Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2016, 09:50 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
RV Vagabond's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Fulltime Traveler
Posts: 521
Batteries supplementing plug-in amps

I heard that the 15 amps from the batteries, either through 12 volt outlets, direct wiring or the inverter, will supplement a 30 amp plug-in for up to 45 amps available. Is that the way they work
__________________

__________________

2017 Itasca Solei 36G
"The 5 Shades of Gray"
Suzuki Burgman scooter on the rack
RV Vagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-08-2016, 10:10 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,446
I've never heard a question quite like this and don't totally understand what you're asking but;

In general you're mixing AC and DC amps as though they are the same thing. Your particular battery and inverter setup will determine what they can output for any length of time. Take your coffee pot for example; If it takes 10 amps AC while on it would be 100 amps using your batteries. With a little more info we can probably help.
__________________

__________________
1998 Tioga Class C
400 amp/hrs solar, Trimetric
Retire 2020 GLW
okcnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 10:36 AM   #3
TurnerFamily : )
 
MisterT's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Shooting Creek, NC... for now
Posts: 2,289
I think what you're asking is: can the inverter provide additional AMPS in addition to your SHORE POWER...

NO, the ATS(AutomaticTransferSwitch) would prohibit this since it switches power from the Inverter to either Shore power or the Generator
__________________
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 12:29 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7,827
There is a Magnum inverter that can add it's output to the shore power thru a load sharing routine.

I don't recall the particulars but Google Magnum for info.
__________________
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 12:37 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 17,230
it is also possible to wire an inverter so that it can selectively power various circuits through a specialized manual transfer switch. I wired a previous coach like that when we often stayed at places with only 15A or 20A power available.

Generally, though, it cannot be done with typical factory wiring or a typical inverter/charger with a built-in ATS.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 12:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
There is a Magnum inverter that can add it's output to the shore power thru a load sharing routine.

I don't recall the particulars but Google Magnum for info.
Here it is http://www.wholesalesolar.com/294034...3012m-inverter
__________________
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 01:22 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterT View Post
I think what you're asking is: can the inverter provide additional AMPS in addition to your SHORE POWER...

NO, the ATS(AutomaticTransferSwitch) would prohibit this since it switches power from the Inverter to either Shore power or the Generator
The ATS switches between shore and generator power.

It has nothing to do with inverter power. That is covered by the inverters internal pass thru switch.

With the Magnum inverter, I mentioned, it will supplement inverted power, with the pass thru power, up to a point and until the batteries get low.

So you could microwave something, going over your 30 or 50 amp shore or generator power, and when done, the inverter reverts back to charging and replacing what you just used.
__________________
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2016, 08:06 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
dons2346's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat
There is a Magnum inverter that can add it's output to the shore power thru a load sharing routine.

I don't recall the particulars but Google Magnum for info.


Here it is http://www.wholesalesolar.com/294034...3012m-inverter

WOW! They are sure proud of that inverter. iMarine has the same thing for a few bucks over $1700
__________________
Don
2002 Country Coach Intrigue
dons2346 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 06:02 AM   #9
TurnerFamily : )
 
MisterT's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Shooting Creek, NC... for now
Posts: 2,289
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
The ATS switches between shore and generator power.

It has nothing to do with inverter power. That is covered by the inverters internal pass thru switch.

With the Magnum inverter, I mentioned, it will supplement inverted power, with the pass thru power, up to a point and until the batteries get low.

So you could microwave something, going over your 30 or 50 amp shore or generator power, and when done, the inverter reverts back to charging and replacing what you just used.

good to know, as I would like one of these as well! There are times when having this 'bridge' of additional amps would be nice.
what the OP was asking about, though, I believe, is the standard inverter performance of his manufactured vehicle, which does not provide for this additional amperage.
__________________
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 08:57 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
OLYLEN's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Olympia, Wa
Posts: 1,915
Sounds like a bargain to me $1700 plus install so I can run two AC's the micro and the hair dryer at the same time. Think I can do it by hand. But if the coach already has it great. Didn't know there was such an animal.

LEN
__________________
2004 Clss C 31' Winnebgo
OLYLEN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 06:43 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 18
I think you have already found what you're looking for, but here's an article on boosting investors: Boosted Electrons: The Victron MultiPlus Inverter | Technomadia
__________________

__________________
dallasmobile is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
batteries



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 Amps vs. 50 Amps! BigRandy Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 01-22-2012 06:53 AM
Supplementing your Motorhome with Solar heat or Beer can heat nwcanopies MH-General Discussions & Problems 33 11-30-2011 06:39 AM
30 Amps vs 50 Amps !!! BigRandy MH-General Discussions & Problems 16 06-20-2010 06:33 AM
15 amps vs 30 amps Fatbear5 MH-General Discussions & Problems 10 01-26-2010 09:09 AM
Converted trailer from 30 amps to 50 amps. Hitchhiker 5th Wheel Discussion 3 08-30-2006 04:19 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.