Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2010, 11:59 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
georgetown350's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,603
air compressor max

Just a quick question for you pros before I go to the store and ask the same question.
I want to buy an air compressor which has one air tank and states the maximum pressure to be 100 psi. Will this compressor put 100 lbs in my tires or do I need to get a stronger one.
__________________

__________________
2008 HR 340 Cummins, Vacationer XL
georgetown350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-27-2010, 12:05 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
UFO Pilot's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 4,612
I may be wrong but I don't think it will. My max pressure is 150 and about 110 is all it will put in the tires.
__________________

__________________
Wayne & Roberta and Maggie the Miracle Dog
08 Winnebago Destination 39W Gas UFO Workhorse Chassis
Making the Journey in our Destination

UFO Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 12:21 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
compressor operation works on differential. If you need 100 in the tires, a 100psi compressor will do it, but the last several psi will be verrry slow. A 125psi compressor will do 100 reasonably.

Next spec you will want to watch is the volume, usually stated at 40psi & 90. you'll get less volume near 100 than is stated at 90, but higher is better for keeping the fill time reasonable. Usually when you get into the >100 range, the tires are fairly large volume, so a compressor w/some lung capacity is appreciated.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 12:26 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 466
You will be very disappointed if you don't get at least a 150 psi compressor.
Jim
__________________
Pairajays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 06:27 AM   #5
Community Administrator
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,613
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pairajays View Post
You will be very disappointed if you don't get at least a 150 psi compressor.
Jim
I agree.
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 08:36 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
georgetown350's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,603
I will pass on the 100 psi compressor. Thanks for the input.
__________________
2008 HR 340 Cummins, Vacationer XL
georgetown350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 09:04 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
R1Kirby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Posts: 231
A great little compressor is the Porter Cable 6 Gallon. It handles everything I need to do, including an air gun to remove tires if I should every need to. It weighs about 35 lbs and can be found at Home Depot or Lowes. It's worth the look.
__________________
R1Kirby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 09:46 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,811
You need at least 20 PSI more in the air compressor than you need in the tire.. And still more is better

A 100 PSI compressor, in theory might blow a tire up to 100 PSI, but it would take a long long time to do it.

A 150 PSI compressor (Sears or Harbor Freight should have them) will do the job in a more reasonable amount of time.

NOTE: you know where it says 100PSI max on the tire.. READ IT AGAIN, that is not what it says, READ the ENTIRE sentence

Maximum load xxxxxxx pounds at yyy PSI

Now find out what the PROPER pressure is for that tire

http://www.rvsafety.com
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 06:25 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,700
You must take into account the cut-in or low pressure set point. If you need 100 psi in your tires but the compressor does not re-start until it's pressure switch reaches 80 psi, you have a problem. Assuming you buy a compressor with a high limit of 150 psi, and a low limit of 80 psi, this means you must bleed-off pressure until the compressor re-starts and once again reaches 100 psi before you may resume filling a tire.
My solution was to buy a Search results for: '150 psi compressor'
It is not nearly as fast as larger compressors but it serves me well for adjusting air pressure on the road.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 08:03 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bdaball's Avatar
 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: MAINE, The way Life should be.
Posts: 1,091
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgetown350 View Post
Just a quick question for you pros before I go to the store and ask the same question.
I want to buy an air compressor which has one air tank and states the maximum pressure to be 100 psi. Will this compressor put 100 lbs in my tires or do I need to get a stronger one.
Yes, You will get to 100 psi just before He!! freezes over.

If you want to be able to top off your tires to 100psi,(if you really need to) then you will need something a little more robust. Try the 150psi 1.5 gal Sears Craftsman Air Compressor #00915309000. I think you will find that acceptable at $89.99 on sale. I beleave the weight was stated as 25 lbs.
You may find more info on this subject if you do a search on this same site for "air compressors".
__________________
Tiffin Allegro Bus, 425 Cummins Freightliner XCR, Camp Freightliner, Acadia Denali, tow-N-4 Down, Blue-OX tow bar, TST Monitors, Seelevel II Monitors, Samsung Res Fridge, Progressive 50A-EMS, No Kids-No Pets, Full Time.
bdaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 09:59 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,493
On board air?

Is your chassis gas or diesel?

I ask because some diesel if equiped with air brakes and air ride have a service port in one of the storage bins.

It will be mounted very high, above the hatch behind the edge, requires one to get on their hands and knees to see.

Ours is in the bin next to the main door, handy when one is too lazy to get the long hose.

The down side is you have to have the engine running, and the headroom is only about 20 or so PSI, but there is no cut in/cut out problems.

Upside is only a hose is needed.

If you have air on board and no fitting then one could be added as long as it is installed in the correct place, must be in the aux circuit, same one that feeds the springs and throttle.

If not then it was a shot.
__________________
TQ60 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 07:46 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
georgetown350's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,603
Our coach does have a diesel engine however it does not have air brakes.

It was a shot. Thanks anyways.
__________________

__________________
2008 HR 340 Cummins, Vacationer XL
georgetown350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Pressure low sam-tip Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 13 08-04-2010 09:51 AM
12V auxilliary pump for air leveling caymann MH-General Discussions & Problems 8 05-13-2010 09:13 AM
Dash air question... Lowhorn Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 1 03-15-2010 10:10 AM
Front Air Disk Brakes Now Standard on FCCC RDPs DriVer RV Industry Press 0 12-05-2009 12:17 PM
Trany light and air conditioning??? roadtrec New Member Check-In 8 10-29-2007 05:24 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.