Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 02-10-2012, 04:52 PM   #1
Winnebago Owners Club
Anyone run into this one?

Newbie here but I've been reading the forums a lot to help us buy our new camper. Picked up a '08 Winn View last week in Tucson. LONG story short, it had an engine light on, first dealer thought it was a turbo air leak, sent us to Tucson Dodge. They replace a number of engine sensors, called it good and sent us on our way. Bought it the next day, celebrated at dinner, and headed to Phoenix only to discover we had no headlights. Seller swears the lights worked fine before it got worked on. What happens: turn switch on and headlights flash 10-11 times and go out. Key on or off, engine running or not, same thing every time. So we drive to Phx with the fog lights on (don't tell on us), Airway Dodge has it the next day for 10 hours and sez we need a computer module ($850) and it'll take two weeks to get the part. So we drive back to Oregon in three days avoiding the dark hours. Questions:
1. Did the first dealer screw it up? Does the second dealer know what they're talking about? (They said it took half a day to get the wiring diagram - took me 5 minutes on-line)
2. Is this just a reprogramming issue or is the computer blown? If its blown why did everything else work fine?
3. Is it possible to drive to Alaska, Canada, and all over the US with fog lights? Just kidding...
Anyway, looking for help before going to another dealer. Not too worried about cost since it should be under warranty (none of the above stops cost anything), just want to be sure its done right.
Thanks so much, Jasperisourdog

JaspersView is offline   Reply With Quote