Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2015, 09:52 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Mystery solved


It looks like someone spliced into the direct wire connection from the Gen to the AC control switch panel. Installed an outlet and plugged wire back into the outlet. I assume for a outside outlet for whatever might be needed when not in a campground.


With Gen set running and AC switch set to Front AC, the front AC will run and the back AC will also run. This is not the case when plugged into Shore power.
Unplug the small plug in the outlet and the rear AC does not run unless the switch is set to Rear.


thanks to all who replied and your Ideas. And to this great resource forum for the diagrams etc.


I will definitely be back and try to help others if possible.
__________________

__________________
xcsxlt is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-14-2015, 04:19 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcsxlt View Post
Mystery solved


It looks like someone spliced into the direct wire connection from the Gen to the AC control switch panel. Installed an outlet and plugged wire back into the outlet. I assume for a outside outlet for whatever might be needed when not in a campground.


With Gen set running and AC switch set to Front AC, the front AC will run and the back AC will also run. This is not the case when plugged into Shore power.
Unplug the small plug in the outlet and the rear AC does not run unless the switch is set

thanks to all who replied and your Ideas. And to this great resource forum for the diagrams etc.


I will definitely be back and try to help others if possible.
It's because one leg of the genny goes straight to the rear air. You should be able to run a drop cord to that plug and run both airs. I did a similar thing to a 1995 suncruiser I had. Just a guess
__________________

__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2015, 01:45 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Big Oil Guy's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 278
What size is your generator? I assume you have a 30 amp power cord. I believe they set up some of the older units this way because the 30a circuit had a problem carrying both AC's with the frig, microwave, etc. Plus, the lighter cord could likely overheat. Set up the way yours is, the 2nd AC has it's own 20a circuit that is activated when the generator is powered up, but can't carry the 2nd AC from the 30a shore power cord. I'm guessing your generator is probably 6kw - 6.5kw or larger to carry both AC's. I'm guessing that trying to carry both AC's on shore power might overload the 30a circuit.

If this is wrong, I'm sure that someone else with a similar rig as yours will eventually jump in and explain it.
__________________
Ken & Jeannie
96 Vectra Grand Tour 35' DP
Jacey (terri-poo, waiting at the rainbow bridge), Jack (silky terrier), Hannah (poodle)
Big Oil Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2015, 06:36 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Keeseville ny
Posts: 361
When on shore power unplug that cord and plug in a 20 amp lead cord to supply 2nd ac with power. Your 30 amp will then run 1ac and the rest of your camper. Most fleetwoods had a powers shedding system so you could run 2 ac on 30amps.
__________________

__________________
cwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFI outlet 2013 Sunstar 27N jjk0091 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 09-16-2015 12:36 AM
Inverter/GFCI Outlet issue Rossi6998 MH-General Discussions & Problems 24 05-28-2015 12:32 PM
Repair Loose Wall Outlet bruceisla RV Systems & Appliances 15 03-31-2014 05:47 AM
Sewer outlet upgrade mcumbie Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 03-20-2014 02:19 PM
Adding Exterior 120VAC outlet smlranger Country Coach Owners Forum 5 08-11-2013 10:51 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.