Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-06-2012, 12:08 AM   #1

Awning 101

Hello, newbie here. I have a 93 Brave that never had an awning installed on it by previous owners. I recently found an old A&E Travel Awn 5000 at a junkyard for $40. Missing the pins that hold bottom of side arms to mounting brackets, one pushbutton to adjust side arm and one rafter release is missing the chrome cover piece. Needs fabric. Otherwise it will work - its already aged for my pre-aged MH.

I've never installed an awning before but I always do my own mechanical work so I'm sure this will be easy once I know what I need to know. My most pressing questions are does anyone know of PDFs for installing this model or owners manuals? Does anybody have one of these they are parting out - I've found the pushbutton gizmo on ebay as well as fabric but the new button is over $20 so I'll probably rig something homemade.

It appears the top castings are mounted backwards because winding the springs the direction it shows makes the roller go the wrong way -I am assuming when you add torsion to these you are winding the spring tighter not unwinding it right? When it says left hand/right hand this means me facing the MH and looking at the awning? LH towards rear/RH towards front of MH? To revearse the top castings is it easier to push/drill out the pin holding it to shaft or should I undo/pull out shaft and reverse the casting/shaft as one piece?

Does anyone know what size lag bolts should be used to install brakets?

When mounting brackets on 93 Brave do you go right thru the side trim at bottom and right thru the awning rail at top?