Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-02-2016, 11:38 AM   #1

Aluminum frame and fiberglas vs wood framed and alum. siding

Looking for a new or used travel trailer that will last us many years. I am pretty new to all of this. I have have questions about which trailer construction type is the most durable over the long run, and which is easiest to maintain. We will stay in the 28' - 30' size. Weight is not a big factor, as I will tow with an F250 with the large V8 engine. The 2 major trailer construction types, as I understand, are:
1. Welded aluminum framing with a fiberglass outer shell.
2. Wood framed with aluminum siding outer shell.
Assuming I am correct about types of construction, which do most experienced RV'ers prefer. and Why.
Thanks,
Jeff
mowingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!