Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > iRV2.com COMMUNITY FORUMS > iRV2.com General Discussion
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-03-2013, 06:56 PM   #1

Send a message via AIM to OldHiker Send a message via Yahoo to OldHiker
Campground vs RV Park

Campground vs RV Park
I’ve been traveling since August of 2007 when I bought my one and only class a. Yes it is big and yes I do stand out but this year traveling in the East I came to the realization that there is a very distinct difference between a Campground and a RV Park.
Seems that most people in Campgrounds are either seasonal, some year round but all do the same thing – they return every so often, weekends, vacations, holidays to “camp”. They come in everything from small tents to primarily towables, i.e. trailers, 5th wheels. Very few self-powered. They also stay to themselves and barely acknowledge any stranger. Primarily young families with parents in their thirties and early forties. Usually very crowded on the weekends. I’m constantly told that when they retire this is what they want to do – travel, not camp.
An RV Park is very different. Most do not allow tents. Very apparent difference is the age. Most are upper forties to eighties. Primarily couples. Very friendly and always greet whenever I pass. These people are “travelers” not “campers”. Most are passing through to get someplace else. They might stay a night or a week or longer. The travel is the reason; the destination is just an excuse to get on the road.