Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2009, 01:37 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
battery usage

I've been having some electrical problems, when operating my small tt on ac, without the 12 volt battery. An rv tech said that you must/should hook up your battery, even though you are only connected to ac. Opinions?
__________________

__________________
hatchhanlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-22-2009, 01:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Luv2go's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Appalachian Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,889
Welcome to iRV2, hatchhanlon!

A lot of converters require batteries to filter the output, and it sounds like you have one like that. Unfortunately, unless you want to replace your converter with one of the newer types you'll need a battery.

Stewart
__________________

__________________
Stewart, Brenda and kids
2008 Newmar Canyon Star 3410
2006 Roadtrek Versatile 210
Luv2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 09:46 PM   #3
iRV2 Marketing
 
DriVer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 23,304
Blog Entries: 70
Please drop by and see all the stuff in the RV Systems & Appliances Forum. Batteries, charging systems, inverters et al are all discussed in that forum quite freely. Just post a question about your electrical concerns with your motorhome and you'll get a lot of feedback.
__________________
DriVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 03:55 AM   #4
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatchhanlon View Post
I've been having some electrical problems, when operating my small tt on ac, without the 12 volt battery. An rv tech said that you must/should hook up your battery, even though you are only connected to ac. Opinions?
Welcome to iRV2.com. We are glad to have you join us here. I am sure you will enjoy the website and forums.
You should have a battery on the 12 volt system. Try it and you should see a difference on the AC problem. If not let us know.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 08:54 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,315
Hi hatchhanlon,
The bottom line is there are systems in your RV that need 12 VDC to operate. This is true even if connected to 120 VAC. Each RV is different as to what these appliances are. If you are always connected to 120 VAC, maybe one 12 VDC battery will work for you. There are other battery options, it just depends on how much time you will spend not connected to 120 VAC.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 09:07 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
R1Kirby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Posts: 231
Most converters require the use of a 12 volt battery. This will supply constant 12 volts to your system. Without the battery you run the risk of replacing the converter, whish can be costly. Be sure to use a deep cycle battery.
__________________

__________________
R1Kirby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battery voltage question NavlAv8r Class A Motorhome Discussions 14 05-13-2009 10:53 AM
Installation of Chassis Battery Bus Bars - Journey 36G SteveG Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 10 03-31-2009 08:08 PM
Deep Cycle Battery Replacement DriVer Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 32 11-10-2008 01:37 PM
House battery water usage & corrosion. Doc Mark Newmar Owner's Forum 17 05-29-2007 10:00 AM
Resurrect - Dead Cordless Battery Oemtech iRV2.com General Discussion 5 09-17-2005 07:09 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.