no idea if the breaker will be sufficient for an a/c unit. Also there are only two wires, no ground. Any ideas of how to proceed?
Thanks
__________________

__________________
Daveg48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-29-2015, 09:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
mmartin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Long Beach, Calif.
Posts: 189
what size a/c unit are you installing? 13,500? you say you have only 2 wires, is this at the breaker or at the vent where the factory landed the wire? What size breaker (spare) is located in the elec. panel? You must have 50 amp service so you will be ok with 2 ac units. The factory should have landed a 12-2 gauge romex (3-wire) at the vent which goes to your elect panel
__________________

__________________
Travel Supreme 03 40DS03
Cummins 400 HP ISL 8.9
2010 Jeep Wrangler JK
mmartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 11:54 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rochester, MN, USA
Posts: 345
Two wires?? They might be 12 Volts fpr an optional power vent.

have anice day - Darrel
__________________
2007 3912 KSDP w/350HP ISL Cummins
2003 Grand Cherokee toad w/M&G Brake
Darrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 12:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BigBlockTank's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 173
A picture would do wonders.
__________________
Tank Thomas, USAF Ret.
There are no secrets to success. It's the result of preparation, hard work and learning from mistakes.


BigBlockTank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 03:26 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 17
Not much to show in a picture just a loop of wire. A red and a white and they are 12 gauge. Seems a little large for 12 volt.
__________________
Daveg48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 03:44 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,885
I'd expect to see a ground. Yea, like it's 12v, maybe pre-wire for a magic fan or something like that?
__________________
cb1000rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 05:54 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
dvmweb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MI
Posts: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daveg48 View Post
Not much to show in a picture just a loop of wire. A red and a white and they are 12 gauge. Seems a little large for 12 volt.

Can you trace them to the source or other end? Test for voltage first. Maybe hook a 9 volt battery and check near the 110 volt panel and the 12 v panel for the other end with a multi meter.


2013 FleetWood Expedition 38B
__________________
dvmweb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 07:17 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
asuperheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 171
If it is stranded wire most likely 12 volt. Solid wire Most likely 120 volt.
__________________

__________________
2014 Excursion 35B
asuperheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you stay cool with only 1 A/C unit? RUReady2Go 5th Wheel Discussion 42 07-16-2015 09:20 PM
American Coach: A/C Cooling Fan / Radiator / Cooling GlennLever Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 11 09-23-2014 04:37 PM
A/c problems M&Aeller Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 09-09-2014 07:53 PM
Turning A/C off before generator WBBB1 Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum 19 08-28-2014 03:39 PM
Using A/C with the generator Golfer503 Palazzo Motorhomes 11 08-21-2014 02:06 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.